Databases for the general public
Members of the general public can access selected databases for free from Public Access computers in the Library.
Public Access computers are located on:
- Level 3 of the Gardens Point Library
- Level 2 of the Kelvin Grove Library
- Level 5 of the Law Library.
Databases by topic
- Multidisciplinary journal articles and ebooks
- Business and management
- Education and humanities
- Science and engineering
Multidisciplinary journal articles and ebooks
These databases search for journal articles and reports across most research disciplines.
- Cambridge Core
Journals published by Cambridge University Press in the sciences, social sciences and humanities.
- Informit (Australian databases)
Australian journals and magazines covering areas including business, engineering, science and health but focused on humanities and education as well as extensive coverage of Indigenous affairs.
Journal articles and ebooks in the arts, sciences and life sciences, as well as a select journals in social sciences and humanities.
- Taylor & Francis
Peer-reviewed research journals covering all subject areas.
- Wiley Online Library
Peer-reviewed journals and ebooks covering life, health and physical sciences, social science and the humanities.
- Macquarie Dictionary and Thesaurus Online
Latest version of the Macquarie dictionary plus its companion reference, the Macquarie Thesaurus.
- Oxford Reference
Academic reference works such as dictionaries and encyclopaedias covering a wide range of subject areas.
- Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory
Detailed information about scholarly journals and other periodicals (serials) published worldwide.
Business and management
Library databases specific to business. Use in addition to desired multidisciplinary databases.
- Emerald Insight
Peer-reviewed journals and ebooks primarily in business and management plus library and information science.
- Directory of Funders (via Philanthropy Australia)
A directory of corporate funders and grant-making organisations operating in Australia. Includes application guidelines and tax information.
- INFORMS PubsOnLine
INFORMS is the world's largest professional association dedicated to and promoting best practices and advances in operations research, management science, and analytics to improve operational processes, decision-making, and outcomes.
- Margaret Gee's Australian Media Guide
Up-to-date contact details covering a range of Australian media outlets and media contacts from television, radio, newspapers, press agencies and much more.
Databases of funding opportunities for philanthropy and nonprofit organisations are available by prior arrangement from the QUT Community Collection for grant seekers, fundraisers and philanthropists.
Education and humanities
Library databases specific to education and humanities. Use in addition to desired multidisciplinary databases.
- Classroom resources search
Find resources for classroom teaching including fiction and nonfiction books; kits, lesson plans, DVDs and more.
- Ithaka S+R
Research reports, case studies and issue briefs related to educational transformation and libraries and scholarly communication.
- ProjectMUSE humanities collection
Peer-reviewed journals and books in the humanities discipline including history, literature, philosophy, religion, theatre, music, film and more.
- The Source
Information about children's literature from around the world with a focus on Australian and New Zealand books. Provides publication details and summaries of each book.
Library databases specific to health services and sciences. Use in addition to desired multidisciplinary databases.
- American Physiological Society journals
Peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of physiology from cellular and molecular to organ and system level.
- American Society for Microbiology (ASM) journals
Publications from the American Society for Microbiology (ASM).
- OSA Publishing
Peer reviewed publications by the Optics Society of America (OSA) covering all aspects of optics and photonics.
- Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing (PEP) archive
Classic books and selected journals in psychoanalysis. Coverage from 1871 to 2009.
Library databases specific to legal research.
- Attorney General's Information Service (AGIS) (via Informit)
An index of articles from over 400 legal journals covering all aspects of law from Australia, New Zealand and the Asia Pacific.
- CCH IntelliConnect
Case law and looseleaf services covering a range of practice areas including Business Law, Employment and HR, Environment, Family Law, GST, Industrial Relations, Intellectual Property, Occupational Health and Safety plus more.
United States based legal research database.
Science and engineering
Library databases specific to science and engineering. Use in addition to desired multidisciplinary databases.
- American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) complete collection
Journal articles, conference proceedings, standards and books covering all aspects of civil engineering.
- Annual reviews online
Critical reviews written by leading scientists. They provide a synthesis of the most significant primary research literature in a field, covering a wide range of scientific disciplines.
- CSIRO Publishing journals
Journals covering the latest research by leading Australian and international scientists.
- IEEE Xplore digital library
Scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) including journals, conference proceedings, technical standards, eBooks.
- Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE) Virtual Library
Fulltext access to civil engineering peer-reviewed papers produced by the Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE), including technical papers dating back to 1836.
- Society of Photo-optical Instrumentation Engineers (SPIE) digital library
Journals, ebooks, proceedings, reviews and letters from the Society for Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers (SPIE).
- The Arabidopsis Information Resource (TAIR)
A database of genetic and molecular biology data for the model higher plant Arabidopsis thaliana.