QUT Home
Library Home Find Learn In the Library Services About the Library  

Teaching Capabilities Framework Resources

Services
My Library Profile
Borrowing
Course materials
Joining other libraries
Delivery from other libraries
Faculty liaison
EndNote referencing software
QUT ePrints
Australian Digital Theses (ADT)
For International students
For external students
For teaching
  CMD staff information
  Log to CMD
  Combating plagiarism
  Information literacy development
Resource guide for teaching capabilities
    * Whole of framework
    Engaging learners
    Designing for learners
    Assessment for learning
    Managing for learning
    Scholarship of teaching
    Authors
    Journals
    Web sites
    Conferences
    Book series
  Educational technology
For research staff and students
For the community
For libraries

This resource guide has been developed to provide resources which align with QUT's Teaching Capabilities Framework. QUT's teaching capabilities framework clarifies the approach to Improving Teaching for Learning and encompasses the scholarship of teaching practice across four dimensions :

The references in this subject guide are only a starting point. There is an extensive range of other resources available on this subject area.

Books


Details Call number Description
Fry, H., Ketteridge, S. and Marshall, S (eds). (2003) A handbook for teaching and learning in higher education : enhancing academic practice, London : Kogan Page KG 378.12 53 /2 This work covers a wide range of topics concerning teaching and learning in higher education, including : understanding student learning, encouraging student motivation, principles of student assessment, teaching and learning in small groups, reflective practice, and teaching portfolios. It also breaks down the key aspects of teaching into different discipline areas.
Nicholls, G. (2002) Developing Teaching and Learning in Higher Education. London : Routledge. CA 378.125 99
KG 378.125 99
Topics covered include : the changing context of teaching and learning in higher education; student learning; planning and preparation; programme and course design; assessment; leadership, management and administration; and collecting evidence and building a portfolio.
Ramsden, P. (2003) Learning to teach in higher education. London : Brunner-Mazel KG 378.1250941 4
(2003 copies on order)
This work is an introduction to the practice of university teaching and its underlying theory. It covers a number of different learning theories, learning from the students perspective, the nature of good teaching in higher education, teaching strategies for effective learning, and methods for evaluating the quality of higher education.

Internet resources

Details Abstract
Griffith Institute for Higher Education (GIHE) GIHE's primary role is to provide professional development services and programs for all academic staff within Griffith University. GIHE provides practical support to help academic staff improve the quality of their student's learning, enhanve the quality of their teaching practice, convene their courses, and develop their research performance. This website covers various topics including : flexible learning, evaluation assistance, generic skills, postgraduate supervision, and teaching portfolios.
Learning and Teaching Support Network, UK : Generic Centre

The LTSN Generic Centre's mission is to broker information and knowledge to facililtate a more co-ordinated approach to enhancing learning and teaching.

The Generic Centre has four main project areas : assessment, employability, e-learning, and widening participation. The site provides a number of resources including circulars and newsletters, and a resources database.

UQ TEDI (Teaching and Educational Development Institute) TEDI provides support services and staff development to enhance teaching, learning and other aspects of educational development at the University of Queensland. This site provides a number of resources in the area of teaching and learning support including information on : teaching large classes, action learning, peer assisted study sessions, teaching and learning pedagogy.
TALSS Website

The teaching and learning website includes a range of activities to support staff in their role as effective teachers and to support effective student learning outcomes. It includes resources on :

  • The Scholarship of Teaching
  • Assessment
  • Teaching large classes
  • Peer assessment

Top

Useful book series

The following series of books are very useful resources.

Society for Research into Higher Education & Open University Press Series

Title Call Number
Bennett, N., Dunne, E. and Carré, C. (2000) Skills Development in Higher Education and Employment. Buckingham : Society for Research into Higher Education & Open University Press. KG 370.1130941 28
Biggs, J. (1999) Teaching for Quality Learning at University : What the Student Does. Buckingham : Society for Research into Higher Education & Open University Press. GP 378.125 88
KG 378.125 88
CA 378.125 88
Boud, D., Cohen, R. and Walker, D. (1993) Using Experience for Learning. Buckingham : Society for Research into Higher Education & Open University Press. KG 370.1523 110
GP 370.1523 110
Brown, S. and Glasner, A. (eds) (1999) Assessment Matters in Higher Education : choosing and using diverse approaches. Buckingham : Society for Research into Higher Education & Open University Press. KG 378.1662 4
Cowen, J. (1998) On Becoming an Innovative University Teacher : reflection in action. Buckingham : Society for Research into Higher Education & Open University Press. KG 378.125 86
CA 378.125 86
GP 378.125 86
Duke, C. (2002) Managing the Learning University. Buckingham : Society for Research into Higher Education & Open University Press. KG 378.101 9
Knight, P. (2002) Being a Teacher in Higher Education. Buckingham : Society for Research into Higher Education & Open University Press. KG 378.125 106
Nias, J. (1993) The Human Nature of Learning : selections from the work of M.L.J. Abercrombie. Buckingham : Society for Research into Higher Education & Open University Press. KG 378.125 49
Prosser, M. and Trigwell, K. (1999) Understanding Learning and Teaching : the experience in higher education. Buckingham : Society for Research into Higher Education & Open University Press. CA 378.125 85
KG 378.125 85
GP 378.125 85
Savin-Baden, M. (2000) Problem-based learning in higher education : untold stories. Buckingham : Society for Research into Higher Education & Open University Press. CA 378.17 91
KG 378.17 91
GP 378.17 91
Taylor, I. (1997) Developing Learning in Professional Education : partnerships for practice. Buckingham : Society for Research into Higher Education & Open University Press. KG 378.013 38
Toohey, S. (1999) Designing Courses for Higher Education. Buckingham : Society for Research into Higher Education & Open University Press. KG 378.199 1

Interesting Ideas in Teaching

Title Call Number
Gibbs, G. and Habeshaw, T. (1992) Preparing to teach : an introduction to effective teaching in higher education. (2nd ed) Bristol : Technical and Educational Services Ltd. GP 371.3 253 /2
KG 371.3 253 /2
Gibbs, G., Habeshaw, T. and Habeshaw, S. (1992) 53 Interesting Things to do in your Lectures.(4th ed) Bristol : Technical and Educational Services Ltd. KG 378.1796 7 /4
GP 378.1796 7 /4
Gibbs, G., Habeshaw, T. and Habeshaw, S. (1992) 53 Problems with large classes : making the best of a bad job. Bristol : Technical and Educational Services Ltd. KG 378.17 81
Gibbs, G., Habeshaw, T. and Habeshaw, S. (1993) 53 Interesting ways to assess your students. (3rd ed) Bristol : Technical and Educational Services Ltd. KG 378.1664 8 /3
Gibbs, G., Habeshaw, T. and Habeshaw, S. (1994) Interesting ways to teach : twelve do-it-yourself staff development exercises. Bristol : Technical and Educational Services Ltd. KG 370.7124 7
Hubbard, R. (1990) 53 Interesting Ways to Teach Mathematics. Bristol : Technical and Educational Services Ltd. GP 510.711 22
Hubbard, R. (1995) 53 Ways to Ask Questions in Mathematics and Statistics. Bristol : Technical and Educational Services Ltd. GP 510.711 20
Kember, D. and Murphy, D. (1994) 53 Interesting Activities for Open Learning Courses. Bristol : Technical and Educational Services Ltd. KG 371.3078 323
Lewis, V. and Habeshaw, S. (1990) 53 Interesting Ways to Promote Equal Opportunities in Education. Bristol : Technical and Educational Services Ltd.

GP 370.1934 48
KG 370.1934 48

Race, P. (1992) 53 Interesting Ways to Write Open Learning Materials. Bristol : Technical and Educational Services Ltd. KG 371.3078 320

Useful journals

Scanning the following journals regularly can also uncover some very useful research.

Journal Title
Adult Education Quarterly
Assessment and Evaluation in Higher Education
Assessment in Education : Principles, Policy and Practice
Australian Universities' Review
British Educational Research Journal
Cambridge Journal of Education
Change
Education and Training
Educational Review
Educational Studies
Higher Education
Higher Education Management
Higher Education Quarterly
Higher Education Research and Development
Innovative Higher Education
International Journal for Academic Development
Issues of Teaching and Learning
Journal of Counseling and Development : JCD
Journal of Further and Higher Education
Journal of Higher Education
Learning and Instruction
Oxford Review of Education
Research into Higher Education Abstracts
Studies in Higher Education
Teacher Development
Teachers and Teaching : Theory and Practice
Teaching in Higher Education

Top

Conferences

The following conferences provide information in the areas of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education. Some of these sites have conference proceedings available.

Conference Website
HERDSA

Current Conference

Proceedings - Previous conferences

Effective Teaching and Learning Conferences

Home Page - http://www.tedi.uq.edu.au/conferences/

Australian Association for Research in Education (AARE) Conference.

Conferences Coming Up - http://www.aare.edu.au

Conference Papers - http://www.aare.edu.au

Ascilite Annual Conference Home Page - http://www.ascilite.org.au/conferences.html
Educause Annual Conferences Home Page - http://www.educause.edu/conference/annual/
Educause in Australia

2001 - http://www.gu.edu.au/conference/educause2001/

Evaluations and Assessment Conference.

2003 - A Commitment to Quality. http://www.unisa.edu.au/evaluations/

Related guides and information

There are four other related guides which combine to make the QUT Teaching Capabilities Framework Resource Guide. These are :

If you have any suggestions for publications which could be included in this guide please contact us.

Top