QUT Home
Library Home Find Learn In the Library Services About the Library  

Websites

Services
My Library Profile
Borrowing
Course materials
Joining other libraries
Delivery from other libraries
Faculty liaison
EndNote referencing software
QUT ePrints
Australian Digital Theses (ADT)
For International students
For external students
For teaching
  CMD staff information
  Log to CMD
  Combating plagiarism
  Information literacy development
Resource guide for teaching capabilities
    Whole of framework
    Engaging learners
    Designing for learners
    Assessment for learning
    Managing for learning
    Scholarship of teaching
    Authors
    Journals
    * Web sites
    Conferences
    Book series
  Educational technology
For research staff and students
For the community
For libraries

This subject guide has been developed to provide resources which align with QUT's Teaching Capabilities Framework.

Details Abstract
Ascilite (Australasian Society for Computers in Learning in Tertiary Education) Ascilite is a society for those involved in tertiary computer-based education and training, including educational interactive multimedia. It provides a forum to stimulate discussion of relevant issues in the educational use of technology, as well as promoting research and evaluation.
Assessing Learning in Australian Universities : Ideas, strategies and resources for quality student assessment.

The Assessing Learning project was funded by the Australian Universities Teaching Committee. The site is designed to support high quality assessment practices, in particular in responding effectively to new issues in student assessment. The ideas and strategies are focused on the practical educational issues surrounding the purposes and design of student assessment and reporting, in particular the way in which assessment might be planned to optimise student approaches to study.

Australian Scholarship of Teaching Project website This is a project between RMIT University, University of Technology Sydney, La Trobe University, and Griffith University. The project's intention is to develop and support university teachers in their scholarly practice and to communicate the scholarship of teaching widely throughout the Australian higher education community. The website currently has two modules available plus a paper entitled "Scholarship of Teaching : a model" which has been authored by Keith Trigwell, Elaine Martin, Joan Benjamin and Michael Prosser.
The Australian Universities Teaching Committee

The Australian Universities Teaching Committee was established in 2000 as part of the Government's commitment to promoting quality and excellence in university teaching and learning in Australia.

The AUTC has a brief to identify emerging issues in teaching and learning in Australian universities. The Committee is also responsible for the selection process for the prestigious Australian Awards for University Teaching.

The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching The Carnegie Foundation is a major international centre for research and policy studies about teaching. It's mission is to address how best to achieve lasting student learnin, and how to assess the impact of teaching on students. This site has a number of resources available and it draws attention to a number of notable publications.
Classroom Assessment Techniques from the Field-tested Learning and Assessment Guide. This site provides a number of succinct, self-contained, self-instructional, web-based modules that introduce broadly applicable assessment techniques for use in colleges and universities. The site has a specific focus on Science, Mathematics, Engineering and Technology courses however these concepts are useful for most courses.
Generic Capabilities of ATN University Graduates

This is the website for the ATN Generic Capabilities Report. The aim of this report was to provide support for course teams in the ATN universities in reviewing and revising course curricula to foster the development of graduate capabilities, in devising appropriate learning experiences for students and in designing appropriate assessment for the non-subject specific objectives of university programmes, i.e. what is to be learned, how it can be learned and whether it has been learned.

A staff development package has been developed that contains background reading, activities, and a number of case studies.

Good Practices in Student Assessment. University College Dublin. This web page attempts to give an overview of the purposes, trends, issues and various methods of assessment used. Assessments often drive student learning and as such can change the focus of the way in which students learn. This website covers numerous assessment techniques including : summative and formative assessment; criterion and norm-referenced assessment; written examinations; essays; student peer and self assessment; multiple choice examinations; learning contracts; groupwork and reflective writing.
Good Practices in Teaching and Learning. University College Dublin. The purpose of this web page is to give an introduction to the main concepts and principles in the area of 'Good Practices in Teaching and Learning' in tertiary education. Topics covered include : Deep, surface and strategic approaches to learning; lifelong learning; self-directed learning; curriculum and course design; small and large group teaching, and flexible learning.
Griffith Institute for Higher Education (GIHE) GIHE's primary role is to provide professional development services and programs for all academic staff within Griffith University. GIHE provides practical support to help academic staff improve the quality of their student's learning, enhanve the quality of their teaching practice, convene their courses, and develop their research performance. This website covers various topics including : flexible learning, evaluation assistance, generic skills, postgraduate supervision, and teaching portfolios.
The Higher Education Research and Development Society of Australasia HERDSA is a scholarly society for people committed to the improvement of teaching and learning in higher education. HERDSA works to :
  • advance education in the higher and tertiary sector;
  • facilitate the improvement of teaching and learning;
  • encourage and disseminate research on teaching, learning, development, leadership, and policy;
  • recognise and reward outstanding contributions for higher and tertiary education.
Learning and Teaching Support Network, UK : Generic Centre

The LTSN Generic Centre's mission is to broker information and knowledge to facililtate a more co-ordinated approach to enhancing learning and teaching.

The Generic Centre has four main project areas : assessment, employability, e-learning, and widening participation. The site provides a number of resources including circulars and newsletters, and a resources database.

McLoughlin, C. and Oliver, R. (1999) Instructional Design for Cultural Difference : a Case Study of the Indigenous Online Learning in a Tertiary Context. The 16th Annual Conference of the Australasia Society for Computers in Learning in Tertiary Education : Responding to Diversity. Flexible delivery of educational resources must take account of cultural variables and recognise the specific learning needs, preferences and style of learners. In designing instruction there may be a tension between the need to ensure access for a multicultural student population, while at the same time taking into account the need for localisation to accommodate learners cognitive styles and preferences. The acceptance, use and impact of WWW sites is affected by the cultural perceptions, values, needs and preferences of learners.
UQ TEDI (Teaching and Educational Development Institute) TEDI provides support services and staff development to enhance teaching, learning and other aspects of educational development at the University of Queensland. This site provides a number of resources in the area of teaching and learning support including information on : teaching large classes, action learning, peer assisted study sessions, teaching and learning pedagogy.
Sessional Teaching

The Training, Managing and Support Sessional Teaching Staff project was funded by the Australian Universities Teaching Committee (AUTC).

The aims of this project were to :

  • identify the implications and issues related to sessional teaching staff.
  • indentify policies and models of best practice
  • disseminate best practice for training, supporting and managing sessional staff.

This site provides a number of useful resources, teaching ideas and case studies.

TALSS Website

The teaching and learning website includes a range of activities to support staff in their role as effective teachers and to support effective student learning outcomes. It includes resources on :

  • The Scholarship of Teaching
  • Assessment
  • Teaching large classes
  • Peer assessment
Teaching Effectively in Higher Education in Hong Kong The Teaching Effectively in Higher Education in Hong Kong (TEHE) website is designed to present a selection of teaching resources developed by teachers for teachers in Hong Kong. It is mainly designed for new teachers in Hong Kong but it has a wealth of information that will help academics worldwide.
Teaching Large Classes

The Teaching Large Classes project was funded by the Australian Universities Teaching Committee (AUTC). The aim of this project was to achieve practical outcomes that lead to the improvement of the quality of teaching and learning in large classes across the Australian University sector. Namely the project was to :

  • identify emerging issues relating to the teaching of large classes, and
  • develop and implement a strategic approach to staff development and the enhancement of the teaching quality in large classes throughout the university sector.

This site provides a number of useful resources, case studies and reports.

Teaching Perspectives Inventory The Teaching Perspectives Inventory has been developed by Daniel Pratt and John Collins as a tool for teachers. The Teaching Perspectives Inventory can help you collect your thoughts and summarize your ideas about teaching. It can be useful in examining your own teaching as well as helping clarify the teaching views of other people.

The Teaching Portfolio at Washington State University.

This site outlines a template that can be used in the preparation of a teaching portfolio. It is meant to be an adaptable template and can be modified to suit individual needs. It is designed for use at Washington State University but it is a useful guide for all academic staff.

UltiBASE UltiBASE is a peer reviewed e-journal and resource for tertiary teachers. It's aim is to promote teaching best practice in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Education in all tertiary settings.
VARK : A guide to Learning Styles Vark is a questionnaire that provides users with a profile of their preferences. These preferences are about the ways that they want to take-in and give-out information whilst learning. This site provides four different conceptions of learning styles and methods for teaching and learning which best suit each style.

 

If you have any suggestions for publications which could be included in this guide please contact us.

Top