This subject guide has been developed to provide resources which align with QUT's Teaching Capabilities Framework. QUT's teaching capabilities framework clarifies the approach to Improving Teaching for Learning and encompasses the scholarship of teaching practice across four dimensions. This resource guide addresses the second dimension of "Designing for Learning".
Designing for learning requires planning and design of appropriate curriculum, activities, environments and assessment to support student learning and achieve planned student learning outcomes.
The references in this subject guide are only a starting point. There is an extensive range of other resources available on this subject area.
- Books
- Journal Articles or Book Portions
- Internet resources
- Useful Journals
- Related guides/information
Books
| Details | Call number | Description |
|---|---|---|
| Adelsberger, H., Collis, B., and Pawlowski, J. (2002) Handbook of Information Technologies for Education and Training. New York : Springer. | KG 371.334 373 | The goal of this handbook is to enable the reader to gain an understanding of past, current and future research and applications in the field of educational technology. |
| Boud, D., Cohen, R. and Sampson, J. (eds) (2001) Peer Learning in Higher Education : Learning from and with each other. London : Kogan Page. | KG 378.1794 14 | While peer learning is often used informally by students, and for many can form an essential part of their higher education experience, this book discusses methods of developing more effective learning through the systematic implementation of peer learning approaches. |
| Foster, G. (1993) Design of University Courses and Subjects : A Strategic Approach. HERDSA Green Guide No 15. Campbelltown : HERDSA. | GP 378.199 39 |
A step-by-step guide to a strategic process of course planning, from whole courses to subjects. A short, accessible booklet written to encourage teachers to think through the process from a strategic perspective. |
| Gibbs, G. (1992) Teaching more students : problems and course design strategies. Oxford : Oxonian Rewley Press. | GP 378.170941 2 KG 378.170941 2 |
A practical guide to alternative course designs for working with large student groups. The ideas are useful for any size subject. It includes a number of short, practical case studies of subject redesign with a focus on managing larger numbers. |
| Glasgow, N. (1997) New Curriculum for new times : a guide to student-centered, problem based learning, California : Corwin Press. | KG 371.39 21 | This work discusses the changing contexts and modes of instruction in teaching and learning today. An indepth discussion of problem based learning is undertaken, including information on curriculum design, tested examples, and assessment and evaluation. |
| Hativa, N. and Marincovich, M (eds) (1995) Disciplinary differences in teaching and learning : implications for practice. San Francisco : Jossey-Bass. | GP 378.199 41 | This work increases our knowledge and understanding of the causes and consequences of disciplinary differences in the patterns of teaching and learning, in the instructional strategies to increase teaching effectiveness, and in the culture and environment. |
| Inglis, A., Ling, P. and Joosten, V. (1999) Delivering Digitally. London : Kogan Page. | KG 378.1734 18 /2 | This work addresses the issues of digitally delivered education and provides a comprehensive guide to the issues, principles, best practices, and skills required to succeed in the digital education age. It includes case studies and materials on resources, assessment and quality. |
| Laurillard, D. (2002) Rethinking University Teaching : A conversational framework for the effective use of learning technologies. Routledge : London. | CA 378.125 45 /2 |
An aid in increasing teachers' understanding of the new technological media, showing how it can improve student learning and teacher efficiency. This work includes implications of using technology for the university context. |
| Margolis, E. (2001) The Hidden Curriculum in Higher Education. London : Routledge. | KG 378.199 45 | Institutions of higher education are not immune to the problems of the rest of the world : racism, sexism, classism and homophobia. This text includes essays which focus on every aspect of the hidden curriculum from management schools to biology departments to dissertation committees. |
| Mestenhauser, J. and Ellingboe, B. (1998) Reforming the Higher Education Curriculum : Internationalizing the campus. Phoenix : Oryx Press. | KG 378.1990973 18 | How can colleges and universities produce graduates who possess international skills and perspectives that will enable them to be successful and flexible in their careers? This text proposes an examination and overhaul of higher education aimed at providing the skills and knowledge needed. |
| Toohey, S. (1999) Designing courses for Higher Education. Buckingham : Society for Research into Higher Education and Open University Press. | KG 378.199 1 | An in-depth guide to course design, including useful discussions of the differences between alternative philosophical and educational positions underpinning overfall course designs, goals and structures. |
Journal articles
| Details | Location | Abstract |
|---|---|---|
| Biggs, J. (1999) Constructing learning by aligning teaching : Constructive alignment. Teaching for quality learning at university : What the student does. Buckingham : Society for Research in to Higher Education and Open University Press, pp 11-32. | GP 378.125 88 KG 378.125 88 CA 378.125 88 |
The key to reflecting on the way we teach is to base our thinking on what we know about how students learn. Learning is the result of the constructive activity of the student. Teaching is effective when it supports those activities appropriate to achieving the curriculum objectives, thereby encouraging students to adopt a deep approach to learning. Poor teaching and assessment result in a surface approach, where students use inappropriate and low-order learning activities. A good teaching system aligns teaching method and assessment to the learning activities stated in the objectives, so that all aspects of this system are in accord in supporting appropriate student learning. This system is called constructive alignment, based as it is on the twin principles of constructivism in learning and alignment in teaching. |
| Jamieson, P., Fisher, K., Gilding, T., Taylor, P. and Trevitt, A. (2000) Place and Space in the design of new learning environments. Higher Education Research and Development, 19(2), 221-236. | Online | The development of online and virtual teaching and learning environments to augment formal face-to-face environments raises questions about the way the new communication and information technologies (CITs) are being incorporated into the on-campus environment. This paper highlights examples of recent developments of new learning environments which have been enhanced by the contribution of educational developers at several Australian universities. It also proposes a set of pedagogically informed principles to guide the development of on-campus teaching and learning environments which may feature the use of CITs. |
| Shulman, L. (2002) Making Differences : a table for learning. Change, Vol 34, no 6. p36-45. | A new taxonomy of liberal and professional learning - a table for learning - not only creates a system for classifying the kinds of learning faculty seek for their students, but also servers as a stimulus for the design and evaluation of education. |
Internet resources
| Details | Abstract |
|---|---|
| Ascilite (Australasian Society for Computers in Learning in Tertiary Education) | Ascilite is a society for those involved in tertiary computer-based education and training, including educational interactive multimedia. It provides a forum to stimulate discussion of relevant issues in the educational use of technology, as well as promoting research and evaluation. |
| Generic Capabilities of ATN University Graduates | This is the website for the ATN Generic Capabilities Report. The aim of this report was to provide support for course teams in the ATN universities in reviewing and revising course curricula to foster the development of graduate capabilities, in devising appropriate learning experiences for students and in designing appropriate assessment for the non-subject specific objectives of university programmes, i.e. what is to be learned, how it can be learned and whether it has been learned. A staff development package has been developed that contains background reading, activities, and a number of case studies. |
| McLoughlin, C. and Oliver, R. (1999) Instructional Design for Cultural Difference : a Case Study of the Indigenous Online Learning in a Tertiary Context. The 16th Annual Conference of the Australasia Society for Computers in Learning in Tertiary Education : Responding to Diversity. | Flexible delivery of educational resources must take account of cultural variables and recognise the specific learning needs, preferences and style of learners. In designing instruction there may be a tension between the need to ensure access for a multicultural student population, while at the same time taking into account the need for localisation to accommodate learners cognitive styles and preferences. The acceptance, use and impact of WWW sites is affected by the cultural perceptions, values, needs and preferences of learners. |
Useful journals
Scanning the following journals regularly can also uncover some very useful research.
| Journal Title |
|---|
| Australian Journal of Educational Technology |
| Educational Technology Abstracts |
| Journal of Instructional Science and Technology |
| Journal of Interactive Media in Education |
Related Guides and Information
There are four other related guides which combine to make the QUT Teaching Capabilities Framework Resource Guide. These are :
- Whole of Framework Resources
- Engaging Learners
- Assessing for Learning
- Managing for Learning
- Scholarship of Teaching
If you have any suggestions for publications which could be included in this guide please contact us.
