Databases for Creative Industries > Film, Screen and Animation

Find databases and resources
Conditions of use
Provide database feedback
Stay up to date in your subject
About Quick Find
QUT Fulltext Finder help
Navigate : Creative Industries  > Film, Screen and Animation

Key resources

ABI/Inform Dateline (via ProQuest)

Available to the public (in library only)

A unique resource focusing on hard-to-find local and regional business news coverage of large corporations, privately held companies, local start-ups, executive profiles, marketing, finance, and industry news. Provides access to business information not typically found in national news sources. Contains news and analysis, information on local markets, and more gathered from major business tabloids, magazines, daily newspapers, wire services, and city, state, and regional business publications

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Journalism and Media & Communication .

ABI/Inform Global (via ProQuest)

Available to the public (in library only)

Indexes approximately 1,300 business and marketing periodicals from around the world. It also contains the complete fulltext and/or page images of selected articles from over 700 major publications. Fulltext documents are available as plain text or PDF format. Some documents are available by fax only.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

Academic Search Elite (via EBSCOhost)

Available to the public (in library only)

A cross-disciplinary database indexing over 5,000 journals from 1975 onwards, with over 2,000 in current fulltext. Includes more than 1,500 peer-reviewed publications. Offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

AFI Catalog

Available to the public (in library only)

Compiled by specialist researchers at the American Film Institute (AFI), is the premier resource for American films, providing an exhaustive view of American features produced between 1893 and 1971.

American Film Scripts Online

Available to the public (in library only)

Contains 1,009 scripts by 1,062 writers together with detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts. In addition, the database includes facsimilie images for more than 500 of these screenplays. Most of the scripts have never been published before, and nowhere else are they available online.

Artfilms Digital

Australian coverage

A collection of art films, unique collection of documentaries, independent films, archival footage and training videos. Can be viewed on iPhone, iPad and Android.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Video .

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (via ProQuest)

New Available to the public (in library only)

Archive of essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals

Available to the public (in library only)

A bibliographical resource offering in-depth coverage of hundreds of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals. It brings together contributions from experts around the world dedicated to film preservation, cataloguing and documentation.

Film and Television Literature Index (FTLI) (via EBSCOhost)

Available to the public (in library only)

Film and Television Literature Index is the definitive index to film and television literature, providing cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more. The database has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Creative Writing & Literary Studies , Drama , Film, Screen and Animation .

Film Index International

Available to the public (in library only)

A comprehensive filmography from 1900 to the present that offers international coverage of over 120,000 films and 735,000 film personalities from over 180 countries. Its rich content also includes information on international film awards, as well as searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists.

Film Indexes Online

Available to the public (in library only)

A combined search of Film Index International, FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals and AFI Catalog together in one site. The result of partnerships with the British Film Institute (BFI), the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) and the American Film Institute (AFI), these three databases are cornerstone resources for research in film.

Intellect Journals Collection (via IngentaConnect)

Available to the public (in library only)

Fostering new and original ideas in the fields of arts and humanities, Intellect is one of the foremost publishers in arts and education.

International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) (via ProQuest)

Available to the public (in library only)

Indexes articles from 240 key international performing arts journals, with full-text coverage for over 90 journals in film, theatre and dance.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Dance , Drama , Film, Screen and Animation .

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

Jason Ryan Animation (JRA)

The JRA Webinar / Live Animation Demo is a virtual classroom 12 times a year, once a month for 2 hours. Jason Ryan will be taking "Animation Master Classes" and showing how he approaches developing his ideas into dynamic sequences for either a showreel piece or a short film. There are story boards, flipbook leica reels and animation performance solving in flipbook. Included in the 2 hours will be a full half hour devoted to Q&A where Jason explains with the aid of drawings how he approaches any problem areas. Events will be recorded and available for download.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Film, Screen and Animation .

Keith Lango Animation Clinics Video Tutorial Service

A video training system for high end performance character animation. The goal and focus of the Video Tutorial Service is to share knowledge and understanding of character animation.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Film, Screen and Animation .

Lynda.com

New

An online subscription library that teaches the latest software tools and skills through high-quality instructional videos taught by recognized industry experts. Topics included cover 3D animation, audio engineering, business applications, design applications, software development, photography, video editing and web design. Includes the ability to create personal profiles, and access bookmarking and certificate of completion features.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Film, Screen and Animation , Interactive and Visual Design .

First time users must create an individual account using an @qut, @student.qut.edu.au or @connect.qut.edu.au email address....more...

Project MUSE Humanities Collection

Available to the public (in library only)

Indexes nearly 250 journals, with over 180 in fulltext, in history, literature, philosophy, religion, theatre, music and film, and more.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Fashion , Creative Writing & Literary Studies , Drama , Film, Screen and Animation , Journalism and Media & Communication .

ProQuest Research Library

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides one-stop access to several thousand periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

TVNews (via Informit)

Australian coverage Available to the public (in library only)

Informit Media TVNews is a revolutionary online database bringing TV news and current affairs from Australian free to air networks directly to your desktop. TVNews enables you to search, browse, track and be alerted to television events/items and programs. This provides an index and synopsis of all major news, current affairs and documentaries on channels ABC, ABC 2, SBS, 7, 9 and 10.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Video , News and current affairs .

Now available separately: TVNews Archive, covering the period: Sept. 2007 to December 2012.
The provider advises that due to legal restrictions, programs broadcast by ABC SA, ABC NT, ABC QLD and ABC WA are currently under embargo. During this period indexing of these programs will not be comprehensive. As at September 2010 this is still a point of discussion between RMIT Publishing and their providers.

Informit has advised that the priority for indexing on TVNews is:

  • News services (particularly ABC and SBS) - available the following day from midday.
  • Current affairs - available the following evening.
  • Documentaries - available over the following days.

...more...