Databases for Creative Industries > Architecture and Design > Urban Design

Find databases and resources
Conditions of use
Provide database feedback
Stay up to date in your subject
About Quick Find
QUT Fulltext Finder help
Navigate : Creative Industries Architecture and Design > Urban Design

Key resources

Academic Search Elite (via EBSCOhost)

Available to the public (in library only)

A cross-disciplinary database indexing over 5,000 journals from 1975 onwards, with over 2,000 in current fulltext. Includes more than 1,500 peer-reviewed publications. Offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

Acumen : Practice advice for architects

Australian coverage

Acumen aims to provide users with the most relevant and up-todate advisory material and news about managing architectural practices and projects. Acumen draws on the collective input and experiences of architectural practitioners and other professionals gathered over many years. Acumen provides comprehensive links to many other relevant and related sites, as well as newsworthy items and practice-related material. In addition, electronic files such as pro forma for the ABIC suite, guide letters and the 2009 Client and Architect Agreement schedules are available for free download from the site. Acumen has been structured under three headings - starting at the most basic level with the Practice, Project and Resource streams, and filtering down from there, enabling the user to 'drill down' to the level of information they require.

Off-campus users must use the alternative access username and password...more...

APA Fulltext - Australian Public Affairs (via Informit)

Australian coverage Available to the public (in library only)

Indexes current journals and newspapers in Australia and overseas for material on Australia's political, economic, legal, social and cultural affairs.

Provides over 200 core Australian journal titles in fulltext PDF. Selected fulltext only is available for some titles, in accordance with APAIS' indexing policy.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

ARCH - Australian Architecture Database (via Informit)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Includes records indexed from Australian and New Zealand architectural and building journals.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Urban and Regional Planning , Architecture , Interior Design , Landscape Architecture , Urban Design .

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

Art & Architecture Complete (via EBSCOhost)

Available to the public (in library only)

Art & Architecture Complete is a comprehensive bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 730 academic journals, magazines and trade publications with full text for over 330 periodicals and 215 books, as well as selective coverage for over 70 publications, and an Image Collection of over 64,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others. The database has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes art scholars, artists, designers, college students, and general viewers.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Visual Art , Architecture , Urban Design .

Tip: To access the 64,000+ image collection via the top blue bar, mouseover More then click Images.

Content formerly in ArtIndex is now accessible via Art & Architecture Complete...more...

Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre (via EBSCOhost)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to Australian and New Zealand newspapers & newswires, magazines, reference books, and company information. It includes access to The Australian and Courier Mail

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Journalism and Media & Communication , Business (General) , Marketing , Statistical Information / Australian Bureau of Statistics , Australian Studies , Justice , News and current affairs .

Use this resource to search for major Australian newspapers...more...

Berg Journals Collection (via IngentaConnect)

Available to the public (in library only)

Focused on culture and visual arts, this collection from Berg Journals includes peer-reviewed journals with significant fulltext content.

BUILD - Australian Building Construction and Engineering Database (via Informit)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Contains over 19,500 references covering all types of publications, including conference papers, journal articles, standards, regulations, technical papers, reports and books.

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

CumInCAD - Cumulative Index of Computer Aided Architectural Design

CumInCAD is a cumulative index of publications about computer aided architectural design. It includes bibliographic information about over 9,600 records from journals and conferences such as ACADIA, ASCAAD,  CAADRIA, eCAADe, SiGraDi, CAAD futures, DDSS and others. All papers include full abstracts. Full texts, in PDF, of some 6,800 papers are also available.

New users must first set up an individual login....more...

DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index (via ProQuest)

Available to the public (in library only)

Indexes over 500 international design and crafts journals and newspapers published from 1973 onwards. Also provides data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms, etc..

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Industrial Design , Fashion .

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

eBimap (available to Science and Engineering Faculty and School of Design students only)

Australian coverage

IMPORTANT: Using this product extensively will rapidly use up your free Internet Access Service (IAS) quota. Once this limit is reached students will have to pay for additional Internet access. For further information about your IAS quota and additional charges please refer to Features of IAS. If you are accessing this database from on-campus you will need to have your Internet Access Service (IAS) activated

eBimap is the Brisbane City Council's online mapping service. It is an online geographic information system (GIS) providing Brisbane land, property and assets information, produced by the Brisbane City Coucil. Use eBimap to find council information via geo-spatial mapping technology.

eBimap only provides the City Plan graphic layers not City Plan documentation. You need to use the Brisbane City Plan Profession for City Plan documentation. It is available at Gardens Point Campus, in the VLAB Desk on Level 2

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Mapping and aerial photography , Urban and Regional Planning , Urban Design .

EBSCOhost

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to fulltext journal articles, newspapers and ebooks covering a variety of subject areas. A very good starting point for searching.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Multidisciplinary .

Ecospecifier

A knowledge base of over 3500 eco-products, eco-materials, technologies and resources, the leading global source of sustainable development and life-cycle assessed green product information. Linking independent information with a powerful search interface, Ecospecifier delivers innovative sustainable product solutions with unique difference.

Factiva.com

Australian coverage

Looking for Australian newspapers? Try searching Aust/NZ Newspaper and Reference Centre - Unlike Factiva.com there is no limit to the number of users that can access this database at any one time, making it the perfect choice for finding fulltext Australian newspaper content

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Drama , Journalism and Media & Communication , Banking and Finance , Statistical Information / Australian Bureau of Statistics , Australian Studies , News and current affairs .

2013.05.21 Currently it is only possible to download, email, or print single articles from Factiva.com. If more than one item is ticked within search results, those options are greyed out (unavailable). QUT Library is investigating the matter urgently with the provider.

As Factiva will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity.

Searching tips:
In the main Search tab, use the Group Lists within My Source Lists to search over major Queensland and Australian news sources, or key local and international business titles.

Keep up with the headlines from major Australian daily newspapers by browsing the News Pages.

...more...

Intellect Journals Collection (via IngentaConnect)

Available to the public (in library only)

Fostering new and original ideas in the fields of arts and humanities, Intellect is one of the foremost publishers in arts and education.

Masters of Architecture

A series of colour images from Pidgeon Audiovisual and World Microfilms. The images have been digitised from an original collection of 58 slide sets which were published between the mid 1980's and 2003. There are about 7,000 images in all, and regular additions of similar sets of digitised images will be automatically added to the website.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Architecture .

National Construction Code (via NCC Online)

Australian coverage

Incorporates the BCA Volume One, BCA Volume Two and The Guide to the Building Code of Australia (BCA) plus the Plumbing Code of Australia (PCA, Volume Three).

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Standards .

This database may only be accessed by 15 people at the same time. When finished searching, please logout by using the green LOGOUT link in the top blue navigation bar. This will free up access for others. ...more...

National Construction Code : Building Code of Australia plus Referenced Standards Service

Australian coverage

Published by the Australian Building Codes Board (ABCB). Provides the complete Building Code of Australia, the Guide, and approximately 150 fulltext standards referred to in the Code. Also includes the Plumbing Code of Australia (PCA).

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Standards .

Nearmap

New

High quality PhotoMaps over cities that are updated monthly. Changes over time can be seen using TimeView on the map page and locations can be seen from the side using the MultiView button on the map page when zooming in to building level detail.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Mapping and aerial photography , Mapping and Satellite Imagery , Urban and Regional Planning , Landscape Architecture , Urban Design .

Pidgeon Digital

Available to the public (in library only)

Pidgeon Digital is the online version of The Pidgeon Audiovisual collection of illustrated talks by architects and related designers. The collection was founded in 1979 by Monica Pidgeon (long-time editor of the influential magazine Architectural Design) so as to be able to hear the actual voices of the designers of buildings and listen to their ideas.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Architecture .

Project MUSE Humanities Collection

Available to the public (in library only)

Indexes nearly 250 journals, with over 180 in fulltext, in history, literature, philosophy, religion, theatre, music and film, and more.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Fashion , Creative Writing & Literary Studies , Drama , Film, Screen and Animation , Journalism and Media & Communication .

ProQuest

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to a number of fulltext databases across a wide range of disciplines.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Multidisciplinary .

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) eBook Collection

A notable collection of international ebooks focusing on architecture, design and construction.

RUDI - Resources for Urban Design Information

RUDI offers a one stop shop for anyone interested in urban design by bringing together high quality text content, directory information and reference sources on one web site.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Urban and Regional Planning , Urban Design .

SAI Global - Standards On-Line Premium (formerly Standards Australia)

Australian coverage

SAI Global - Standards Online provides access to the complete collection of current Australian Standards, and recent Draft Standards and handbooks (excluding Standards and handbooks with joint copyright) in fulltext with graphics.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Standards , Architecture , Industrial Design , Interior Design , Landscape Architecture , Urban Design .

Now available: Alternative access for staff and postgraduate students (single user license).
Please ensure you logoutwhen you have finished to free up licences for other users....more...

ScienceDirect

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

A cross-disciplinary academic database with significant content of interest to all QUT Faculties. Content includes journal titles in fulltext, online books, book series, handbooks and reference works.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

Users with Adobe X may not be able to download articles. Adobe X users are advised to use the Download multiple PDFs option from the results page....more...

Sociological Abstracts (via ProQuest)

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Includes the titles Sociological Abstracts and Social Planning/Policy and Development Abstracts as well as theses in the field of sociology. This service supercedes the Sociofile service.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Sport Sociology , Justice .

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

State Library of QLD Digital Map Collection

Australian coverage Available to the public (in library only)

The map collection at the State Library of Queensland provides cartographic coverage of the world, with a major emphasis on Queensland and Australia. The collection includes topographic, cadastral, hydrographic and orthophoto sheet maps, as well as a unique and extensive range of historic maps and early real estate maps. Atlases, globes and street directories from around the world are also collected. A zoom-able JPEG2000 feature is also available for a growing digital collection of historical Queensland Estate maps.