Databases for Creative Industries > Architecture and Design > Industrial Design

Find databases and resources
Conditions of use
Provide database feedback
About Quick Find
QUT Fulltext Finder help
Navigate : Creative Industries Architecture and Design > Industrial Design

Key resources

Academic Search Elite (via EBSCOhost)

Available to the public (in library only)

A cross-disciplinary database indexing over 5,000 journals from 1975 onwards, with over 2,000 in current fulltext. Includes more than 1,500 peer-reviewed publications. Offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

APA Fulltext - Australian Public Affairs (via Informit)

Australian coverage Available to the public (in library only)

Indexes current journals and newspapers in Australia and overseas for material on Australia's political, economic, legal, social and cultural affairs.

Provides over 200 core Australian journal titles in fulltext PDF. Selected fulltext only is available for some titles, in accordance with APAIS' indexing policy.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

ASM Handbooks Online

Provides access to the fulltext of 21 ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions produced by the society for materials engineers and scientists. View complete title list.

AU-A, B, C Patent Specifications

Australian coverage

Provides access to published Australian patent applications (AU-A), accepted Australian patents (AU-B) and amended Australian patents (AU-C). Access is by patent number only. Patents are available in fulltext PDF. Note that patents may be hundreds of pages long. Published by IP Australia.

QUT Library recommends QUT staff and students consult bluebox, QUT's technology transfer and commercialisation company, for patent searching services and advice.

QUT Library recommends the general public consult a Patent Attorney for patent searching services and advice.

...more...

Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre (via EBSCOhost)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to Australian and New Zealand newspapers & newswires, magazines, reference books, and company information. It includes access to The Australian and Courier Mail

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Journalism and Media & Communication , Business (General) , Marketing , Statistical Information / Australian Bureau of Statistics , Australian Studies , Justice , News and current affairs .

Use this resource to search for major Australian newspapers...more...

Berg Journals Collection (via IngentaConnect)

Available to the public (in library only)

Focused on culture and visual arts, this collection from Berg Journals includes peer-reviewed journals with significant fulltext content.

DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index (via ProQuest)

Available to the public (in library only)

Indexes over 500 international design and crafts journals and newspapers published from 1973 onwards. Also provides data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms, etc..

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Industrial Design , Fashion .

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

eBooks on EBSCOhost

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides online access to electronic books (ebooks) sourced from over 250 professional, academic, and society presses.

EBSCOhost

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to fulltext journal articles, newspapers and ebooks covering a variety of subject areas. A very good starting point for searching.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Multidisciplinary .

Ecospecifier

A knowledge base of over 3500 eco-products, eco-materials, technologies and resources, the leading global source of sustainable development and life-cycle assessed green product information. Linking independent information with a powerful search interface, Ecospecifier delivers innovative sustainable product solutions with unique difference.

Ergonomics Abstracts [via EBSCOhost]

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Indexes 350 journals covering all areas of ergonomics and human factor.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Disability and Rehabilitation , Industrial Design .

Factiva.com

Australian coverage

Looking for Australian newspapers? Try searching Aust/NZ Newspaper and Reference Centre - Unlike Factiva.com there is no limit to the number of users that can access this database at any one time, making it the perfect choice for finding fulltext Australian newspaper content

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Drama , Journalism and Media & Communication , Banking and Finance , Statistical Information / Australian Bureau of Statistics , Australian Studies , News and current affairs .

As Factiva will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity.

Searching tips:
In the main Search tab, use the Group Lists within My Source Lists to search over major Queensland and Australian news sources, or key local and international business titles.

Keep up with the headlines from major Australian daily newspapers by browsing the News Pages.

...more...

Inspec (via Engineering Village)

Provides access to the world's scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering. There are now 12 million records in Inspec.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Spatial Science , Electrical Engineering , Computer Science , Physics , Spatial Science , Medical Radiation .

Intellect Journals Collection (via IngentaConnect)

Available to the public (in library only)

Fostering new and original ideas in the fields of arts and humanities, Intellect is one of the foremost publishers in arts and education.

IPAustralia (patents, trademarks, designs)

Australian coverage

Provides information on intellectual property in Australia, and a searchable database of Australian patents.

QUT Library recommends QUT staff and students consult bluebox, QUT's technology transfer and commercialisation company, for patent searching services and advice.

QUT Library recommends the general public consult a Patent Attorney for patent searching services and advice.

...more...

JSTOR

Available to the public (in library only)

QUT currently has access to:

  • Arts & Sciences Collections I, II, III, and IV
  • Life Sciences Collcation
For more details on titles included please see the the Currently Available Collections and Journals page.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Creative Writing & Literary Studies .

Oxford Art Online

Available to the public (in library only)

An online gateway that accesses the extensive content of Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference resources. The following titles are available through this database

  • Grove Art Online
  • The Oxford Companion to Western Art
  • Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
  • The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

Project MUSE Humanities Collection

Available to the public (in library only)

Indexes nearly 250 journals, with over 180 in fulltext, in history, literature, philosophy, religion, theatre, music and film, and more.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Fashion , Creative Writing & Literary Studies , Drama , Film, Screen and Animation , Journalism and Media & Communication .

ProQuest

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to a number of fulltext databases across a wide range of disciplines.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Multidisciplinary .

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

ProQuest Research Library

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides one-stop access to several thousand periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

SAI Global - Standards On-Line Premium (formerly Standards Australia)

Australian coverage

SAI Global - Standards Online provides access to the complete collection of current Australian Standards, and recent Draft Standards and handbooks (excluding Standards and handbooks with joint copyright) in fulltext with graphics.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Standards , Architecture , Industrial Design , Interior Design , Landscape Architecture , Urban Design .

Now available: Alternative access for staff and postgraduate students (single user license).
Please ensure you logoutwhen you have finished to free up licences for other users....more...

ScienceDirect

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

A cross-disciplinary academic database with significant content of interest to all QUT Faculties. Content includes journal titles in fulltext, online books, book series, handbooks and reference works.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

Users with Adobe X may not be able to download articles. Adobe X users are advised to use the Download multiple PDFs option from the results page....more...

Sociological Abstracts (via ProQuest)

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Includes the titles Sociological Abstracts and Social Planning/Policy and Development Abstracts as well as theses in the field of sociology. This service supercedes the Sociofile service.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Sport Sociology , Justice .

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...