Databases for Health > Clinical Sciences > Medical Sciences

Find databases and resources
Conditions of use
Provide database feedback
Stay up to date in your subject
About Quick Find
QUT Fulltext Finder help
Navigate : Health Clinical Sciences > Medical Sciences

Key resources

American Physiological Society Journals

Available to the public (in library only)

Journals published by the American Physiological Society covering all aspects of physiology as well as the Society's newsletter. Accepted research papers can also be published ahead of print.

ASM Journals

Available to the public (in library only)

Journal collection covering both basic and clinical mircobiology. With over 90 years experience ASM Journals continues to be an authoritative source for the latest in microbiology research. Published by the American Society for Mircobiology.

AusportMed - Australian Sport Database - Med subset (via Informit)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Indexes Australian literature on a wide range of topics including sports medicine, exercise, physiology, biomechanics, psychology, coaching and physical fitness. Approximately 5,000 records are available. This is a subsection of the Ausport database.

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

BioMed Central

A commercial independent publisher that provides access to peer-reviewed biomedical research. Many of the original research articles in the over 100 journals published by BioMed Central are immediately available online without charge or any other barriers to access. Some journals are not available in fulltext and require a subscription for access.

QUT staff and research students can publish in journals published by BioMed Central in 2010 without directly paying any article-processing charges. Payment of your article-processing charges is covered by QUT's Prepay Membership....more...

Book Citation Index (on Web of Science)

Brings together scholarly book, journal, and conference proceedings literature within Web of Science, allowing researchers to analyse the citation network between books and the wider world of scholarly research.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Citation analysis and ranking tools , Biological Sciences , Geosciences , Mathematical Sciences , Medical Radiation , Medical Sciences , Creative Industries (General) , Justice .

Cell Press Online

Cell Press, an imprint of Elsevier, publishes a number of high quality journals in the life sciences.

Cold Spring Harbor Monograph Archive

Available to the public (in library only)

A collection of scholarly monographs in the discipline of life sciences. Coverage includes molecular, cell, and developmental biology, genetics, evolutionary biology, neuroscience, cancer biology, and molecular pathology.

Current Contents Connect (via Web of Knowledge)

Auto alerting

This is the publisher's (Institute for Scientific Information - ISI) own interface to the Current Contents database. The database is fully integrated the with the Web of Science database.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Optometry (General) , Biomedical Sciences (anatomy, physiology, biomechanics) .

Evidence-Based Medicine (EBM) Guidelines

EBM Guidelines is a collection of primary care medical practice guidelines, evidence summaries, photographs, images and reviews.

Health Reference Center - Academic (via Gale PowerSearch)

Available to the public (in library only)

Includes consumer health magazines and newsletters, selected medicaljournals, nursing & allied health journals, and newspaper articles. Also included are six fulltext reference books, 500 fulltext pamphlets, more than 1800 fulltext topical overviews, and selected articles from an additional 1500 general interest titles.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Public Health (General) , Nursing , Health Psychology , Pharmacy .

Henry Stewart Talks : Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection

Available to the public (in library only)

A collection of specially prepared animated audio visual presentations with synchronized narration by world leading scientists. The collection is organized into comprehensive series, regularly updated and growing with over 1,000 talks. New presentations are constantly becoming available. You may browse through the series, search for a talk covering a subject of interest or register a recommendation for continued access at your institution or company.

Mary Ann Liebert Online

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to publications covering Biotechnology; Biomedical Research/Life Sciences; Medicine, Surgery, and Nursing; Integrative Medicine; Law, Economics, and Policy; Pediatrics; Psychology; Public Health; and Sustainability and Environmental Studies.

Medline (via EBSCOhost)

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Optometry (General) , Nursing , Nursing (General) , Human Movement (General) , Disability and Rehabilitation , Sport Nutrition , Medical Sciences .

Medline (via OvidSP)

Ovid MEDLINE ® covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,400 journals published world-wide.

New for 2013: Ovid Medline(R) 1946 to Present with Daily Update. Alternatively, select a different OVID Medline index via the database selection list. ...more...

Medline (via Web of Knowledge)

Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Optometry (General) , Nursing , Nursing (General) , Disability and Rehabilitation , Sport Nutrition , Medical Sciences .

Nature.com

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Nature.com is a gateway to over 30 individual electronic journals from NPG (Nature Publishing Group). Journals available to QUT staff and students include the prestigious Nature online weekly journal as well as selected Nature reviews titles.

PubMed

A freely available version of the Medline database providing a small collection of fulltext electronic journals. It includes the full Medline database from 1966 onwards. It also includes Pre-Medline, a collection of very recent articles not yet included in the main database, as well as a number of articles available in the fulltext journals which were not selected for the Medline database.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Medical Radiation , Medical Sciences .

ScienceDirect

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

A cross-disciplinary academic database with significant content of interest to all QUT Faculties. Content includes journal titles in fulltext, online books, book series, handbooks and reference works.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

Users with Adobe X may not be able to download articles. Adobe X users are advised to use the Download multiple PDFs option from the results page....more...

SPIE Digital Library

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides fulltext access to selected journals, conference proceedings and technical reports in the areas of optics and photonics. Published by the Society of Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers (SPIE).

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Physics .

SPORTDiscus (via EBSCOhost)

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. With full bibliographic coverage, monographs dating back to 1949, and journal coverage to 1975, this database contains over 500,000 records and over 20,000 dissertations and theses. The content also consists of multi-disciplinary, international references from journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and more. SPORTDiscus is provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Human Movement (General) , Physical Education , Sport Nutrition , Sport Psychology , Biomedical Sciences (anatomy, physiology, biomechanics) , Dance .

SpringerLink

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

A database platform specialising in science, technology and medicine journals, book series, books and reference works.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Computer Science , Information Systems , Biomedical Sciences (anatomy, physiology, biomechanics) , Medical Sciences .

Thieme eBook Library

New Available to the public (in library only)

Illustrated full-color downloadable textbooks from Thieme'sColor Atlases and Flexibook series. Each ebook retains the educational utility of the print version, including exquisite full-color illustrations and instructive text - plus a powerful search function to help users easily locate topics across the entire collection.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Medical images .

Thieme Teaching Assistant

New Available to the public (in library only)

Thousands of highly detailed illustrations and clinical images. QUT has access to:

  • Thieme Teaching Assistant: Anatomy
  • Thieme Teaching Assistant: Physiology
  • Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Medical images .

    To save and export images, please create an individual account....more...

    Web of Science (via Web of Knowledge)

    Auto alerting

    Citation databases:

    • Book Citation Index - Science (BKCI-S) --2005-present 2012 eTrial
    • Book Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities (BKCI-SSH) --2005-present 2012 eTrial
    • Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) --1980-present
    • Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)--1980-present
    • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)--1980-present
    • Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S)--1990-present
    • Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) --1990-present

    Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

    WinkingSkull.com PRO

    New

    An interactive study aid for human anatomy. Also provides self-tests with the ability to instantly check progress. To take advantage of self-tests you must create a personal account.