Databases for Health > Clinical Sciences

Find databases and resources
Conditions of use
Provide database feedback
Stay up to date in your subject
About Quick Find
QUT Fulltext Finder help
Navigate : Health  > Clinical Sciences

Key resources

American Physiological Society Journals

Available to the public (in library only)

Journals published by the American Physiological Society covering all aspects of physiology as well as the Society's newsletter. Accepted research papers can also be published ahead of print.

AMH - Australian Medicines Handbook

Australian coverage

The AMH (Australian Medicines Handbook) is a comparative, national formulary covering most of the drugs marketed in Australia. Drug information includes indications, precautions, interactions, adverse effects, dosage and drug comparisons. This electronic service is equivalent to print versions of the Handbook (updated annually) held at GP, KG, and Caboolture branches of the QUT Library.

From January 2013, the updated AMH is made available directly by the provider.

Tip: if a Browser Instruction screen appears when first connecting, check details and click on the link to continue. The next time you connect, no warning will appear. ...more...

AMH - Australian Medicines Handbook (via MD Consult)

Australian coverage

The AMH (Australian Medicines Handbook) is a comparative, national formulary covering most of the drugs marketed in Australia. Drug information includes indications, precautions, interactions, adverse effects, dosage and drug comparisons. This electronic service is equivalent to print versions of the Handbook (updated annually) held at GP, KG, and Caboolture branches of the QUT Library.

MD Consult will be available until 28 April 2013.

...more...

APAIS-Health (Australian Public Affairs Information Service Health) (via Informit)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Australian Public Affairs Information Service - Health (APAIS-Health), produced by the National Library of Australia, is a bibliographic database that indexes articles from published material. APAIS- Health covers health and medicine in Australia and in particular the legal, social, economic and ethical aspects of health. Clinical articles are not indexed for APAIS-Health. APAIS-Health is a subset of the APAIS database.

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

ASM Journals

Available to the public (in library only)

Journal collection covering both basic and clinical mircobiology. With over 90 years experience ASM Journals continues to be an authoritative source for the latest in microbiology research. Published by the American Society for Mircobiology.

AusportMed - Australian Sport Database - Med subset (via Informit)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Indexes Australian literature on a wide range of topics including sports medicine, exercise, physiology, biomechanics, psychology, coaching and physical fitness. Approximately 5,000 records are available. This is a subsection of the Ausport database.

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

Australian Anti-Infection Handbook

New

A comprehensive view on various infectious diseases and compact guide for the management of infections. The Australian Anti-Infection Handbook helps practitioners and students find an infection or a pathogen, to know what tests are needed for diagnosis or what antimicrobials should be chosen for the treatment. This book is designed to serve the needs of busy hospital doctors, GPs, microbiology laboratory staff, infection control staff and nurses who require a quick, concise and up-to-date guide for diagnosis and treatment of infections.

Tip: if a Browser Instruction screen appears when first connecting, check details and click on the link to continue. The next time you connect, no warning will appear. ...more...

BioMed Central

A commercial independent publisher that provides access to peer-reviewed biomedical research. Many of the original research articles in the over 100 journals published by BioMed Central are immediately available online without charge or any other barriers to access. Some journals are not available in fulltext and require a subscription for access.

QUT staff and research students can publish in journals published by BioMed Central in 2010 without directly paying any article-processing charges. Payment of your article-processing charges is covered by QUT's Prepay Membership....more...

Book Citation Index (on Web of Science)

Brings together scholarly book, journal, and conference proceedings literature within Web of Science, allowing researchers to analyse the citation network between books and the wider world of scholarly research.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Citation analysis and ranking tools , Biological Sciences , Geosciences , Mathematical Sciences , Medical Radiation , Medical Sciences , Creative Industries (General) , Justice .

British Pharmacopoeia Online

Available to the public (in library only)

The British Pharmacopoeia (BP) is the authoritative collection of standards for UK medicines and is an essential reference for anyone involved in pharmaceutical R&D, manufacture, testing and regulation.

Catalyst

A comprehensive, independent, drug information resource which includes Independent Drug Monographs, Consumer Medicine Information, Product Information and Drug Product Images. Catalyst coverage includes:

  • Over 1150 independently written full text drug monographs for Australian practice
  • Over 2600 of the company TGA approved product information sheets
  • Over 2600 consumer medicines information sheets
  • Over 2300 drug product images.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Pharmacy .

Formerly AusDI Advanced. Register for Catalyst Mobile....more...

Cell Press Online

Cell Press, an imprint of Elsevier, publishes a number of high quality journals in the life sciences.

CHEMnetBASE (via CRCnetBASE)

Available to the public (in library only)

A collection of major chemical reference works from Chapman & Hall/CRC Press

Tip: To search materials outside QUT's subscribed content, in the CRCnetBASE page, un-tick the box "Search Full Access Content Only" (at top right, under the search box)...more...

Clinical Key (Australian edition)

Clinical Key provides access to selected medical texts and journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts and CME (Continuing Medical Education) materials. You can filter your searches by type of study, speciality as well as content type.

Cochrane Library

This resource is available to all Australians connecting from an Australian IP address. The National Site License has been established by National Institute of Clinical Studies (NICS) on behalf of the Australian government.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Evidence Based , Evidence-Based Counselling , Medical Radiation .

Cold Spring Harbor Monograph Archive

Available to the public (in library only)

A collection of scholarly monographs in the discipline of life sciences. Coverage includes molecular, cell, and developmental biology, genetics, evolutionary biology, neuroscience, cancer biology, and molecular pathology.

Current Contents Connect (via Web of Knowledge)

Auto alerting

This is the publisher's (Institute for Scientific Information - ISI) own interface to the Current Contents database. The database is fully integrated the with the Web of Science database.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Optometry (General) , Biomedical Sciences (anatomy, physiology, biomechanics) .

Drug Database (via Informit)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Produced by the Alcohol and other Drugs Council of Australia, indexes political, social, economic, psychological and legal aspects of prevention and treatment of alcohol and other drug abuse. Both legal and illegal drugs are included. Australian and overseas sources are covered, including journals, newspaper articles, chapters from monographs, conference proceedings, theses, research reports, government documents, statistics and unpublished material.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Pharmacy .

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

Embase

A comprehensive source of online biomedical answers, Embase helps you track adverse drug events, compare drug therapies for disease, and search for evidence-based medicine research.

Evidence-Based Medicine (EBM) Guidelines

EBM Guidelines is a collection of primary care medical practice guidelines, evidence summaries, photographs, images and reviews.

Health Collection (via Informit)

Australian coverage Available to the public (in library only)

The Informit Health Collection includes research articles, reports and case studies of practical support to anyone studying or working in therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health roles.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Public Health (General) , Nursing , Nursing (General) , Pharmacy .

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

Health Reference Center - Academic (via Gale PowerSearch)

Available to the public (in library only)

Includes consumer health magazines and newsletters, selected medicaljournals, nursing & allied health journals, and newspaper articles. Also included are six fulltext reference books, 500 fulltext pamphlets, more than 1800 fulltext topical overviews, and selected articles from an additional 1500 general interest titles.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Public Health (General) , Nursing , Health Psychology , Pharmacy .

Henry Stewart Talks : Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection

Available to the public (in library only)

A collection of specially prepared animated audio visual presentations with synchronized narration by world leading scientists. The collection is organized into comprehensive series, regularly updated and growing with over 1,000 talks. New presentations are constantly becoming available. You may browse through the series, search for a talk covering a subject of interest or register a recommendation for continued access at your institution or company.

Inspec (via Engineering Village)

Provides access to the world's scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering. There are now 12 million records in Inspec.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Spatial Science , Electrical Engineering , Computer Science , Physics , Spatial Science , Medical Radiation .

IOPscience extra

Provides access to over 60 journals published by the Institute of Physics (IoP). Includes the IOP Journal Archive featuring volumes from 1874.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Physics .

Karger Journals Online

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to the fulltext of selected medical, allied health, natural sciences and humanities journals from Karger publishing.

Knovel

Available to the public (in library only)

A collection of reference ebooks in science and engineering, many of which are embedded with Knovel's productivity tools that help users analyze and manipulate information into a more usable form. Fulltext is available in PDF format.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Electrical Engineering , Manufacturing Engineering , Mechanical Engineering , Medical Engineering .

Personalise content and save searches by creating a My Knovel personal login. More information......more...

Mary Ann Liebert Online

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to publications covering Biotechnology; Biomedical Research/Life Sciences; Medicine, Surgery, and Nursing; Integrative Medicine; Law, Economics, and Policy; Pediatrics; Psychology; Public Health; and Sustainability and Environmental Studies.

MD Consult Australia

Clinical reference and decision support resources including books, journals, images, drug information, guidelines, patient education information and news.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Medical Radiation , Pharmacy .

MD Consult will be available until 28 April 2013.

...more...

Medline (via EBSCOhost)

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Optometry (General) , Nursing , Nursing (General) , Human Movement (General) , Disability and Rehabilitation , Sport Nutrition , Medical Sciences .

Medline (via OvidSP)

Ovid MEDLINE ® covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,400 journals published world-wide.

New for 2013: Ovid Medline(R) 1946 to Present with Daily Update. Alternatively, select a different OVID Medline index via the database selection list. ...more...

Medline (via Web of Knowledge)

Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Optometry (General) , Nursing , Nursing (General) , Disability and Rehabilitation , Sport Nutrition , Medical Sciences .

Merck Index

Available to the public (in library only)

An encyclopedia providing precise, comprehensive information on more than 10,000 chemicals, drugs, and biological compounds and 450 organic name reactions.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Pharmacy .

MIMS Online

Australian coverage

The web version of MIMS, Australia's most comprehensive and authoritative medicine database. Incorporating data from MIMS abbreviated and full medicines information, product images and consumer medicines information, MIMS Online offers convenient access to essential information on over 4,500 prescription and non-prescription drugs.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Nursing (General) , Pharmacy .

If you are having trouble connecting, please try again in a few minutes as only 10 users can access this database at any one time. ...more...

Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database

Gives up-to-date information on most every herbal and dietary supplement used in the western world, with extensive search features to find the use, adverse effects, interactions, safety, and effectiveness of each natural medicine.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Pharmacy .

Natural Standard

New

Provides high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative medicine including dietary supplements and integrative therapies. Grades reflect the level of available scientific data for or against the use of each therapy for a specific medical condition.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Pharmacy .

Nature.com

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Nature.com is a gateway to over 30 individual electronic journals from NPG (Nature Publishing Group). Journals available to QUT staff and students include the prestigious Nature online weekly journal as well as selected Nature reviews titles.

Optics InfoBase - Optical Society of America (OSA) Journals

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to selected subscribed journals published by the Optical Society of America.

Pharmaceutical News Index (via ProQuest)

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to the latest information on medical technology, research, and legislative developments. The database contains bibliographic information and indexing for key U.S.and international pharmaceutical, healthcare, biotechnology, medical device, and cosmetic industry newsletters.

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

ProQuest Health & Medical Complete

Available to the public (in library only)

Combines the clinical research titles available in ProQuest Medical Library with hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles. The journals cover all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery, and others.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Public Health (General) , Nursing .

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

PubMed

A freely available version of the Medline database providing a small collection of fulltext electronic journals. It includes the full Medline database from 1966 onwards. It also includes Pre-Medline, a collection of very recent articles not yet included in the main database, as well as a number of articles available in the fulltext journals which were not selected for the Medline database.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Medical Radiation , Medical Sciences .

PubMed Dietary Supplement Subset

Searches the 400 000 plus citations in PubMed that are dietary supplement-related. The PubMed Dietary Supplement Subset is a collaboration between the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements and the National Library of Medicine (NLM).

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Sport Nutrition , Nutrition and Dietetics .

ScienceDirect

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

A cross-disciplinary academic database with significant content of interest to all QUT Faculties. Content includes journal titles in fulltext, online books, book series, handbooks and reference works.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

Users with Adobe X may not be able to download articles. Adobe X users are advised to use the Download multiple PDFs option from the results page....more...

SPIE Digital Library

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides fulltext access to selected journals, conference proceedings and technical reports in the areas of optics and photonics. Published by the Society of Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers (SPIE).

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Physics .

SPORTDiscus (via EBSCOhost)

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. With full bibliographic coverage, monographs dating back to 1949, and journal coverage to 1975, this database contains over 500,000 records and over 20,000 dissertations and theses. The content also consists of multi-disciplinary, international references from journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and more. SPORTDiscus is provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Human Movement (General) , Physical Education , Sport Nutrition , Sport Psychology , Biomedical Sciences (anatomy, physiology, biomechanics) , Dance .

SpringerLink

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

A database platform specialising in science, technology and medicine journals, book series, books and reference works.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Computer Science , Information Systems , Biomedical Sciences (anatomy, physiology, biomechanics) , Medical Sciences .

Therapeutic Guidelines (via eTG complete)

Australian coverage

The aim of Therapeutic Guidelines Limited (TGL) is to provide clear, practical, authoritative and succinct therapeutic information for busy health practitioners, for the management of patients with specific conditions. The recommendations in Therapeutic Guidelines are based on the latest international literature, interpreted by some of Australia?s most eminent and respected experts, with each statement having been examined, subjected to challenge and discussed over a series of day-long meetings. The finished texts represent the essence of current available evidence.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Pharmacy .

Tip: if a Browser Instruction screen appears when first connecting, check details and click on the link to continue. The next time you connect, no warning will appear. ...more...

Thieme eBook Library

New Available to the public (in library only)

Illustrated full-color downloadable textbooks from Thieme'sColor Atlases and Flexibook series. Each ebook retains the educational utility of the print version, including exquisite full-color illustrations and instructive text - plus a powerful search function to help users easily locate topics across the entire collection.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Medical images .

Thieme Teaching Assistant

New Available to the public (in library only)

Thousands of highly detailed illustrations and clinical images. QUT has access to:

  • Thieme Teaching Assistant: Anatomy
  • Thieme Teaching Assistant: Physiology
  • Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Medical images .

    To save and export images, please create an individual account....more...

    Web of Science (via Web of Knowledge)

    Auto alerting

    Citation databases:

    • Book Citation Index - Science (BKCI-S) --2005-present 2012 eTrial
    • Book Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities (BKCI-SSH) --2005-present 2012 eTrial
    • Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) --1980-present
    • Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)--1980-present
    • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)--1980-present
    • Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S)--1990-present
    • Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) --1990-present

    Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

    WinkingSkull.com PRO

    New

    An interactive study aid for human anatomy. Also provides self-tests with the ability to instantly check progress. To take advantage of self-tests you must create a personal account.