Databases for Health > Exercise and Nurition Sciences > Human Movement (General)

Find databases and resources
Conditions of use
Provide database feedback
Stay up to date in your subject
About Quick Find
QUT Fulltext Finder help
Navigate : Health Exercise and Nurition Sciences >  Human Movement (General)

Key resources

Academic Search Elite (via EBSCOhost)

Available to the public (in library only)

A cross-disciplinary database indexing over 5,000 journals from 1975 onwards, with over 2,000 in current fulltext. Includes more than 1,500 peer-reviewed publications. Offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

AMH - Australian Medicines Handbook

Australian coverage

The AMH (Australian Medicines Handbook) is a comparative, national formulary covering most of the drugs marketed in Australia. Drug information includes indications, precautions, interactions, adverse effects, dosage and drug comparisons. This electronic service is equivalent to print versions of the Handbook (updated annually) held at GP, KG, and Caboolture branches of the QUT Library.

From January 2013, the updated AMH is made available directly by the provider.

Tip: if a Browser Instruction screen appears when first connecting, check details and click on the link to continue. The next time you connect, no warning will appear. ...more...

AMH - Australian Medicines Handbook (via MD Consult)

Australian coverage

The AMH (Australian Medicines Handbook) is a comparative, national formulary covering most of the drugs marketed in Australia. Drug information includes indications, precautions, interactions, adverse effects, dosage and drug comparisons. This electronic service is equivalent to print versions of the Handbook (updated annually) held at GP, KG, and Caboolture branches of the QUT Library.

MD Consult will be available until 28 April 2013.

...more...

ATI - Australian Tourism Index (via Informit)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Contains bibliographic details of Australian material in the areas of leisure,recreation, sport, tourism and travel from 1982 to 1988. From 1989 it coverstravel and tourism only. Coverage of sport and leisure is continued by theAUSPORT database.

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

AUSPORT - Australian Sport Database (via Informit)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Produced by the National Sport Information Centre, Australian Sports Commission, this is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on all aspects of Australian sport.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Human Movement (General) .

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

Cochrane Library

This resource is available to all Australians connecting from an Australian IP address. The National Site License has been established by National Institute of Clinical Studies (NICS) on behalf of the Australian government.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Evidence Based , Evidence-Based Counselling , Medical Radiation .

Current Contents Connect (via Web of Knowledge)

Auto alerting

This is the publisher's (Institute for Scientific Information - ISI) own interface to the Current Contents database. The database is fully integrated the with the Web of Science database.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Optometry (General) , Biomedical Sciences (anatomy, physiology, biomechanics) .

Ergonomics Abstracts [via EBSCOhost]

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Indexes 350 journals covering all areas of ergonomics and human factor.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Disability and Rehabilitation , Industrial Design .

Health Collection (via Informit)

Australian coverage Available to the public (in library only)

The Informit Health Collection includes research articles, reports and case studies of practical support to anyone studying or working in therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health roles.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Public Health (General) , Nursing , Nursing (General) , Pharmacy .

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

Health Reference Center - Academic (via Gale PowerSearch)

Available to the public (in library only)

Includes consumer health magazines and newsletters, selected medicaljournals, nursing & allied health journals, and newspaper articles. Also included are six fulltext reference books, 500 fulltext pamphlets, more than 1800 fulltext topical overviews, and selected articles from an additional 1500 general interest titles.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Public Health (General) , Nursing , Health Psychology , Pharmacy .

Medline (via EBSCOhost)

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Optometry (General) , Nursing , Nursing (General) , Human Movement (General) , Disability and Rehabilitation , Sport Nutrition , Medical Sciences .

MIMS Online

Australian coverage

The web version of MIMS, Australia's most comprehensive and authoritative medicine database. Incorporating data from MIMS abbreviated and full medicines information, product images and consumer medicines information, MIMS Online offers convenient access to essential information on over 4,500 prescription and non-prescription drugs.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Nursing (General) , Pharmacy .

If you are having trouble connecting, please try again in a few minutes as only 10 users can access this database at any one time. ...more...

Pharmaceutical News Index (via ProQuest)

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to the latest information on medical technology, research, and legislative developments. The database contains bibliographic information and indexing for key U.S.and international pharmaceutical, healthcare, biotechnology, medical device, and cosmetic industry newsletters.

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

ProQuest Health & Medical Complete

Available to the public (in library only)

Combines the clinical research titles available in ProQuest Medical Library with hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles. The journals cover all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery, and others.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Public Health (General) , Nursing .

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

ProQuest Research Library

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides one-stop access to several thousand periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

RURAL - Rural and Remote Health Database (via Informit)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Produced by the Australian Rural Health Research Institute, Monash University. RURAL is made up of five separate, smaller, databases. The databases form a major contribution on an international scale to the understanding of rural and remote area health issues and care, and the practice and educational needs of health providers, in particular medical practitioners and nurses. The information is relevant to health providers, health planners, researchers and members of rural and remote area communities.

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

ScienceDirect

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

A cross-disciplinary academic database with significant content of interest to all QUT Faculties. Content includes journal titles in fulltext, online books, book series, handbooks and reference works.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

Users with Adobe X may not be able to download articles. Adobe X users are advised to use the Download multiple PDFs option from the results page....more...

SPORTDiscus (via EBSCOhost)

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. With full bibliographic coverage, monographs dating back to 1949, and journal coverage to 1975, this database contains over 500,000 records and over 20,000 dissertations and theses. The content also consists of multi-disciplinary, international references from journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and more. SPORTDiscus is provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Human Movement (General) , Physical Education , Sport Nutrition , Sport Psychology , Biomedical Sciences (anatomy, physiology, biomechanics) , Dance .

Therapeutic Guidelines (via eTG complete)

Australian coverage

The aim of Therapeutic Guidelines Limited (TGL) is to provide clear, practical, authoritative and succinct therapeutic information for busy health practitioners, for the management of patients with specific conditions. The recommendations in Therapeutic Guidelines are based on the latest international literature, interpreted by some of Australia?s most eminent and respected experts, with each statement having been examined, subjected to challenge and discussed over a series of day-long meetings. The finished texts represent the essence of current available evidence.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Pharmacy .

Tip: if a Browser Instruction screen appears when first connecting, check details and click on the link to continue. The next time you connect, no warning will appear. ...more...

WinkingSkull.com PRO

New

An interactive study aid for human anatomy. Also provides self-tests with the ability to instantly check progress. To take advantage of self-tests you must create a personal account.