Databases for Health > Nursing > Evidence Based

Find databases and resources
Conditions of use
Provide database feedback
Stay up to date in your subject
About Quick Find
QUT Fulltext Finder help
Navigate : Health Nursing > Evidence Based

Key resources

BMJ Best Practice

Provides fast and easy access to reliable, up-to-date information when making diagnosis and treatment decisions. BMJ Best Practice combines the latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion - presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis.

Best Practice App is available for iPad and iPhone....more...

Clinical Key (Australian edition)

Clinical Key provides access to selected medical texts and journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts and CME (Continuing Medical Education) materials. You can filter your searches by type of study, speciality as well as content type.

Cochrane Library

This resource is available to all Australians connecting from an Australian IP address. The National Site License has been established by National Institute of Clinical Studies (NICS) on behalf of the Australian government.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Evidence Based , Evidence-Based Counselling , Medical Radiation .

DynaMed (powered by EBSCOhost)

Available to the public (in library only)

An evidence-based, clinical reference tool with nearly 3,000 topics. DynaMed delivers the best available evidence to students and clinicians, daily. Key features include:

  • Update daily
  • Systematic Literature Surveillance of over 500 sources
  • Best Available Evidence, via a 7-step editorial process

Embase

A comprehensive source of online biomedical answers, Embase helps you track adverse drug events, compare drug therapies for disease, and search for evidence-based medicine research.

Evidence-Based Medicine (EBM) Guidelines

EBM Guidelines is a collection of primary care medical practice guidelines, evidence summaries, photographs, images and reviews.

Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database (via OvidSP)

Resources in evidence-based nursing and health care from the Joanna Briggs Institute in South Australia. Publication types include: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports. Evidence is organized into various subject areas, or 'nodes', including:

  • Aged Care
  • Burns Care
  • Cancer Care
  • Chronic Disease
  • Diagnostic Imaging
  • Emergency and Trauma
  • General Medicine
  • Health Management and Assessment
  • Infection Control
  • Mental Health
  • Midwifery Care
  • Rehabilitation
  • Surgical Services
  • Wound Healing and Management

From October 2012, access to this database is also made available via the Ovid platform. The JBI Connect+ interface will remain available for some time....more...

MD Consult Australia

Clinical reference and decision support resources including books, journals, images, drug information, guidelines, patient education information and news.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Medical Radiation , Pharmacy .

MD Consult will be available until 28 April 2013.

...more...

Medline (via EBSCOhost)

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Optometry (General) , Nursing , Nursing (General) , Human Movement (General) , Disability and Rehabilitation , Sport Nutrition , Medical Sciences .

Mosby's Nursing Consult

An integrated online service intended to help nurses efficiently find answers to pressing clinical questions. It is aimed at the clinical nurse, nurse administrators and the nurse faculty. Service includes:

  • Latest drug information
  • Patient education
  • Professional journals - 23 ejournals, with fulltext mostly from 2002
  • Reference books - over 65 electronic reference works, covering 18 specialty areas
  • Current news
  • Clinical practice
  • Evidence-based content
  • Care planning tools

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Nursing (General) .

Nursing Education in Video

Available to the public (in library only)

Videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board, and are regularly reviewed for accuracy, currency, and compliance with US Federal regulations from agencies such as OSHA and CMS.

Nursing Reference Center

Available to the public (in library only)

Nursing Reference Center (NRC) provides point-of-care resource intended for staff nurses, nurse administrators, nursing students, nurse faculty, and hospital librarians. It delivers clinical evidence and knowledge on conditions and diseases.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health

Available to the public (in library only)

Reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, evidence-based resources, video, dissertations, reference books and more.

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...