Databases for Health > Nursing

Find databases and resources
Conditions of use
Provide database feedback
Stay up to date in your subject
About Quick Find
QUT Fulltext Finder help
Navigate : Health  > Nursing

Key resources

Academic Search Elite (via EBSCOhost)

Available to the public (in library only)

A cross-disciplinary database indexing over 5,000 journals from 1975 onwards, with over 2,000 in current fulltext. Includes more than 1,500 peer-reviewed publications. Offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

AHB (Australian Heritage Bibliography) (via Informit)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

A bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on Australia's natural and cultural environment. Produced by the Australian Heritage Commission.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Geography / Environment .

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

American Physiological Society Journals

Available to the public (in library only)

Journals published by the American Physiological Society covering all aspects of physiology as well as the Society's newsletter. Accepted research papers can also be published ahead of print.

AMH - Australian Medicines Handbook

Australian coverage

The AMH (Australian Medicines Handbook) is a comparative, national formulary covering most of the drugs marketed in Australia. Drug information includes indications, precautions, interactions, adverse effects, dosage and drug comparisons. This electronic service is equivalent to print versions of the Handbook (updated annually) held at GP, KG, and Caboolture branches of the QUT Library.

From January 2013, the updated AMH is made available directly by the provider.

Tip: if a Browser Instruction screen appears when first connecting, check details and click on the link to continue. The next time you connect, no warning will appear. ...more...

AMH - Australian Medicines Handbook (via MD Consult)

Australian coverage

The AMH (Australian Medicines Handbook) is a comparative, national formulary covering most of the drugs marketed in Australia. Drug information includes indications, precautions, interactions, adverse effects, dosage and drug comparisons. This electronic service is equivalent to print versions of the Handbook (updated annually) held at GP, KG, and Caboolture branches of the QUT Library.

MD Consult will be available until 28 April 2013.

...more...

Annual Reviews Online

Available to the public (in library only)

Annual Reviews provides researchers, professors, and scientific professionals with a definitive academic resource in 29 scientific disciplines. Annual Reviews saves you time by synthesizing the vast amount of primary research literature and identifying the principal contributions in your field. Editorial committees comprised of the most distinguished scholars in the discipline select all topics for review, and the articles are written by authors who are recognized experts in the field. Annual Reviews publications are among the highest cited publications by impact factor according to the Institute for Scientific Information® (ISI)

APA Fulltext - Australian Public Affairs (via Informit)

Australian coverage Available to the public (in library only)

Indexes current journals and newspapers in Australia and overseas for material on Australia's political, economic, legal, social and cultural affairs.

Provides over 200 core Australian journal titles in fulltext PDF. Selected fulltext only is available for some titles, in accordance with APAIS' indexing policy.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

ATSIhealth - Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Bibliography (via Informit)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Produced by the School of Health Studies, Edith Cowan University, this database indexes two hundred and forty-three journals covering Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health.

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

Australian Anti-Infection Handbook

New

A comprehensive view on various infectious diseases and compact guide for the management of infections. The Australian Anti-Infection Handbook helps practitioners and students find an infection or a pathogen, to know what tests are needed for diagnosis or what antimicrobials should be chosen for the treatment. This book is designed to serve the needs of busy hospital doctors, GPs, microbiology laboratory staff, infection control staff and nurses who require a quick, concise and up-to-date guide for diagnosis and treatment of infections.

Tip: if a Browser Instruction screen appears when first connecting, check details and click on the link to continue. The next time you connect, no warning will appear. ...more...

Bibliography of Asian Studies

Available to the public (in library only)

A bibliography of more than 410,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. Through the 1991 printed version, the BAS included citations to western-language periodical articles, individually authored monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc. Since 1992, newly published individual monographs are no longer being added to the database.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Asian Studies .

BMJ Best Practice

Provides fast and easy access to reliable, up-to-date information when making diagnosis and treatment decisions. BMJ Best Practice combines the latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion - presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis.

Best Practice App is available for iPad and iPhone....more...

CAM on PubMed

A PubMED subset limiited to complimentary and alternative medicine. Published by the US National Center for Complimentary and Alternative Medicine.

Catalyst

A comprehensive, independent, drug information resource which includes Independent Drug Monographs, Consumer Medicine Information, Product Information and Drug Product Images. Catalyst coverage includes:

  • Over 1150 independently written full text drug monographs for Australian practice
  • Over 2600 of the company TGA approved product information sheets
  • Over 2600 consumer medicines information sheets
  • Over 2300 drug product images.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Pharmacy .

Formerly AusDI Advanced. Register for Catalyst Mobile....more...

CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health) (via EBSCOhost)

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides indexing for over 2,700 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Public Health (General) , Nursing , Nursing (General) .

CINCH-Health - Health Issues in Criminal Justice (via Informit)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

A subset of the CINCH database, covers the following aspects in relation to crime and criminology: mental health; medical and medicolegal issues; drugs and alcohol; suicide; HIV/AIDS; corrections health; euthanasia; and occupational health and safety.

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

Clinical Key (Australian edition)

Clinical Key provides access to selected medical texts and journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts and CME (Continuing Medical Education) materials. You can filter your searches by type of study, speciality as well as content type.

Cochrane Library

This resource is available to all Australians connecting from an Australian IP address. The National Site License has been established by National Institute of Clinical Studies (NICS) on behalf of the Australian government.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Evidence Based , Evidence-Based Counselling , Medical Radiation .

Current Contents Connect (via Web of Knowledge)

Auto alerting

This is the publisher's (Institute for Scientific Information - ISI) own interface to the Current Contents database. The database is fully integrated the with the Web of Science database.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Optometry (General) , Biomedical Sciences (anatomy, physiology, biomechanics) .

Drug Database (via Informit)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Produced by the Alcohol and other Drugs Council of Australia, indexes political, social, economic, psychological and legal aspects of prevention and treatment of alcohol and other drug abuse. Both legal and illegal drugs are included. Australian and overseas sources are covered, including journals, newspaper articles, chapters from monographs, conference proceedings, theses, research reports, government documents, statistics and unpublished material.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Pharmacy .

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

DynaMed (powered by EBSCOhost)

Available to the public (in library only)

An evidence-based, clinical reference tool with nearly 3,000 topics. DynaMed delivers the best available evidence to students and clinicians, daily. Key features include:

  • Update daily
  • Systematic Literature Surveillance of over 500 sources
  • Best Available Evidence, via a 7-step editorial process

Embase

A comprehensive source of online biomedical answers, Embase helps you track adverse drug events, compare drug therapies for disease, and search for evidence-based medicine research.

Evidence-Based Medicine (EBM) Guidelines

EBM Guidelines is a collection of primary care medical practice guidelines, evidence summaries, photographs, images and reviews.

FAMILY - Australian Family & Society Abstracts

Australian coverage Available to the public (in library only)

Covers research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to, Australian families and is produced by the Australian Institute of Family Studies.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Early Childhood Education .

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) (via OvidSP)

Provides evaluation and measurement tools designed to facilitate health and psychosocial studies. The measurement instruments include questionnaires, checklists, index measures, rating scales, project techniques, tests, interview schedules, and a variety of means of evaluation.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Psychological Tests and Assessment .

Health and Society Database (H&S) (via Informit)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Produced by the Australian Institute of Family Studies, covers all aspects of family health.

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

Health Collection (via Informit)

Australian coverage Available to the public (in library only)

The Informit Health Collection includes research articles, reports and case studies of practical support to anyone studying or working in therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health roles.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Public Health (General) , Nursing , Nursing (General) , Pharmacy .

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

Health Reference Center - Academic (via Gale PowerSearch)

Available to the public (in library only)

Includes consumer health magazines and newsletters, selected medicaljournals, nursing & allied health journals, and newspaper articles. Also included are six fulltext reference books, 500 fulltext pamphlets, more than 1800 fulltext topical overviews, and selected articles from an additional 1500 general interest titles.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Public Health (General) , Nursing , Health Psychology , Pharmacy .

ingentaconnect

Auto alerting

A large Table of Contents (TOC) and current awareness service providing access to a large database of journal article information.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Justice .

Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database (via OvidSP)

Resources in evidence-based nursing and health care from the Joanna Briggs Institute in South Australia. Publication types include: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports. Evidence is organized into various subject areas, or 'nodes', including:

  • Aged Care
  • Burns Care
  • Cancer Care
  • Chronic Disease
  • Diagnostic Imaging
  • Emergency and Trauma
  • General Medicine
  • Health Management and Assessment
  • Infection Control
  • Mental Health
  • Midwifery Care
  • Rehabilitation
  • Surgical Services
  • Wound Healing and Management

From October 2012, access to this database is also made available via the Ovid platform. The JBI Connect+ interface will remain available for some time....more...

Journals@OVID Full Text (via OvidSP)

Available to the public (in library only)

In addtion to the Lippincott Williams & Wilkins Extended Archive, Journals@Ovid provides access to a selection of journals, including titles of particular interest to nurses, nursing students and health professionals via the Journals@Ovid LWW Nursing and Health Professions Premier Collection. Further key individual Lippincott Williams & Wilkins (LWW) journals are also available in the Journals@Ovid Ovid Full Text collection.

Mary Ann Liebert Online

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to publications covering Biotechnology; Biomedical Research/Life Sciences; Medicine, Surgery, and Nursing; Integrative Medicine; Law, Economics, and Policy; Pediatrics; Psychology; Public Health; and Sustainability and Environmental Studies.

MD Consult Australia

Clinical reference and decision support resources including books, journals, images, drug information, guidelines, patient education information and news.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Medical Radiation , Pharmacy .

MD Consult will be available until 28 April 2013.

...more...

Medline (via EBSCOhost)

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Optometry (General) , Nursing , Nursing (General) , Human Movement (General) , Disability and Rehabilitation , Sport Nutrition , Medical Sciences .

Medline (via OvidSP)

Ovid MEDLINE ® covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,400 journals published world-wide.

New for 2013: Ovid Medline(R) 1946 to Present with Daily Update. Alternatively, select a different OVID Medline index via the database selection list. ...more...

Medline (via Web of Knowledge)

Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Optometry (General) , Nursing , Nursing (General) , Disability and Rehabilitation , Sport Nutrition , Medical Sciences .

MIMS Online

Australian coverage

The web version of MIMS, Australia's most comprehensive and authoritative medicine database. Incorporating data from MIMS abbreviated and full medicines information, product images and consumer medicines information, MIMS Online offers convenient access to essential information on over 4,500 prescription and non-prescription drugs.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Nursing (General) , Pharmacy .

If you are having trouble connecting, please try again in a few minutes as only 10 users can access this database at any one time. ...more...

Mosby's Index

Nursing journal abstracts and indexing database covering evidence-based healthcare; nursing specialties and professions; nursing education and training; nursing development and management.

Mosby's Nursing Consult

An integrated online service intended to help nurses efficiently find answers to pressing clinical questions. It is aimed at the clinical nurse, nurse administrators and the nurse faculty. Service includes:

  • Latest drug information
  • Patient education
  • Professional journals - 23 ejournals, with fulltext mostly from 2002
  • Reference books - over 65 electronic reference works, covering 18 specialty areas
  • Current news
  • Clinical practice
  • Evidence-based content
  • Care planning tools

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Nursing (General) .

Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database

Gives up-to-date information on most every herbal and dietary supplement used in the western world, with extensive search features to find the use, adverse effects, interactions, safety, and effectiveness of each natural medicine.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Pharmacy .

Natural Standard

New

Provides high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative medicine including dietary supplements and integrative therapies. Grades reflect the level of available scientific data for or against the use of each therapy for a specific medical condition.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Pharmacy .

Nursing Education in Video

Available to the public (in library only)

Videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board, and are regularly reviewed for accuracy, currency, and compliance with US Federal regulations from agencies such as OSHA and CMS.

Nursing Reference Center

Available to the public (in library only)

Nursing Reference Center (NRC) provides point-of-care resource intended for staff nurses, nurse administrators, nursing students, nurse faculty, and hospital librarians. It delivers clinical evidence and knowledge on conditions and diseases.

OECD iLibrary

Provides access to all electronic publications of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), including themed studies, monographs, 24 ejournals and statistics databases on the economic status of nations of the world.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Economics , International Business , Statistical Information / Australian Bureau of Statistics .

Pharmaceutical News Index (via ProQuest)

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to the latest information on medical technology, research, and legislative developments. The database contains bibliographic information and indexing for key U.S.and international pharmaceutical, healthcare, biotechnology, medical device, and cosmetic industry newsletters.

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

Project MUSE Humanities Collection

Available to the public (in library only)

Indexes nearly 250 journals, with over 180 in fulltext, in history, literature, philosophy, religion, theatre, music and film, and more.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Fashion , Creative Writing & Literary Studies , Drama , Film, Screen and Animation , Journalism and Media & Communication .

ProQuest Health & Medical Complete

Available to the public (in library only)

Combines the clinical research titles available in ProQuest Medical Library with hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles. The journals cover all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery, and others.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Public Health (General) , Nursing .

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health

Available to the public (in library only)

Reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, evidence-based resources, video, dissertations, reference books and more.

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

ProQuest Psychology

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides nearly 300 journal titles in fulltext, across all areas of psychology.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

ProQuest Research Library

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides one-stop access to several thousand periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

ProQuest Social Science Journals

Available to the public (in library only)

Offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Aged Services , Youth Services .

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

PsycARTICLES (via EBSCOhost)

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides over 50 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) in fulltext HTML and PDF. Over 28,000 articles are available.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

PsycINFO (via EBSCOhost)

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35 languages. More than 60,000 records are added each year. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Examples of titles offered in PsycINFO include: Academic Medicine, Academic Psychiatry, Behavior Genetics, Behavioral Disorders, Journal of Abnormal Child Psychology, Journal of Applied Social Psychology, Journal of Behavioral Medicine, Journal of Psychiatry & Neuroscience, Journal of Psychology, Psychoanalytic Psychology, Psychological Assessment, Psychological Medicine, etc.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

PubMed

A freely available version of the Medline database providing a small collection of fulltext electronic journals. It includes the full Medline database from 1966 onwards. It also includes Pre-Medline, a collection of very recent articles not yet included in the main database, as well as a number of articles available in the fulltext journals which were not selected for the Medline database.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Medical Radiation , Medical Sciences .

RURAL - Rural and Remote Health Database (via Informit)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Produced by the Australian Rural Health Research Institute, Monash University. RURAL is made up of five separate, smaller, databases. The databases form a major contribution on an international scale to the understanding of rural and remote area health issues and care, and the practice and educational needs of health providers, in particular medical practitioners and nurses. The information is relevant to health providers, health planners, researchers and members of rural and remote area communities.

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

ScienceDirect

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

A cross-disciplinary academic database with significant content of interest to all QUT Faculties. Content includes journal titles in fulltext, online books, book series, handbooks and reference works.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

Users with Adobe X may not be able to download articles. Adobe X users are advised to use the Download multiple PDFs option from the results page....more...

Sociological Abstracts (via ProQuest)

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Includes the titles Sociological Abstracts and Social Planning/Policy and Development Abstracts as well as theses in the field of sociology. This service supercedes the Sociofile service.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Sport Sociology , Justice .

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

Therapeutic Guidelines (via eTG complete)

Australian coverage

The aim of Therapeutic Guidelines Limited (TGL) is to provide clear, practical, authoritative and succinct therapeutic information for busy health practitioners, for the management of patients with specific conditions. The recommendations in Therapeutic Guidelines are based on the latest international literature, interpreted by some of Australia?s most eminent and respected experts, with each statement having been examined, subjected to challenge and discussed over a series of day-long meetings. The finished texts represent the essence of current available evidence.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Pharmacy .

Tip: if a Browser Instruction screen appears when first connecting, check details and click on the link to continue. The next time you connect, no warning will appear. ...more...

Violence and Abuse Abstracts (via EBSCOhost)

Available to the public (in library only)

Covers the discipline of violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault and emotional abuse.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Justice .

WinkingSkull.com PRO

New

An interactive study aid for human anatomy. Also provides self-tests with the ability to instantly check progress. To take advantage of self-tests you must create a personal account.