Databases for Health > Optometry and Vision Science > Optometry (General)

Find databases and resources
Conditions of use
Provide database feedback
Stay up to date in your subject
About Quick Find
QUT Fulltext Finder help
Navigate : Health Optometry and Vision Science >  Optometry (General)

Key resources

AMH - Australian Medicines Handbook

Australian coverage

The AMH (Australian Medicines Handbook) is a comparative, national formulary covering most of the drugs marketed in Australia. Drug information includes indications, precautions, interactions, adverse effects, dosage and drug comparisons. This electronic service is equivalent to print versions of the Handbook (updated annually) held at GP, KG, and Caboolture branches of the QUT Library.

From January 2013, the updated AMH is made available directly by the provider.

Tip: if a Browser Instruction screen appears when first connecting, check details and click on the link to continue. The next time you connect, no warning will appear. ...more...

AMH - Australian Medicines Handbook (via MD Consult)

Australian coverage

The AMH (Australian Medicines Handbook) is a comparative, national formulary covering most of the drugs marketed in Australia. Drug information includes indications, precautions, interactions, adverse effects, dosage and drug comparisons. This electronic service is equivalent to print versions of the Handbook (updated annually) held at GP, KG, and Caboolture branches of the QUT Library.

MD Consult will be available until 28 April 2013.

...more...

Australian Anti-Infection Handbook

New

A comprehensive view on various infectious diseases and compact guide for the management of infections. The Australian Anti-Infection Handbook helps practitioners and students find an infection or a pathogen, to know what tests are needed for diagnosis or what antimicrobials should be chosen for the treatment. This book is designed to serve the needs of busy hospital doctors, GPs, microbiology laboratory staff, infection control staff and nurses who require a quick, concise and up-to-date guide for diagnosis and treatment of infections.

Tip: if a Browser Instruction screen appears when first connecting, check details and click on the link to continue. The next time you connect, no warning will appear. ...more...

Current Contents Connect (via Web of Knowledge)

Auto alerting

This is the publisher's (Institute for Scientific Information - ISI) own interface to the Current Contents database. The database is fully integrated the with the Web of Science database.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Optometry (General) , Biomedical Sciences (anatomy, physiology, biomechanics) .

Embase

A comprehensive source of online biomedical answers, Embase helps you track adverse drug events, compare drug therapies for disease, and search for evidence-based medicine research.

Evidence-Based Medicine (EBM) Guidelines

EBM Guidelines is a collection of primary care medical practice guidelines, evidence summaries, photographs, images and reviews.

Health Reference Center - Academic (via Gale PowerSearch)

Available to the public (in library only)

Includes consumer health magazines and newsletters, selected medicaljournals, nursing & allied health journals, and newspaper articles. Also included are six fulltext reference books, 500 fulltext pamphlets, more than 1800 fulltext topical overviews, and selected articles from an additional 1500 general interest titles.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Public Health (General) , Nursing , Health Psychology , Pharmacy .

Medline (via EBSCOhost)

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Optometry (General) , Nursing , Nursing (General) , Human Movement (General) , Disability and Rehabilitation , Sport Nutrition , Medical Sciences .

Medline (via OvidSP)

Ovid MEDLINE ® covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,400 journals published world-wide.

New for 2013: Ovid Medline(R) 1946 to Present with Daily Update. Alternatively, select a different OVID Medline index via the database selection list. ...more...

Medline (via Web of Knowledge)

Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Optometry (General) , Nursing , Nursing (General) , Disability and Rehabilitation , Sport Nutrition , Medical Sciences .

MIMS Online

Australian coverage

The web version of MIMS, Australia's most comprehensive and authoritative medicine database. Incorporating data from MIMS abbreviated and full medicines information, product images and consumer medicines information, MIMS Online offers convenient access to essential information on over 4,500 prescription and non-prescription drugs.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Nursing (General) , Pharmacy .

If you are having trouble connecting, please try again in a few minutes as only 10 users can access this database at any one time. ...more...

Optics InfoBase - Optical Society of America (OSA) Journals

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to selected subscribed journals published by the Optical Society of America.

Pharmaceutical News Index (via ProQuest)

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to the latest information on medical technology, research, and legislative developments. The database contains bibliographic information and indexing for key U.S.and international pharmaceutical, healthcare, biotechnology, medical device, and cosmetic industry newsletters.

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

PubMed

A freely available version of the Medline database providing a small collection of fulltext electronic journals. It includes the full Medline database from 1966 onwards. It also includes Pre-Medline, a collection of very recent articles not yet included in the main database, as well as a number of articles available in the fulltext journals which were not selected for the Medline database.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Medical Radiation , Medical Sciences .

ScienceDirect

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

A cross-disciplinary academic database with significant content of interest to all QUT Faculties. Content includes journal titles in fulltext, online books, book series, handbooks and reference works.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

Users with Adobe X may not be able to download articles. Adobe X users are advised to use the Download multiple PDFs option from the results page....more...

Therapeutic Guidelines (via eTG complete)

Australian coverage

The aim of Therapeutic Guidelines Limited (TGL) is to provide clear, practical, authoritative and succinct therapeutic information for busy health practitioners, for the management of patients with specific conditions. The recommendations in Therapeutic Guidelines are based on the latest international literature, interpreted by some of Australia?s most eminent and respected experts, with each statement having been examined, subjected to challenge and discussed over a series of day-long meetings. The finished texts represent the essence of current available evidence.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Pharmacy .

Tip: if a Browser Instruction screen appears when first connecting, check details and click on the link to continue. The next time you connect, no warning will appear. ...more...

WinkingSkull.com PRO

New

An interactive study aid for human anatomy. Also provides self-tests with the ability to instantly check progress. To take advantage of self-tests you must create a personal account.