Databases for Health > Health (General)

Find databases and resources
Conditions of use
Provide database feedback
Stay up to date in your subject
About Quick Find
QUT Fulltext Finder help
Navigate : Health  > Health (General)

Key resources

Academic Search Elite (via EBSCOhost)

Available to the public (in library only)

A cross-disciplinary database indexing over 5,000 journals from 1975 onwards, with over 2,000 in current fulltext. Includes more than 1,500 peer-reviewed publications. Offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

AMH - Australian Medicines Handbook

Australian coverage

The AMH (Australian Medicines Handbook) is a comparative, national formulary covering most of the drugs marketed in Australia. Drug information includes indications, precautions, interactions, adverse effects, dosage and drug comparisons. This electronic service is equivalent to print versions of the Handbook (updated annually) held at GP, KG, and Caboolture branches of the QUT Library.

From January 2013, the updated AMH is made available directly by the provider.

Tip: if a Browser Instruction screen appears when first connecting, check details and click on the link to continue. The next time you connect, no warning will appear. ...more...

AMH - Australian Medicines Handbook (via MD Consult)

Australian coverage

The AMH (Australian Medicines Handbook) is a comparative, national formulary covering most of the drugs marketed in Australia. Drug information includes indications, precautions, interactions, adverse effects, dosage and drug comparisons. This electronic service is equivalent to print versions of the Handbook (updated annually) held at GP, KG, and Caboolture branches of the QUT Library.

MD Consult will be available until 28 April 2013.

...more...

ATSIhealth - Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Bibliography (via Informit)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Produced by the School of Health Studies, Edith Cowan University, this database indexes two hundred and forty-three journals covering Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health.

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre (via EBSCOhost)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to Australian and New Zealand newspapers & newswires, magazines, reference books, and company information. It includes access to The Australian and Courier Mail

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Journalism and Media & Communication , Business (General) , Marketing , Statistical Information / Australian Bureau of Statistics , Australian Studies , Justice , News and current affairs .

Use this resource to search for major Australian newspapers...more...

BMJ Best Practice

Provides fast and easy access to reliable, up-to-date information when making diagnosis and treatment decisions. BMJ Best Practice combines the latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion - presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis.

Best Practice App is available for iPad and iPhone....more...

Book Citation Index (on Web of Science)

Brings together scholarly book, journal, and conference proceedings literature within Web of Science, allowing researchers to analyse the citation network between books and the wider world of scholarly research.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Citation analysis and ranking tools , Biological Sciences , Geosciences , Mathematical Sciences , Medical Radiation , Medical Sciences , Creative Industries (General) , Justice .

CAM on PubMed

A PubMED subset limiited to complimentary and alternative medicine. Published by the US National Center for Complimentary and Alternative Medicine.

Clinical Key (Australian edition)

Clinical Key provides access to selected medical texts and journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts and CME (Continuing Medical Education) materials. You can filter your searches by type of study, speciality as well as content type.

Cochrane Library

This resource is available to all Australians connecting from an Australian IP address. The National Site License has been established by National Institute of Clinical Studies (NICS) on behalf of the Australian government.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Evidence Based , Evidence-Based Counselling , Medical Radiation .

Current Contents Connect (via Web of Knowledge)

Auto alerting

This is the publisher's (Institute for Scientific Information - ISI) own interface to the Current Contents database. The database is fully integrated the with the Web of Science database.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Optometry (General) , Biomedical Sciences (anatomy, physiology, biomechanics) .

EJS E-Journals (via EBSCOhost)

EJS E-Journals provides access (for QUT users) to the full-text of over 100 individual electronic journals, and more through linked fulltext. This service indexes some 2,700 titles, many in the scientific, technological, and medical fields. It provides search and retrieval of citations, abstracts and full-text for participating publishers (a subset of the larger, external EJS gateway service).

Embase

A comprehensive source of online biomedical answers, Embase helps you track adverse drug events, compare drug therapies for disease, and search for evidence-based medicine research.

Factiva.com

Australian coverage Available to the public (in library only)

Looking for Australian newspapers? Try searching Aust/NZ Newspaper and Reference Centre - Unlike Factiva.com there is no limit to the number of users that can access this database at any one time, making it the perfect choice for finding fulltext Australian newspaper content

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Drama , Journalism and Media & Communication , Banking and Finance , Statistical Information / Australian Bureau of Statistics , Australian Studies , News and current affairs .

As Factiva will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity.

Searching tips:
In the main Search tab, use the Group Lists within My Source Lists to search over major Queensland and Australian news sources, or key local and international business titles.

Keep up with the headlines from major Australian daily newspapers by browsing the News Pages.

...more...

FAMILY - Australian Family & Society Abstracts

Australian coverage Available to the public (in library only)

Covers research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to, Australian families and is produced by the Australian Institute of Family Studies.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Early Childhood Education .

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

Health and Society Database (H&S) (via Informit)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Produced by the Australian Institute of Family Studies, covers all aspects of family health.

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

Health Collection (via Informit)

Australian coverage Available to the public (in library only)

The Informit Health Collection includes research articles, reports and case studies of practical support to anyone studying or working in therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health roles.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Public Health (General) , Nursing , Nursing (General) , Pharmacy .

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

Health Reference Center - Academic (via Gale PowerSearch)

Available to the public (in library only)

Includes consumer health magazines and newsletters, selected medicaljournals, nursing & allied health journals, and newspaper articles. Also included are six fulltext reference books, 500 fulltext pamphlets, more than 1800 fulltext topical overviews, and selected articles from an additional 1500 general interest titles.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Public Health (General) , Nursing , Health Psychology , Pharmacy .

HIVA - HIV Aids (via Informit)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Australia's most comprehensive HIV and AIDS collection.

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

Informa Healthcare

Available to the public (in library only)

A collection of high impact pharmaceutical and medical journals titles.

Journal Citation Reports on the Web - Science and Social Science Edition 2011 (via Web of Knowledge)

Auto alerting

A comprehensive and unique resource tool that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from thousands of scholarly and technical journals from several thousand publishers in a large number of countries from across the globe. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and social sciences.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Citation analysis and ranking tools .

JSTOR

Available to the public (in library only)

QUT currently has access to:

  • Arts & Sciences Collections I, II, III, and IV
  • Life Sciences Collcation
For more details on titles included please see the the Currently Available Collections and Journals page.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Creative Writing & Literary Studies .

Karger Journals Online

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to the fulltext of selected medical, allied health, natural sciences and humanities journals from Karger publishing.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (via ProQuest)

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Covers three general areas including:

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

MAIS - Multicultural Australia and Immigration Studies (via Informit)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Produced by the Department of Immigration and Multicultural Affairs Library, Canberra, this database indexes and abstracts material on immigration and multicultural issues in Australia, and related areas including ethnicity, refugees, racism, population, multicultural education, migrant health, welfare and social services.

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

MD Consult Australia

Clinical reference and decision support resources including books, journals, images, drug information, guidelines, patient education information and news.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Medical Radiation , Pharmacy .

MD Consult will be available until 28 April 2013.

...more...

Medline (via EBSCOhost)

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Optometry (General) , Nursing , Nursing (General) , Human Movement (General) , Disability and Rehabilitation , Sport Nutrition , Medical Sciences .

MIMS Online

Australian coverage

The web version of MIMS, Australia's most comprehensive and authoritative medicine database. Incorporating data from MIMS abbreviated and full medicines information, product images and consumer medicines information, MIMS Online offers convenient access to essential information on over 4,500 prescription and non-prescription drugs.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Nursing (General) , Pharmacy .

If you are having trouble connecting, please try again in a few minutes as only 10 users can access this database at any one time. ...more...

Mosby's Index

Nursing journal abstracts and indexing database covering evidence-based healthcare; nursing specialties and professions; nursing education and training; nursing development and management.

Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database

Gives up-to-date information on most every herbal and dietary supplement used in the western world, with extensive search features to find the use, adverse effects, interactions, safety, and effectiveness of each natural medicine.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Pharmacy .

Pharmaceutical News Index (via ProQuest)

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to the latest information on medical technology, research, and legislative developments. The database contains bibliographic information and indexing for key U.S.and international pharmaceutical, healthcare, biotechnology, medical device, and cosmetic industry newsletters.

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses

Available to the public (in library only)

A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Conferences, Papers, Theses .

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

ProQuest Family Health

Available to the public (in library only)

Includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry.

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

ProQuest Health & Medical Complete

Available to the public (in library only)

Combines the clinical research titles available in ProQuest Medical Library with hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles. The journals cover all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery, and others.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Public Health (General) , Nursing .

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

ProQuest Research Library

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides one-stop access to several thousand periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

PubMed

A freely available version of the Medline database providing a small collection of fulltext electronic journals. It includes the full Medline database from 1966 onwards. It also includes Pre-Medline, a collection of very recent articles not yet included in the main database, as well as a number of articles available in the fulltext journals which were not selected for the Medline database.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Medical Radiation , Medical Sciences .

PubMed Central

A digital archive of life and medical sciences journal literature, developed and managed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). PubMed Central is not a journal publisher. Access to PubMed Central is free. For some journals fulltext may not be available to the most recent issue/s, for a period of time after publication. The number of journals and the extent of archiving is continuing to grow.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: ePrint and open archives .

RURAL - Rural and Remote Health Database (via Informit)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Produced by the Australian Rural Health Research Institute, Monash University. RURAL is made up of five separate, smaller, databases. The databases form a major contribution on an international scale to the understanding of rural and remote area health issues and care, and the practice and educational needs of health providers, in particular medical practitioners and nurses. The information is relevant to health providers, health planners, researchers and members of rural and remote area communities.

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

ScienceDirect

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

A cross-disciplinary academic database with significant content of interest to all QUT Faculties. Content includes journal titles in fulltext, online books, book series, handbooks and reference works.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

Users with Adobe X may not be able to download articles. Adobe X users are advised to use the Download multiple PDFs option from the results page....more...

SpringerLink

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

A database platform specialising in science, technology and medicine journals, book series, books and reference works.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Computer Science , Information Systems , Biomedical Sciences (anatomy, physiology, biomechanics) , Medical Sciences .

STAT!Ref Online Medical Database

Provides access to selected medical and nursing ebooks. Please note that Stedman's Medical Dictionary and MedCalc 3000 are available under the Tools & Features menu on the sidebar.

Mobile App

Mobile apps are available for iPhone, iPad, Android and Blackberry. To authenticate off campus you must first create a Temporary Login Account:
  1. Open STAT!Ref
  2. Click Your preferences
  3. Enter your email address
  4. Select No, I want to create a Preferences account and click OK
  5. Fill in the required details on the Create Preferences Account

This collection has a limit of one (1) to five (5) simultaneous users. When finished your session, please use the 'log off' button in the top navigation bar....more...

Therapeutic Guidelines (via eTG complete)

Australian coverage

The aim of Therapeutic Guidelines Limited (TGL) is to provide clear, practical, authoritative and succinct therapeutic information for busy health practitioners, for the management of patients with specific conditions. The recommendations in Therapeutic Guidelines are based on the latest international literature, interpreted by some of Australia?s most eminent and respected experts, with each statement having been examined, subjected to challenge and discussed over a series of day-long meetings. The finished texts represent the essence of current available evidence.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Pharmacy .

Tip: if a Browser Instruction screen appears when first connecting, check details and click on the link to continue. The next time you connect, no warning will appear. ...more...

Web of Science (via Web of Knowledge)

Auto alerting

Citation databases:

  • Book Citation Index - Science (BKCI-S) --2005-present 2012 eTrial
  • Book Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities (BKCI-SSH) --2005-present 2012 eTrial
  • Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) --1980-present
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)--1980-present
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)--1980-present
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S)--1990-present
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) --1990-present

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)