Databases for Science and Engineering > Science > Spatial Science

Find databases and resources
Conditions of use
Provide database feedback
Stay up to date in your subject
About Quick Find
QUT Fulltext Finder help
Navigate : Science and Engineering Science > Spatial Science

Key resources

Academic Search Elite (via EBSCOhost)

Available to the public (in library only)

A cross-disciplinary database indexing over 5,000 journals from 1975 onwards, with over 2,000 in current fulltext. Includes more than 1,500 peer-reviewed publications. Offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

Compendex (via Engineering Village)

Compendex, the online version of Engineering Index, is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research available today, containing over nine million references and abstracts taken from over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

eBimap (available to Science and Engineering Faculty and School of Design students only)

Australian coverage

IMPORTANT: Using this product extensively will rapidly use up your free Internet Access Service (IAS) quota. Once this limit is reached students will have to pay for additional Internet access. For further information about your IAS quota and additional charges please refer to Features of IAS. If you are accessing this database from on-campus you will need to have your Internet Access Service (IAS) activated

eBimap is the Brisbane City Council's online mapping service. It is an online geographic information system (GIS) providing Brisbane land, property and assets information, produced by the Brisbane City Coucil. Use eBimap to find council information via geo-spatial mapping technology.

eBimap only provides the City Plan graphic layers not City Plan documentation. You need to use the Brisbane City Plan Profession for City Plan documentation. It is available at Gardens Point Campus, in the VLAB Desk on Level 2

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Mapping and aerial photography , Urban and Regional Planning , Urban Design .

Emerald

Available to the public (in library only)

A scholarly publisher of journals and books in business and management with a strong and growing presence in disciplines including library & information science, social sciences, engineering, linguistics and audiology.

QUT Library also provides access to the Emerald Backfiles - 68,000 articles, over 120 journals from Volume 1, Issue 1....more...

Engineering Village

Engineering Village 2 is the premier web-based research and discovery platform for the information needs of engineers and engineering researchers. The platform offers Easy, Quick, and Expert search interfaces. The platform utilises faceted search technology to assist users through the search and discovery process. The thesaurus lookup function allows searchers to identify controlled vocabulary subject terms. This improves search strategies by suggesting broader, related and narrower terms.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Aerospace Engineering , Electrical Engineering .

GeoRef (via Engineering Village)

Covers worldwide 3500 journals, books and book chapters, conference papers, government publications, theses, dissertations, reports, maps, and meeting papers on geology and geophysics. GeoRef is produced by the American Geological Institute (AGI) and corresponds to the print publications: Bibliography and Index of North American Geology, Bibliography of Theses in Geology, Geophysical Abstracts, Bibliography and Index of Geology Exclusive of North America, and the Bibliography and Index of Geology. GeoRef also organizes and indexes papers from over 13,000 serials andother publications representative of the interests of the 29 professional geological and earth science societies that are members of the AGI.

GeoRef is international in coverage with about 40% of the indexed publications originating in the United States and the remainder from outside the U.S. Publications of international organizations represent about 7% of the file.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Spatial Science , Ecology and Environmental Sciences , Geosciences , Spatial Science .

ICE Virtual Library

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to the largest repository of full text civil engineering papers in the world. From here you can search the ICE's archive of technical papers from 1836 to the present day, viewing papers on screen in fully printable form. The ICE Virtual Library contains every peer-reviewed paper produced by the Institution of Civil Engineers since its first meeting in 1836. Also available via ICE Virtual Library are a collection of all Thomas Telford Limited ebooks published up to end 2011.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Construction Management , Civil Engineering (Construction / Structural / Geotechnical) , Environmental Engineering .

Inspec (via Engineering Village)

Provides access to the world's scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering. There are now 12 million records in Inspec.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Spatial Science , Electrical Engineering , Computer Science , Physics , Spatial Science , Medical Radiation .

ProQuest Research Library

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides one-stop access to several thousand periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

ProQuest Science Journals

Available to the public (in library only)

A comprehensive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals searches over 2.7M records, dating back to the mid 1980s.

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

ScienceDirect

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

A cross-disciplinary academic database with significant content of interest to all QUT Faculties. Content includes journal titles in fulltext, online books, book series, handbooks and reference works.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

Users with Adobe X may not be able to download articles. Adobe X users are advised to use the Download multiple PDFs option from the results page....more...

Taylor & Francis Online

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides fulltext access to peer-reviewed research journals covering multiple subject areas. QUT has access to the complete Taylor & Francis collection.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Construction Management , Property Economics , Quantity Surveying .

Web of Science (via Web of Knowledge)

Auto alerting

Citation databases:

  • Book Citation Index - Science (BKCI-S) --2005-present 2012 eTrial
  • Book Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities (BKCI-SSH) --2005-present 2012 eTrial
  • Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) --1980-present
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)--1980-present
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)--1980-present
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S)--1990-present
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) --1990-present

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

Wiley Online Library

Available to the public (in library only)

A multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Educational Counselling and Guidance .