Databases for Science and Engineering > Science > Physics

Find databases and resources
Conditions of use
Provide database feedback
Stay up to date in your subject
About Quick Find
QUT Fulltext Finder help
Navigate : Science and Engineering Science > Physics

Key resources

Annual Reviews Online

Available to the public (in library only)

Annual Reviews provides researchers, professors, and scientific professionals with a definitive academic resource in 29 scientific disciplines. Annual Reviews saves you time by synthesizing the vast amount of primary research literature and identifying the principal contributions in your field. Editorial committees comprised of the most distinguished scholars in the discipline select all topics for review, and the articles are written by authors who are recognized experts in the field. Annual Reviews publications are among the highest cited publications by impact factor according to the Institute for Scientific Information® (ISI)

APS Journals

High quality journals in various fields of physics, published by the American Physical Society. This database includes:

  • Physical Review A
  • Physical Review B
  • Physical Review C
  • Physical Review D
  • Physical Review E
  • Physical Review Letters
  • Reviews of Modern Physics
  • Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA)
  • Physical Review X (Open Access)
  • Physical Review Special Topics - Accelerators and Beams (Open Access)
  • Physical Review Special Topics - Physics Education Research (Open Access)
  • Physics (Open Access)

ASM Handbooks Online

Provides access to the fulltext of 21 ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions produced by the society for materials engineers and scientists. View complete title list.

Book Citation Index (on Web of Science)

Brings together scholarly book, journal, and conference proceedings literature within Web of Science, allowing researchers to analyse the citation network between books and the wider world of scholarly research.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Citation analysis and ranking tools , Biological Sciences , Geosciences , Mathematical Sciences , Medical Radiation , Medical Sciences , Creative Industries (General) , Justice .

Current Contents Connect (via Web of Knowledge)

Auto alerting

This is the publisher's (Institute for Scientific Information - ISI) own interface to the Current Contents database. The database is fully integrated the with the Web of Science database.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Optometry (General) , Biomedical Sciences (anatomy, physiology, biomechanics) .

DieselNet

Provides access to information on diesel emissions and their control technologies.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Automotive Engineering .

To apply for a login and password, complete the application form and return it to Dr Zoran Ristovski, M Block Level 4, Room 427, Gardens Point campus....more...

Hindawi Publishing

Hindawi Publishing Corporation publishes 150+ open access, peer-reviewed journals covering several areas in science, technology, and medicine.

QUT researchers are invited to submit manuscripts to Hindawi Publishing journals in 2010, as QUT Library has paid an institutional membership to enable QUT authors to publish their research in a Hindawi Open Access journal free of charge....more...

IEA Statistics

Statistical datasets from the International Energy Agency, including energy prices, technology and R&D statistics, oil and natural gas statistics and more.

IEEE Xplore Digital Library

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

A powerful discovery interface for accessing scientific and technical content published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners, The IET, VDM Verlag conferences, and Wiley-IEEE eBooks.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Electrical Engineering , Computer Science , Information Systems , Physics .

IEEE-Wiley eBooks Library

Available to the public (in library only)

An ebook collection covering technology related subjects including Bioengineering, Power & Energy and Communication technologies, among other growing areas of research.

Inspec (via Engineering Village)

Provides access to the world's scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering. There are now 12 million records in Inspec.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Spatial Science , Electrical Engineering , Computer Science , Physics , Spatial Science , Medical Radiation .

IOPscience extra

Provides access to over 60 journals published by the Institute of Physics (IoP). Includes the IOP Journal Archive featuring volumes from 1874.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Physics .

Optics InfoBase - Optical Society of America (OSA) Journals

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to selected subscribed journals published by the Optical Society of America.

Oxford Reference Online

Available to the public (in library only)

A good starting place for research, including a range of dictionaries and encyclopaedias. Limit search results to quick reference or include the full reference library.

Oxford Scholarship Online

Available to the public (in library only)

Offers electronic access to books in biology, business and management, classical studies, economics and finance, history, law, linguistics, literature, mathematics, music, neuroscience, philosophy, physics, political science, psychology, public health and epidemiology, religion and social work.

Titles not available in fulltext to QUT clients have a grey lock on the book jacket image. For most purchased collections in OSO (including Law), fulltext is only available for titles published from July 2009 to January 2012. To confirm, check date shown in "Published to Oxford Scholarship Online" . QUT also subscribes to the Philosophy collection (all years). ...more...

PROLA - Physical Review Online Archive

PROLA is the American Physical Society's (APS's) online archive for the journals Physical Review Letters, Reviews of Modern Physics, and Physical Review A-E. It contains all American Physical Society (APS) journal articles published from 1893-4 years ago.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses

Available to the public (in library only)

A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Conferences, Papers, Theses .

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

ProQuest Science Journals

Available to the public (in library only)

A comprehensive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals searches over 2.7M records, dating back to the mid 1980s.

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

PubMed

A freely available version of the Medline database providing a small collection of fulltext electronic journals. It includes the full Medline database from 1966 onwards. It also includes Pre-Medline, a collection of very recent articles not yet included in the main database, as well as a number of articles available in the fulltext journals which were not selected for the Medline database.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Medical Radiation , Medical Sciences .

ScienceDirect

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

A cross-disciplinary academic database with significant content of interest to all QUT Faculties. Content includes journal titles in fulltext, online books, book series, handbooks and reference works.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

Users with Adobe X may not be able to download articles. Adobe X users are advised to use the Download multiple PDFs option from the results page....more...

SciFinder

First time users of this service must register for an individual SciFinder username and password using their QUT email address. Note that by licence agreement staff and students may only register for ONE login.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Manufacturing Engineering , Mechanical Engineering , Medical Engineering , Biological Sciences , Chemical Sciences , Geosciences , Physics .

First time users of this service must register for an individual SciFinder username and password using their QUT email address. Note that by licence agreement staff and students may only register for ONE login. To update details of your login (e.g. with changes to your QUT email address) please use the "My Account" options in the myCAS service, or email CAS SciFinder Customer Support....more...

Scirus

The world's largest science specific search engine, Scirus allows researchers to search for not only journal content but also scientists' homepages, courseware, pre-print server material, patents and institutional repository and website information.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Internet search tools .

To activate QUT Fulltext Finder links please follow the instructions linked below....more...

Scopus

Available to the public (in library only)

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

Register for a personal account:

After you have logged in you are able to register for a personal account that will allow you to personalize Scopus by creating Search Alerts, Document Citation Alerts and Saved Searches. If you already have a User Name and Password for ScienceDirect, you do not need to register here again. Your ScienceDirect Username and Password also enables you to login to Scopus.

Papers Configuration

Accessing Scopus from Papers requires the QUT Scopus Account ID.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Citation analysis and ranking tools , Automotive Engineering , Manufacturing Engineering , Mechanical Engineering , Medical Engineering , Chemical Sciences , Physics .

SIAM Journals Online

Available to the public (in library only)

SIAM Journals Online is the collection of online publications from the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics.

SIAM Online titles include:

  • Multiscale Modeling & Simulation;
  • SIAM Journal on Applied dynamical Systems;
  • SIAM Journal on Applied Mathematics;
  • SIAM Journal on Computing;
  • SIAM Journal on Control & Optimization;
  • SIAM Journal on Discrete Mathematics;
  • SIAM Journal on Imaging Sciences;
  • SIAM Journal on Mathematical Analysis;
  • SIAM Journal on Matrix Analysis and Applications;
  • SIAM Journal on Numerical Analysis;
  • SIAM Journal on Optimization;
  • SIAM Journal on Scientific Computing;
  • SIAM Review;
  • Theory of Probability and Its Applications.

LOCUS SIAM Online Journal Archive (1952 - 1996)

  • Journal of the Society for Industrial & Applied Mathematics (1953 - 1965);
  • Journal of the Society for Industrial & Applied Mathematics Series A: Control (1962 - 1965);
  • Journal of the Society for Industrial & Applied Mathematics Series B: Numerical Analysis (1964 - 1965);
  • SIAM Journal on Control (1966 - 1975);
  • SIAM Journal on Algebraic & Discrete Methods (1980 - 1987);
  • SIAM journal on Scientific & Statistical Computing ( 1980 - 1993).

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Mathematical Sciences .

SPIE Digital Library

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides fulltext access to selected journals, conference proceedings and technical reports in the areas of optics and photonics. Published by the Society of Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers (SPIE).

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Physics .

SpringerLink

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

A database platform specialising in science, technology and medicine journals, book series, books and reference works.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Computer Science , Information Systems , Biomedical Sciences (anatomy, physiology, biomechanics) , Medical Sciences .

Taylor & Francis Online

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides fulltext access to peer-reviewed research journals covering multiple subject areas. QUT has access to the complete Taylor & Francis collection.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Construction Management , Property Economics , Quantity Surveying .

Trove : Australian Theses

Australian coverage

A search of digital copies of theses from Australian universities and other Australian research institutions. Trove includes the full back catalogue of the former Australian Digital Theses service and other research materials from the former Australian Research Online.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Conferences, Papers, Theses .

Web of Science (via Web of Knowledge)

Auto alerting

Citation databases:

  • Book Citation Index - Science (BKCI-S) --2005-present 2012 eTrial
  • Book Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities (BKCI-SSH) --2005-present 2012 eTrial
  • Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) --1980-present
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)--1980-present
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)--1980-present
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S)--1990-present
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) --1990-present

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

Wiley Online Library

Available to the public (in library only)

A multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Educational Counselling and Guidance .