Databases for Science and Engineering > Science > Materials Science

Find databases and resources
Conditions of use
Provide database feedback
Stay up to date in your subject
About Quick Find
QUT Fulltext Finder help
Navigate : Science and Engineering Science > Materials Science

American Chemical Society (ACS)

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to ACS Publications.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Chemical Sciences .

Analytical Abstracts (via Royal Society of Chemistry Publishing)

Available to the public (in library only)

Indexes more than 260 international journals in 12 languages, manufacturers' notes, British Standards and books from 1980 to date. The database is updated weekly.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Chemical Sciences .

Printing and copying is restricted to up to 5% or one chapter of a book....more...

ASCE Civil Engineering Database

Produced by the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) this freely available database provides bibliographic access to all ASCE publications since 1973, including journal articles, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newsletters. QUT staff and students may access full-text articles within the ASCE Research Library collections.

ASCE Research Library

Available to the public (in library only)

Contains full-text articles and papers in all disciplines of civil engineering, published by the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE). A separate public search interface, the ASCE Civil Engineering Database, is also available.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Quantity Surveying , Civil Engineering (Construction / Structural / Geotechnical) .

ASM Handbooks Online

Provides access to the fulltext of 21 ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions produced by the society for materials engineers and scientists. View complete title list.

ASTM Standards Source on DVD

Contains document summaries from over 11,000 standards published by the American Society for Testing and Materials International as well as fulltext page images of all the current ASTM standards.

Book Citation Index (on Web of Science)

Brings together scholarly book, journal, and conference proceedings literature within Web of Science, allowing researchers to analyse the citation network between books and the wider world of scholarly research.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Citation analysis and ranking tools , Biological Sciences , Geosciences , Mathematical Sciences , Medical Radiation , Medical Sciences , Creative Industries (General) , Justice .

BUILD - Australian Building Construction and Engineering Database (via Informit)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Contains over 19,500 references covering all types of publications, including conference papers, journal articles, standards, regulations, technical papers, reports and books.

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

Compendex (via Engineering Village)

Compendex, the online version of Engineering Index, is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research available today, containing over nine million references and abstracts taken from over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

Engineering Village

Engineering Village 2 is the premier web-based research and discovery platform for the information needs of engineers and engineering researchers. The platform offers Easy, Quick, and Expert search interfaces. The platform utilises faceted search technology to assist users through the search and discovery process. The thesaurus lookup function allows searchers to identify controlled vocabulary subject terms. This improves search strategies by suggesting broader, related and narrower terms.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Aerospace Engineering , Electrical Engineering .

ENGnetBASE (via CRCnetBASE)

Available to the public (in library only)

A collection of ebooks in engineering, including handbooks and manuals from CRC Press.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Electrical Engineering , Manufacturing Engineering , Mechanical Engineering , Medical Engineering .

Tip: To search materials outside QUT's subscribed content, in the CRCnetBASE page, un-tick the box "Search Full Access Content Only" (at top right, under the search box)...more...

Knovel

Available to the public (in library only)

A collection of reference ebooks in science and engineering, many of which are embedded with Knovel's productivity tools that help users analyze and manipulate information into a more usable form. Fulltext is available in PDF format.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Electrical Engineering , Manufacturing Engineering , Mechanical Engineering , Medical Engineering .

Personalise content and save searches by creating a My Knovel personal login. More information......more...

Oxford Reference Online

Available to the public (in library only)

A good starting place for research, including a range of dictionaries and encyclopaedias. Limit search results to quick reference or include the full reference library.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses

Available to the public (in library only)

A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Conferences, Papers, Theses .

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

ProQuest Science Journals

Available to the public (in library only)

A comprehensive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals searches over 2.7M records, dating back to the mid 1980s.

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

SAI Global - Standards On-Line Premium (formerly Standards Australia)

Australian coverage

SAI Global - Standards Online provides access to the complete collection of current Australian Standards, and recent Draft Standards and handbooks (excluding Standards and handbooks with joint copyright) in fulltext with graphics.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Standards , Architecture , Industrial Design , Interior Design , Landscape Architecture , Urban Design .

Now available: Alternative access for staff and postgraduate students (single user license).
Please ensure you logoutwhen you have finished to free up licences for other users....more...

ScienceDirect

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

A cross-disciplinary academic database with significant content of interest to all QUT Faculties. Content includes journal titles in fulltext, online books, book series, handbooks and reference works.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

Users with Adobe X may not be able to download articles. Adobe X users are advised to use the Download multiple PDFs option from the results page....more...

SciFinder

First time users of this service must register for an individual SciFinder username and password using their QUT email address. Note that by licence agreement staff and students may only register for ONE login.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Manufacturing Engineering , Mechanical Engineering , Medical Engineering , Biological Sciences , Chemical Sciences , Geosciences , Physics .

First time users of this service must register for an individual SciFinder username and password using their QUT email address. Note that by licence agreement staff and students may only register for ONE login. To update details of your login (e.g. with changes to your QUT email address) please use the "My Account" options in the myCAS service, or email CAS SciFinder Customer Support....more...

Scirus

The world's largest science specific search engine, Scirus allows researchers to search for not only journal content but also scientists' homepages, courseware, pre-print server material, patents and institutional repository and website information.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Internet search tools .

To activate QUT Fulltext Finder links please follow the instructions linked below....more...

Scopus

Available to the public (in library only)

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

Register for a personal account:

After you have logged in you are able to register for a personal account that will allow you to personalize Scopus by creating Search Alerts, Document Citation Alerts and Saved Searches. If you already have a User Name and Password for ScienceDirect, you do not need to register here again. Your ScienceDirect Username and Password also enables you to login to Scopus.

Papers Configuration

Accessing Scopus from Papers requires the QUT Scopus Account ID.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Citation analysis and ranking tools , Automotive Engineering , Manufacturing Engineering , Mechanical Engineering , Medical Engineering , Chemical Sciences , Physics .

SpringerLink

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

A database platform specialising in science, technology and medicine journals, book series, books and reference works.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Computer Science , Information Systems , Biomedical Sciences (anatomy, physiology, biomechanics) , Medical Sciences .

TAPPI e-Library

New

Documents related to paper pulp, paper, packaging, and converting.

Trove : Australian Theses

Australian coverage

A search of digital copies of theses from Australian universities and other Australian research institutions. Trove includes the full back catalogue of the former Australian Digital Theses service and other research materials from the former Australian Research Online.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Conferences, Papers, Theses .

Web of Science (via Web of Knowledge)

Auto alerting

Citation databases:

  • Book Citation Index - Science (BKCI-S) --2005-present 2012 eTrial
  • Book Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities (BKCI-SSH) --2005-present 2012 eTrial
  • Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) --1980-present
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)--1980-present
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)--1980-present
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S)--1990-present
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) --1990-present

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

Wiley Online Library

Available to the public (in library only)

A multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Educational Counselling and Guidance .