Databases for Science and Engineering > Science > Geosciences

Find databases and resources
Conditions of use
Provide database feedback
Stay up to date in your subject
About Quick Find
QUT Fulltext Finder help
Navigate : Science and Engineering Science > Geosciences

Key resources

ABI/Inform Dateline (via ProQuest)

Available to the public (in library only)

A unique resource focusing on hard-to-find local and regional business news coverage of large corporations, privately held companies, local start-ups, executive profiles, marketing, finance, and industry news. Provides access to business information not typically found in national news sources. Contains news and analysis, information on local markets, and more gathered from major business tabloids, magazines, daily newspapers, wire services, and city, state, and regional business publications

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Journalism and Media & Communication .

ABI/Inform Global (via ProQuest)

Available to the public (in library only)

Indexes approximately 1,300 business and marketing periodicals from around the world. It also contains the complete fulltext and/or page images of selected articles from over 700 major publications. Fulltext documents are available as plain text or PDF format. Some documents are available by fax only.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

AHB (Australian Heritage Bibliography) (via Informit)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

A bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on Australia's natural and cultural environment. Produced by the Australian Heritage Commission.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Geography / Environment .

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

Annual Reviews Online

Available to the public (in library only)

Annual Reviews provides researchers, professors, and scientific professionals with a definitive academic resource in 29 scientific disciplines. Annual Reviews saves you time by synthesizing the vast amount of primary research literature and identifying the principal contributions in your field. Editorial committees comprised of the most distinguished scholars in the discipline select all topics for review, and the articles are written by authors who are recognized experts in the field. Annual Reviews publications are among the highest cited publications by impact factor according to the Institute for Scientific Information® (ISI)

Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre (via EBSCOhost)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to Australian and New Zealand newspapers & newswires, magazines, reference books, and company information. It includes access to The Australian and Courier Mail

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Journalism and Media & Communication , Business (General) , Marketing , Statistical Information / Australian Bureau of Statistics , Australian Studies , Justice , News and current affairs .

Use this resource to search for major Australian newspapers...more...

BioMed Central

A commercial independent publisher that provides access to peer-reviewed biomedical research. Many of the original research articles in the over 100 journals published by BioMed Central are immediately available online without charge or any other barriers to access. Some journals are not available in fulltext and require a subscription for access.

QUT staff and research students can publish in journals published by BioMed Central in 2010 without directly paying any article-processing charges. Payment of your article-processing charges is covered by QUT's Prepay Membership....more...

Book Citation Index (on Web of Science)

Brings together scholarly book, journal, and conference proceedings literature within Web of Science, allowing researchers to analyse the citation network between books and the wider world of scholarly research.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Citation analysis and ranking tools , Biological Sciences , Geosciences , Mathematical Sciences , Medical Radiation , Medical Sciences , Creative Industries (General) , Justice .

Business Source Elite (via EBSCOhost)

Available to the public (in library only)

Contains full text articles for 800 journals as far back as 1990, and abstracts and indexing for 1,500 back as far as 1984.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Business (General) , Public Relations , International Business , Management , Marketing , Advertising .

Compendex (via Engineering Village)

Compendex, the online version of Engineering Index, is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research available today, containing over nine million references and abstracts taken from over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

Current Contents Connect (via Web of Knowledge)

Auto alerting

This is the publisher's (Institute for Scientific Information - ISI) own interface to the Current Contents database. The database is fully integrated the with the Web of Science database.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Optometry (General) , Biomedical Sciences (anatomy, physiology, biomechanics) .

ENGnetBASE (via CRCnetBASE)

Available to the public (in library only)

A collection of ebooks in engineering, including handbooks and manuals from CRC Press.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Electrical Engineering , Manufacturing Engineering , Mechanical Engineering , Medical Engineering .

Tip: To search materials outside QUT's subscribed content, in the CRCnetBASE page, un-tick the box "Search Full Access Content Only" (at top right, under the search box)...more...

Factiva.com

Australian coverage

Looking for Australian newspapers? Try searching Aust/NZ Newspaper and Reference Centre - Unlike Factiva.com there is no limit to the number of users that can access this database at any one time, making it the perfect choice for finding fulltext Australian newspaper content

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Drama , Journalism and Media & Communication , Banking and Finance , Statistical Information / Australian Bureau of Statistics , Australian Studies , News and current affairs .

2013.05.21 Currently it is only possible to download, email, or print single articles from Factiva.com. If more than one item is ticked within search results, those options are greyed out (unavailable). QUT Library is investigating the matter urgently with the provider.

As Factiva will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity.

Searching tips:
In the main Search tab, use the Group Lists within My Source Lists to search over major Queensland and Australian news sources, or key local and international business titles.

Keep up with the headlines from major Australian daily newspapers by browsing the News Pages.

...more...

GeoRef (via Engineering Village)

Covers worldwide 3500 journals, books and book chapters, conference papers, government publications, theses, dissertations, reports, maps, and meeting papers on geology and geophysics. GeoRef is produced by the American Geological Institute (AGI) and corresponds to the print publications: Bibliography and Index of North American Geology, Bibliography of Theses in Geology, Geophysical Abstracts, Bibliography and Index of Geology Exclusive of North America, and the Bibliography and Index of Geology. GeoRef also organizes and indexes papers from over 13,000 serials andother publications representative of the interests of the 29 professional geological and earth science societies that are members of the AGI.

GeoRef is international in coverage with about 40% of the indexed publications originating in the United States and the remainder from outside the U.S. Publications of international organizations represent about 7% of the file.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Spatial Science , Ecology and Environmental Sciences , Geosciences , Spatial Science .

IEA Statistics

Statistical datasets from the International Energy Agency, including energy prices, technology and R&D statistics, oil and natural gas statistics and more.

Knovel

Available to the public (in library only)

A collection of reference ebooks in science and engineering, many of which are embedded with Knovel's productivity tools that help users analyze and manipulate information into a more usable form. Fulltext is available in PDF format.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Electrical Engineering , Manufacturing Engineering , Mechanical Engineering , Medical Engineering .

Personalise content and save searches by creating a My Knovel personal login. More information......more...

Nature.com

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Nature.com is a gateway to over 30 individual electronic journals from NPG (Nature Publishing Group). Journals available to QUT staff and students include the prestigious Nature online weekly journal as well as selected Nature reviews titles.

PlantFile Pro

A plant reference guide used by professional horticulturists, students and home gardeners worldwide. Contains information on shrubs, trees, perennials, annuals, climbers, herbs, native & turf grasses, bamboos, ferns and palm. Also includes detailed pest and disease information for every plant and over 42 categories of information on each plant, including botanical description, best environment, commonly available cultivars and more. Search capability by common & botanic names, environmental criteria and botanical descriptions.

ProQuest Biology Journals

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to a wide range of biology topics including some of the most popular information resources for users in academic, government and public research environments.

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

ProQuest Science Journals

Available to the public (in library only)

A comprehensive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals searches over 2.7M records, dating back to the mid 1980s.

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

ScienceDirect

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

A cross-disciplinary academic database with significant content of interest to all QUT Faculties. Content includes journal titles in fulltext, online books, book series, handbooks and reference works.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

Users with Adobe X may not be able to download articles. Adobe X users are advised to use the Download multiple PDFs option from the results page....more...

SciFinder

First time users of this service must register for an individual SciFinder username and password using their QUT email address. Note that by licence agreement staff and students may only register for ONE login.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Manufacturing Engineering , Mechanical Engineering , Medical Engineering , Biological Sciences , Chemical Sciences , Geosciences , Physics .

First time users of this service must register for an individual SciFinder username and password using their QUT email address. Note that by licence agreement staff and students may only register for ONE login. To update details of your login (e.g. with changes to your QUT email address) please use the "My Account" options in the myCAS service, or email CAS SciFinder Customer Support....more...

Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG) Digital Library

Available to the public (in library only)

This provides access the society's two journals, meeting abstracts and encyclopedic dictionary.

SpringerLink

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

A database platform specialising in science, technology and medicine journals, book series, books and reference works.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Computer Science , Information Systems , Biomedical Sciences (anatomy, physiology, biomechanics) , Medical Sciences .

Sugar Industry Abstracts (via CAB Direct)

Sugar Industry Abstracts is a fully searchable abstracts database of internationally published research on the sugar industry. Sugar Industry Abstracts brings you the latest information on the sugar industry, from the agronomy of sugarcane and sugarbeet to economics, nutrition and health.

Taylor & Francis Online

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides fulltext access to peer-reviewed research journals covering multiple subject areas. QUT has access to the complete Taylor & Francis collection.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Construction Management , Property Economics , Quantity Surveying .

Web of Science (via Web of Knowledge)

Auto alerting

Citation databases:

  • Book Citation Index - Science (BKCI-S) --2005-present 2012 eTrial
  • Book Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities (BKCI-SSH) --2005-present 2012 eTrial
  • Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) --1980-present
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)--1980-present
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)--1980-present
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S)--1990-present
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) --1990-present

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)