Databases for Science and Engineering > Science > Ecology and Environmental Sciences

Find databases and resources
Conditions of use
Provide database feedback
About Quick Find
QUT Fulltext Finder help
Navigate : Science and Engineering Science > Ecology and Environmental Sciences

Key resources

AHB (Australian Heritage Bibliography) (via Informit)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

A bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on Australia's natural and cultural environment. Produced by the Australian Heritage Commission.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Geography / Environment .

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

Analytical Abstracts (via Royal Society of Chemistry Publishing)

Available to the public (in library only)

Indexes more than 260 international journals in 12 languages, manufacturers' notes, British Standards and books from 1980 to date. The database is updated weekly.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Chemical Sciences .

Printing and copying is restricted to up to 5% or one chapter of a book....more...

Annual Reviews Online

Available to the public (in library only)

Annual Reviews provides researchers, professors, and scientific professionals with a definitive academic resource in 29 scientific disciplines. Annual Reviews saves you time by synthesizing the vast amount of primary research literature and identifying the principal contributions in your field. Editorial committees comprised of the most distinguished scholars in the discipline select all topics for review, and the articles are written by authors who are recognized experts in the field. Annual Reviews publications are among the highest cited publications by impact factor according to the Institute for Scientific Information® (ISI)

ASABE Standards on CD-ROM - American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers

Contains over 240 current ASAE/ASABE Standards, Engineering Practices, and Data applicable to agricultural equipment and systems, irrigation and drainage, structures, turf and landscape equipment, food engineering, and electric power applications. Contains keyword and numerical standards index. Includes a list of active standards development projects and an index of related ISO (International) Standards Committees.

Access to the fulltext of ASABE Standards is administered by QUT Library staff. To obtain the fulltext of an ASABE standard please contact in order of preference the QUT liaison librarians listed below. If possible please indicate the name of the ASABE standard required, as well as its code.

...more...

Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre (via EBSCOhost)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to Australian and New Zealand newspapers & newswires, magazines, reference books, and company information. It includes access to The Australian and Courier Mail

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Journalism and Media & Communication , Business (General) , Marketing , Statistical Information / Australian Bureau of Statistics , Australian Studies , Justice , News and current affairs .

Use this resource to search for major Australian newspapers...more...

Australian Society of Sugar Cane Technologists

New

Access all past papers and abstracts from the Australian Society of Sugar Cane Technologists.

BioMed Central

A commercial independent publisher that provides access to peer-reviewed biomedical research. Many of the original research articles in the over 100 journals published by BioMed Central are immediately available online without charge or any other barriers to access. Some journals are not available in fulltext and require a subscription for access.

QUT staff and research students can publish in journals published by BioMed Central in 2010 without directly paying any article-processing charges. Payment of your article-processing charges is covered by QUT's Prepay Membership....more...

Book Citation Index (on Web of Science)

Brings together scholarly book, journal, and conference proceedings literature within Web of Science, allowing researchers to analyse the citation network between books and the wider world of scholarly research.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Citation analysis and ranking tools , Biological Sciences , Geosciences , Mathematical Sciences , Medical Radiation , Medical Sciences , Creative Industries (General) , Justice .

CRCnetBASE

Available to the public (in library only)

A collection of professional and technical online works including the areas of chemistry, engineering, environmental science, mathematics, statistics, food science, forensic science, law enforcement, information security, neuroscience, nanoscience & nanotechnology and material science.

Tip: To search materials outside QUT's subscribed content, in the CRCnetBASE page, un-tick the box "Search Full Access Content Only" (at top right, under the search box)...more...

CSIRO PUBLISHING Journals

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

A collection of 20 electronic journals from CSIRO PUBLISHING, presenting the latest research by leading Australian and overseas scientists and covering a broad range of subjects.

Current Contents Connect (via Web of Knowledge)

Auto alerting

This is the publisher's (Institute for Scientific Information - ISI) own interface to the Current Contents database. The database is fully integrated the with the Web of Science database.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Optometry (General) , Biomedical Sciences (anatomy, physiology, biomechanics) .

Ecospecifier

A knowledge base of over 3500 eco-products, eco-materials, technologies and resources, the leading global source of sustainable development and life-cycle assessed green product information. Linking independent information with a powerful search interface, Ecospecifier delivers innovative sustainable product solutions with unique difference.

ENDANGER - Australian Threatened Species (via Informit)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Includes a wide range of material on Australia's threatened flora and fauna.

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

EVA - Environmental Abstracts (via Informit)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Indexes Australian and overseas journal articles on subjects such as air and water pollution, environmental protection, recycling, town planning, waste management and heritage. This title was formerly called EPIC.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Environmental Engineering .

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

GeoRef (via Engineering Village)

Covers worldwide 3500 journals, books and book chapters, conference papers, government publications, theses, dissertations, reports, maps, and meeting papers on geology and geophysics. GeoRef is produced by the American Geological Institute (AGI) and corresponds to the print publications: Bibliography and Index of North American Geology, Bibliography of Theses in Geology, Geophysical Abstracts, Bibliography and Index of Geology Exclusive of North America, and the Bibliography and Index of Geology. GeoRef also organizes and indexes papers from over 13,000 serials andother publications representative of the interests of the 29 professional geological and earth science societies that are members of the AGI.

GeoRef is international in coverage with about 40% of the indexed publications originating in the United States and the remainder from outside the U.S. Publications of international organizations represent about 7% of the file.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Spatial Science , Ecology and Environmental Sciences , Geosciences , Spatial Science .

GreenFILE (via EBSCOhost)

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well.

IEA Statistics

Statistical datasets from the International Energy Agency, including energy prices, technology and R&D statistics, oil and natural gas statistics and more.

Knovel

Available to the public (in library only)

A collection of reference ebooks in science and engineering, many of which are embedded with Knovel's productivity tools that help users analyze and manipulate information into a more usable form. Fulltext is available in PDF format.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Electrical Engineering , Manufacturing Engineering , Mechanical Engineering , Medical Engineering .

Personalise content and save searches by creating a My Knovel personal login. More information......more...

Mary Ann Liebert Online

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to publications covering Biotechnology; Biomedical Research/Life Sciences; Medicine, Surgery, and Nursing; Integrative Medicine; Law, Economics, and Policy; Pediatrics; Psychology; Public Health; and Sustainability and Environmental Studies.

ProQuest Biology Journals

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to a wide range of biology topics including some of the most popular information resources for users in academic, government and public research environments.

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

ProQuest Science Journals

Available to the public (in library only)

A comprehensive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals searches over 2.7M records, dating back to the mid 1980s.

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

SAGE - Science and Geography Education (via Informit)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Produced by RMIT Publishing, SAGE is a bibliographic database that indexes popular journals on a broad range of subjects. SAGE covers practically all disciplines of knowledge, though the scientific ones are most heavily represented.Subject coverage includes: Science and General, including: Agriculture, Archaeology, Astronomy, Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science, Ethics, Geography, Natural History, Physics, Sustainability and Zoology.

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

ScienceDirect

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

A cross-disciplinary academic database with significant content of interest to all QUT Faculties. Content includes journal titles in fulltext, online books, book series, handbooks and reference works.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

Users with Adobe X may not be able to download articles. Adobe X users are advised to use the Download multiple PDFs option from the results page....more...

SciFinder

First time users of this service must register for an individual SciFinder username and password using their QUT email address. Note that by licence agreement staff and students may only register for ONE login.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Manufacturing Engineering , Mechanical Engineering , Medical Engineering , Biological Sciences , Chemical Sciences , Geosciences , Physics .

First time users of this service must register for an individual SciFinder username and password using their QUT email address. Note that by licence agreement staff and students may only register for ONE login. To update details of your login (e.g. with changes to your QUT email address) please use the "My Account" options in the myCAS service, or email CAS SciFinder Customer Support....more...

Scirus

The world's largest science specific search engine, Scirus allows researchers to search for not only journal content but also scientists' homepages, courseware, pre-print server material, patents and institutional repository and website information.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Internet search tools .

To activate QUT Fulltext Finder links please follow the instructions linked below....more...

STREAMLINE - Australia's Natural Resources Database (via Informit)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Contains more than 25,000 records on all aspects of natural resource management. Produced by Infoscan Pty Ltd and sponsored by the Land and Water Resources Research and Development Corporation and the Urban Water Research Association of Australia.

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

Wiley Online Library

Available to the public (in library only)

A multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Educational Counselling and Guidance .