Databases for Science and Engineering > Science

Find databases and resources
Conditions of use
Provide database feedback
Stay up to date in your subject
About Quick Find
QUT Fulltext Finder help
Navigate : Science and Engineering  > Science

Key resources

ABI/Inform Dateline (via ProQuest)

Available to the public (in library only)

A unique resource focusing on hard-to-find local and regional business news coverage of large corporations, privately held companies, local start-ups, executive profiles, marketing, finance, and industry news. Provides access to business information not typically found in national news sources. Contains news and analysis, information on local markets, and more gathered from major business tabloids, magazines, daily newspapers, wire services, and city, state, and regional business publications

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Journalism and Media & Communication .

ABI/Inform Global (via ProQuest)

Available to the public (in library only)

Indexes approximately 1,300 business and marketing periodicals from around the world. It also contains the complete fulltext and/or page images of selected articles from over 700 major publications. Fulltext documents are available as plain text or PDF format. Some documents are available by fax only.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

Academic Search Elite (via EBSCOhost)

Available to the public (in library only)

A cross-disciplinary database indexing over 5,000 journals from 1975 onwards, with over 2,000 in current fulltext. Includes more than 1,500 peer-reviewed publications. Offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

AHB (Australian Heritage Bibliography) (via Informit)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

A bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on Australia's natural and cultural environment. Produced by the Australian Heritage Commission.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Geography / Environment .

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

American Chemical Society (ACS)

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to ACS Publications.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Chemical Sciences .

American Physiological Society Journals

Available to the public (in library only)

Journals published by the American Physiological Society covering all aspects of physiology as well as the Society's newsletter. Accepted research papers can also be published ahead of print.

American Statistical Association

Provides access to American Statistical Association journals. View titles in this collection.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Mathematical Sciences .

Analytical Abstracts (via Royal Society of Chemistry Publishing)

Available to the public (in library only)

Indexes more than 260 international journals in 12 languages, manufacturers' notes, British Standards and books from 1980 to date. The database is updated weekly.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Chemical Sciences .

Printing and copying is restricted to up to 5% or one chapter of a book....more...

Annual Reviews Online

Available to the public (in library only)

Annual Reviews provides researchers, professors, and scientific professionals with a definitive academic resource in 29 scientific disciplines. Annual Reviews saves you time by synthesizing the vast amount of primary research literature and identifying the principal contributions in your field. Editorial committees comprised of the most distinguished scholars in the discipline select all topics for review, and the articles are written by authors who are recognized experts in the field. Annual Reviews publications are among the highest cited publications by impact factor according to the Institute for Scientific Information® (ISI)

APS Journals

High quality journals in various fields of physics, published by the American Physical Society. This database includes:

  • Physical Review A
  • Physical Review B
  • Physical Review C
  • Physical Review D
  • Physical Review E
  • Physical Review Letters
  • Reviews of Modern Physics
  • Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA)
  • Physical Review X (Open Access)
  • Physical Review Special Topics - Accelerators and Beams (Open Access)
  • Physical Review Special Topics - Physics Education Research (Open Access)
  • Physics (Open Access)

ASABE Standards on CD-ROM - American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers

Contains over 240 current ASAE/ASABE Standards, Engineering Practices, and Data applicable to agricultural equipment and systems, irrigation and drainage, structures, turf and landscape equipment, food engineering, and electric power applications. Contains keyword and numerical standards index. Includes a list of active standards development projects and an index of related ISO (International) Standards Committees.

Access to the fulltext of ASABE Standards is administered by QUT Library staff. To obtain the fulltext of an ASABE standard please contact in order of preference the QUT liaison librarians listed below. If possible please indicate the name of the ASABE standard required, as well as its code.

...more...

ASCE Civil Engineering Database

Produced by the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) this freely available database provides bibliographic access to all ASCE publications since 1973, including journal articles, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newsletters. QUT staff and students may access full-text articles within the ASCE Research Library collections.

ASCE Research Library

Available to the public (in library only)

Contains full-text articles and papers in all disciplines of civil engineering, published by the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE). A separate public search interface, the ASCE Civil Engineering Database, is also available.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Quantity Surveying , Civil Engineering (Construction / Structural / Geotechnical) .

ASM Handbooks Online

Provides access to the fulltext of 21 ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions produced by the society for materials engineers and scientists. View complete title list.

ASTM Standards Source on DVD

Contains document summaries from over 11,000 standards published by the American Society for Testing and Materials International as well as fulltext page images of all the current ASTM standards.

Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre (via EBSCOhost)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to Australian and New Zealand newspapers & newswires, magazines, reference books, and company information. It includes access to The Australian and Courier Mail

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Journalism and Media & Communication , Business (General) , Marketing , Statistical Information / Australian Bureau of Statistics , Australian Studies , Justice , News and current affairs .

Use this resource to search for major Australian newspapers...more...

Australian Society of Sugar Cane Technologists

New

Access all past papers and abstracts from the Australian Society of Sugar Cane Technologists.

BioMed Central

A commercial independent publisher that provides access to peer-reviewed biomedical research. Many of the original research articles in the over 100 journals published by BioMed Central are immediately available online without charge or any other barriers to access. Some journals are not available in fulltext and require a subscription for access.

QUT staff and research students can publish in journals published by BioMed Central in 2010 without directly paying any article-processing charges. Payment of your article-processing charges is covered by QUT's Prepay Membership....more...

Book Citation Index (on Web of Science)

Brings together scholarly book, journal, and conference proceedings literature within Web of Science, allowing researchers to analyse the citation network between books and the wider world of scholarly research.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Citation analysis and ranking tools , Biological Sciences , Geosciences , Mathematical Sciences , Medical Radiation , Medical Sciences , Creative Industries (General) , Justice .

BUILD - Australian Building Construction and Engineering Database (via Informit)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Contains over 19,500 references covering all types of publications, including conference papers, journal articles, standards, regulations, technical papers, reports and books.

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

Business Source Elite (via EBSCOhost)

Available to the public (in library only)

Contains full text articles for 800 journals as far back as 1990, and abstracts and indexing for 1,500 back as far as 1984.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Business (General) , Public Relations , International Business , Management , Marketing , Advertising .

Cell Press Online

Cell Press, an imprint of Elsevier, publishes a number of high quality journals in the life sciences.

Chemistry Central

A service publishing peer-reviewed open access (freely available) research in chemistry from BioMed Central, a leading biomedical open access publisher. The Chemistry Central website currently features chemistry-related articles published in BioMed Central journals and independent journals utilizing BioMed Central's open access publishing services.

QUT staff and research students can publish in journals published by BioMed Central in 2010 without directly paying any article-processing charges. Payment of your article-processing charges is covered by QUT's Prepay Membership....more...

CHEMnetBASE (via CRCnetBASE)

Available to the public (in library only)

A collection of major chemical reference works from Chapman & Hall/CRC Press

Tip: To search materials outside QUT's subscribed content, in the CRCnetBASE page, un-tick the box "Search Full Access Content Only" (at top right, under the search box)...more...

Cold Spring Harbor Monograph Archive

Available to the public (in library only)

A collection of scholarly monographs in the discipline of life sciences. Coverage includes molecular, cell, and developmental biology, genetics, evolutionary biology, neuroscience, cancer biology, and molecular pathology.

Compendex (via Engineering Village)

Compendex, the online version of Engineering Index, is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research available today, containing over nine million references and abstracts taken from over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

CRCnetBASE

Available to the public (in library only)

A collection of professional and technical online works including the areas of chemistry, engineering, environmental science, mathematics, statistics, food science, forensic science, law enforcement, information security, neuroscience, nanoscience & nanotechnology and material science.

Tip: To search materials outside QUT's subscribed content, in the CRCnetBASE page, un-tick the box "Search Full Access Content Only" (at top right, under the search box)...more...

CSIRO PUBLISHING Journals

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

A collection of 20 electronic journals from CSIRO PUBLISHING, presenting the latest research by leading Australian and overseas scientists and covering a broad range of subjects.

Current Contents Connect (via Web of Knowledge)

Auto alerting

This is the publisher's (Institute for Scientific Information - ISI) own interface to the Current Contents database. The database is fully integrated the with the Web of Science database.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Optometry (General) , Biomedical Sciences (anatomy, physiology, biomechanics) .

DieselNet

Provides access to information on diesel emissions and their control technologies.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Automotive Engineering .

To apply for a login and password, complete the application form and return it to Dr Zoran Ristovski, M Block Level 4, Room 427, Gardens Point campus....more...

eBimap (available to Science and Engineering Faculty and School of Design students only)

Australian coverage

IMPORTANT: Using this product extensively will rapidly use up your free Internet Access Service (IAS) quota. Once this limit is reached students will have to pay for additional Internet access. For further information about your IAS quota and additional charges please refer to Features of IAS. If you are accessing this database from on-campus you will need to have your Internet Access Service (IAS) activated

eBimap is the Brisbane City Council's online mapping service. It is an online geographic information system (GIS) providing Brisbane land, property and assets information, produced by the Brisbane City Coucil. Use eBimap to find council information via geo-spatial mapping technology.

eBimap only provides the City Plan graphic layers not City Plan documentation. You need to use the Brisbane City Plan Profession for City Plan documentation. It is available at Gardens Point Campus, in the VLAB Desk on Level 2

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Mapping and aerial photography , Urban and Regional Planning , Urban Design .

Ecospecifier

A knowledge base of over 3500 eco-products, eco-materials, technologies and resources, the leading global source of sustainable development and life-cycle assessed green product information. Linking independent information with a powerful search interface, Ecospecifier delivers innovative sustainable product solutions with unique difference.

Embase

A comprehensive source of online biomedical answers, Embase helps you track adverse drug events, compare drug therapies for disease, and search for evidence-based medicine research.

Emerald

Available to the public (in library only)

A scholarly publisher of journals and books in business and management with a strong and growing presence in disciplines including library & information science, social sciences, engineering, linguistics and audiology.

QUT Library also provides access to the Emerald Backfiles - 68,000 articles, over 120 journals from Volume 1, Issue 1....more...

ENDANGER - Australian Threatened Species (via Informit)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Includes a wide range of material on Australia's threatened flora and fauna.

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

Engineering Village

Engineering Village 2 is the premier web-based research and discovery platform for the information needs of engineers and engineering researchers. The platform offers Easy, Quick, and Expert search interfaces. The platform utilises faceted search technology to assist users through the search and discovery process. The thesaurus lookup function allows searchers to identify controlled vocabulary subject terms. This improves search strategies by suggesting broader, related and narrower terms.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Aerospace Engineering , Electrical Engineering .

ENGnetBASE (via CRCnetBASE)

Available to the public (in library only)

A collection of ebooks in engineering, including handbooks and manuals from CRC Press.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Electrical Engineering , Manufacturing Engineering , Mechanical Engineering , Medical Engineering .

Tip: To search materials outside QUT's subscribed content, in the CRCnetBASE page, un-tick the box "Search Full Access Content Only" (at top right, under the search box)...more...

EVA - Environmental Abstracts (via Informit)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Indexes Australian and overseas journal articles on subjects such as air and water pollution, environmental protection, recycling, town planning, waste management and heritage. This title was formerly called EPIC.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Environmental Engineering .

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

Factiva.com

Australian coverage Available to the public (in library only)

Looking for Australian newspapers? Try searching Aust/NZ Newspaper and Reference Centre - Unlike Factiva.com there is no limit to the number of users that can access this database at any one time, making it the perfect choice for finding fulltext Australian newspaper content

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Drama , Journalism and Media & Communication , Banking and Finance , Statistical Information / Australian Bureau of Statistics , Australian Studies , News and current affairs .

As Factiva will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity.

Searching tips:
In the main Search tab, use the Group Lists within My Source Lists to search over major Queensland and Australian news sources, or key local and international business titles.

Keep up with the headlines from major Australian daily newspapers by browsing the News Pages.

...more...

GeoRef (via Engineering Village)

Covers worldwide 3500 journals, books and book chapters, conference papers, government publications, theses, dissertations, reports, maps, and meeting papers on geology and geophysics. GeoRef is produced by the American Geological Institute (AGI) and corresponds to the print publications: Bibliography and Index of North American Geology, Bibliography of Theses in Geology, Geophysical Abstracts, Bibliography and Index of Geology Exclusive of North America, and the Bibliography and Index of Geology. GeoRef also organizes and indexes papers from over 13,000 serials andother publications representative of the interests of the 29 professional geological and earth science societies that are members of the AGI.

GeoRef is international in coverage with about 40% of the indexed publications originating in the United States and the remainder from outside the U.S. Publications of international organizations represent about 7% of the file.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Spatial Science , Ecology and Environmental Sciences , Geosciences , Spatial Science .

GreenFILE (via EBSCOhost)

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well.

Henry Stewart Talks : Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection

Available to the public (in library only)

A collection of specially prepared animated audio visual presentations with synchronized narration by world leading scientists. The collection is organized into comprehensive series, regularly updated and growing with over 1,000 talks. New presentations are constantly becoming available. You may browse through the series, search for a talk covering a subject of interest or register a recommendation for continued access at your institution or company.

Hindawi Publishing

Hindawi Publishing Corporation publishes 150+ open access, peer-reviewed journals covering several areas in science, technology, and medicine.

QUT researchers are invited to submit manuscripts to Hindawi Publishing journals in 2010, as QUT Library has paid an institutional membership to enable QUT authors to publish their research in a Hindawi Open Access journal free of charge....more...

ICE Virtual Library

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to the largest repository of full text civil engineering papers in the world. From here you can search the ICE's archive of technical papers from 1836 to the present day, viewing papers on screen in fully printable form. The ICE Virtual Library contains every peer-reviewed paper produced by the Institution of Civil Engineers since its first meeting in 1836. Also available via ICE Virtual Library are a collection of all Thomas Telford Limited ebooks published up to end 2011.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Construction Management , Civil Engineering (Construction / Structural / Geotechnical) , Environmental Engineering .

IEA Statistics

Statistical datasets from the International Energy Agency, including energy prices, technology and R&D statistics, oil and natural gas statistics and more.

IEEE Xplore Digital Library

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

A powerful discovery interface for accessing scientific and technical content published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners, The IET, VDM Verlag conferences, and Wiley-IEEE eBooks.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Electrical Engineering , Computer Science , Information Systems , Physics .

IEEE-Wiley eBooks Library

Available to the public (in library only)

An ebook collection covering technology related subjects including Bioengineering, Power & Energy and Communication technologies, among other growing areas of research.

Inspec (via Engineering Village)

Provides access to the world's scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering. There are now 12 million records in Inspec.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Spatial Science , Electrical Engineering , Computer Science , Physics , Spatial Science , Medical Radiation .

IOPscience extra

Provides access to over 60 journals published by the Institute of Physics (IoP). Includes the IOP Journal Archive featuring volumes from 1874.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Physics .

JSTOR

Available to the public (in library only)

QUT currently has access to:

  • Arts & Sciences Collections I, II, III, and IV
  • Life Sciences Collcation
For more details on titles included please see the the Currently Available Collections and Journals page.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Creative Writing & Literary Studies .

Knovel

Available to the public (in library only)

A collection of reference ebooks in science and engineering, many of which are embedded with Knovel's productivity tools that help users analyze and manipulate information into a more usable form. Fulltext is available in PDF format.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Electrical Engineering , Manufacturing Engineering , Mechanical Engineering , Medical Engineering .

Personalise content and save searches by creating a My Knovel personal login. More information......more...

Mary Ann Liebert Online

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to publications covering Biotechnology; Biomedical Research/Life Sciences; Medicine, Surgery, and Nursing; Integrative Medicine; Law, Economics, and Policy; Pediatrics; Psychology; Public Health; and Sustainability and Environmental Studies.

Medline (via EBSCOhost)

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Optometry (General) , Nursing , Nursing (General) , Human Movement (General) , Disability and Rehabilitation , Sport Nutrition , Medical Sciences .

Merck Index

Available to the public (in library only)

An encyclopedia providing precise, comprehensive information on more than 10,000 chemicals, drugs, and biological compounds and 450 organic name reactions.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Pharmacy .

National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Bookshelf

A growing collection of (electronic) biomedical books provided by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), in collaboration with authors and publishers. Books may be searched directly using any search term or phrase, and can be also found through links to PubMed abstracts. See the service homepage for a list of titles included.

To search, type a concept into the textbox in the top grey navigation bar and select "Go". ...more...

Nature.com

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Nature.com is a gateway to over 30 individual electronic journals from NPG (Nature Publishing Group). Journals available to QUT staff and students include the prestigious Nature online weekly journal as well as selected Nature reviews titles.

Optics InfoBase - Optical Society of America (OSA) Journals

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to selected subscribed journals published by the Optical Society of America.

Oxford Reference Online

Available to the public (in library only)

A good starting place for research, including a range of dictionaries and encyclopaedias. Limit search results to quick reference or include the full reference library.

Oxford Scholarship Online

Available to the public (in library only)

Offers electronic access to books in biology, business and management, classical studies, economics and finance, history, law, linguistics, literature, mathematics, music, neuroscience, philosophy, physics, political science, psychology, public health and epidemiology, religion and social work.

Titles not available in fulltext to QUT clients have a grey lock on the book jacket image. For most purchased collections in OSO (including Law), fulltext is only available for titles published from July 2009 to January 2012. To confirm, check date shown in "Published to Oxford Scholarship Online" . QUT also subscribes to the Philosophy collection (all years). ...more...

PlantFile Pro

A plant reference guide used by professional horticulturists, students and home gardeners worldwide. Contains information on shrubs, trees, perennials, annuals, climbers, herbs, native & turf grasses, bamboos, ferns and palm. Also includes detailed pest and disease information for every plant and over 42 categories of information on each plant, including botanical description, best environment, commonly available cultivars and more. Search capability by common & botanic names, environmental criteria and botanical descriptions.

Portland Press - Biochemical Society Journals

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to selected subscribed journals published by Portland Press on behalf of the Biochemical Society.

PROLA - Physical Review Online Archive

PROLA is the American Physical Society's (APS's) online archive for the journals Physical Review Letters, Reviews of Modern Physics, and Physical Review A-E. It contains all American Physical Society (APS) journal articles published from 1893-4 years ago.

ProQuest Biology Journals

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to a wide range of biology topics including some of the most popular information resources for users in academic, government and public research environments.

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses

Available to the public (in library only)

A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Conferences, Papers, Theses .

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

ProQuest Research Library

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides one-stop access to several thousand periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

ProQuest Science Journals

Available to the public (in library only)

A comprehensive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals searches over 2.7M records, dating back to the mid 1980s.

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

PubMed

A freely available version of the Medline database providing a small collection of fulltext electronic journals. It includes the full Medline database from 1966 onwards. It also includes Pre-Medline, a collection of very recent articles not yet included in the main database, as well as a number of articles available in the fulltext journals which were not selected for the Medline database.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Medical Radiation , Medical Sciences .

Royal Society of Chemistry Publishing

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to selected Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) journals, RSC Books and access to Analytical Abstracts.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Chemical Sciences .

Printing and copying is restricted to up to 5% or one chapter of a book....more...

SAGE - Science and Geography Education (via Informit)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Produced by RMIT Publishing, SAGE is a bibliographic database that indexes popular journals on a broad range of subjects. SAGE covers practically all disciplines of knowledge, though the scientific ones are most heavily represented.Subject coverage includes: Science and General, including: Agriculture, Archaeology, Astronomy, Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science, Ethics, Geography, Natural History, Physics, Sustainability and Zoology.

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

SAI Global - Standards On-Line Premium (formerly Standards Australia)

Australian coverage

SAI Global - Standards Online provides access to the complete collection of current Australian Standards, and recent Draft Standards and handbooks (excluding Standards and handbooks with joint copyright) in fulltext with graphics.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Standards , Architecture , Industrial Design , Interior Design , Landscape Architecture , Urban Design .

Now available: Alternative access for staff and postgraduate students (single user license).
Please ensure you logoutwhen you have finished to free up licences for other users....more...

ScienceDirect

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

A cross-disciplinary academic database with significant content of interest to all QUT Faculties. Content includes journal titles in fulltext, online books, book series, handbooks and reference works.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

Users with Adobe X may not be able to download articles. Adobe X users are advised to use the Download multiple PDFs option from the results page....more...

SciFinder

First time users of this service must register for an individual SciFinder username and password using their QUT email address. Note that by licence agreement staff and students may only register for ONE login.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Manufacturing Engineering , Mechanical Engineering , Medical Engineering , Biological Sciences , Chemical Sciences , Geosciences , Physics .

First time users of this service must register for an individual SciFinder username and password using their QUT email address. Note that by licence agreement staff and students may only register for ONE login. To update details of your login (e.g. with changes to your QUT email address) please use the "My Account" options in the myCAS service, or email CAS SciFinder Customer Support....more...

Scirus

The world's largest science specific search engine, Scirus allows researchers to search for not only journal content but also scientists' homepages, courseware, pre-print server material, patents and institutional repository and website information.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Internet search tools .

To activate QUT Fulltext Finder links please follow the instructions linked below....more...

Scopus

Available to the public (in library only)

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

Register for a personal account:

After you have logged in you are able to register for a personal account that will allow you to personalize Scopus by creating Search Alerts, Document Citation Alerts and Saved Searches. If you already have a User Name and Password for ScienceDirect, you do not need to register here again. Your ScienceDirect Username and Password also enables you to login to Scopus.

Papers Configuration

Accessing Scopus from Papers requires the QUT Scopus Account ID.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Citation analysis and ranking tools , Automotive Engineering , Manufacturing Engineering , Mechanical Engineering , Medical Engineering , Chemical Sciences , Physics .

SIAM Journals Online

Available to the public (in library only)

SIAM Journals Online is the collection of online publications from the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics.

SIAM Online titles include:

  • Multiscale Modeling & Simulation;
  • SIAM Journal on Applied dynamical Systems;
  • SIAM Journal on Applied Mathematics;
  • SIAM Journal on Computing;
  • SIAM Journal on Control & Optimization;
  • SIAM Journal on Discrete Mathematics;
  • SIAM Journal on Imaging Sciences;
  • SIAM Journal on Mathematical Analysis;
  • SIAM Journal on Matrix Analysis and Applications;
  • SIAM Journal on Numerical Analysis;
  • SIAM Journal on Optimization;
  • SIAM Journal on Scientific Computing;
  • SIAM Review;
  • Theory of Probability and Its Applications.

LOCUS SIAM Online Journal Archive (1952 - 1996)

  • Journal of the Society for Industrial & Applied Mathematics (1953 - 1965);
  • Journal of the Society for Industrial & Applied Mathematics Series A: Control (1962 - 1965);
  • Journal of the Society for Industrial & Applied Mathematics Series B: Numerical Analysis (1964 - 1965);
  • SIAM Journal on Control (1966 - 1975);
  • SIAM Journal on Algebraic & Discrete Methods (1980 - 1987);
  • SIAM journal on Scientific & Statistical Computing ( 1980 - 1993).

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Mathematical Sciences .

Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) Reference Collection

A reference collection of e-book titles published by SIAM (Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics).

Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG) Digital Library

Available to the public (in library only)

This provides access the society's two journals, meeting abstracts and encyclopedic dictionary.

SPIE Digital Library

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides fulltext access to selected journals, conference proceedings and technical reports in the areas of optics and photonics. Published by the Society of Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers (SPIE).

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Physics .

SpringerLink

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

A database platform specialising in science, technology and medicine journals, book series, books and reference works.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Computer Science , Information Systems , Biomedical Sciences (anatomy, physiology, biomechanics) , Medical Sciences .

STREAMLINE - Australia's Natural Resources Database (via Informit)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Contains more than 25,000 records on all aspects of natural resource management. Produced by Infoscan Pty Ltd and sponsored by the Land and Water Resources Research and Development Corporation and the Urban Water Research Association of Australia.

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

Sugar Industry Abstracts (via CAB Direct)

Sugar Industry Abstracts is a fully searchable abstracts database of internationally published research on the sugar industry. Sugar Industry Abstracts brings you the latest information on the sugar industry, from the agronomy of sugarcane and sugarbeet to economics, nutrition and health.

TAPPI e-Library

New

Documents related to paper pulp, paper, packaging, and converting.

Taylor & Francis Online

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides fulltext access to peer-reviewed research journals covering multiple subject areas. QUT has access to the complete Taylor & Francis collection.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Construction Management , Property Economics , Quantity Surveying .

Trove : Australian Theses

Australian coverage

A search of digital copies of theses from Australian universities and other Australian research institutions. Trove includes the full back catalogue of the former Australian Digital Theses service and other research materials from the former Australian Research Online.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Conferences, Papers, Theses .

University of Chicago Press Journals

Available to the public (in library only)

Presents original research from international scholars in the social sciences, humanities, education, biological and medical sciences, and physical sciences.

Web of Science (via Web of Knowledge)

Auto alerting

Citation databases:

  • Book Citation Index - Science (BKCI-S) --2005-present 2012 eTrial
  • Book Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities (BKCI-SSH) --2005-present 2012 eTrial
  • Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) --1980-present
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)--1980-present
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)--1980-present
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S)--1990-present
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) --1990-present

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

Wiley Online Library

Available to the public (in library only)

A multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Educational Counselling and Guidance .