Databases for Science and Engineering > Engineering > Mechanical Engineering

Find databases and resources
Conditions of use
Provide database feedback
Stay up to date in your subject
About Quick Find
QUT Fulltext Finder help
Navigate : Science and Engineering Engineering > Mechanical Engineering

Key resources

AccessEngineering

Comprehensive and authoritative information featuring content from a broad range of seminal McGraw-Hill engineering publications, including the latest editions of classics such as Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, Dictionary of Science and Technology , and many more.

Annual Reviews Online

Available to the public (in library only)

Annual Reviews provides researchers, professors, and scientific professionals with a definitive academic resource in 29 scientific disciplines. Annual Reviews saves you time by synthesizing the vast amount of primary research literature and identifying the principal contributions in your field. Editorial committees comprised of the most distinguished scholars in the discipline select all topics for review, and the articles are written by authors who are recognized experts in the field. Annual Reviews publications are among the highest cited publications by impact factor according to the Institute for Scientific Information® (ISI)

ANSI/HI pump standards Version 3.0 CD-ROM

PDF fulltext of Hydraulic Institute (U.S.) standards that relate to pump specification, selection, design, testing, installation and operation.

ASM Handbooks Online

Provides access to the fulltext of 21 ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions produced by the society for materials engineers and scientists. View complete title list.

ASME Digital Collection

The ASME collection of electronic journals and entire collection of ASME ebooks. You can browse journals by title volumes or search for articles within a title.

ASTM Standards Source on DVD

Contains document summaries from over 11,000 standards published by the American Society for Testing and Materials International as well as fulltext page images of all the current ASTM standards.

Compendex (via Engineering Village)

Compendex, the online version of Engineering Index, is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research available today, containing over nine million references and abstracts taken from over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

ENGnetBASE (via CRCnetBASE)

Available to the public (in library only)

A collection of ebooks in engineering, including handbooks and manuals from CRC Press.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Electrical Engineering , Manufacturing Engineering , Mechanical Engineering , Medical Engineering .

Tip: To search materials outside QUT's subscribed content, in the CRCnetBASE page, un-tick the box "Search Full Access Content Only" (at top right, under the search box)...more...

IEA Statistics

Statistical datasets from the International Energy Agency, including energy prices, technology and R&D statistics, oil and natural gas statistics and more.

IMechE Journal Collection (via SAGE Journals Online)

Available to the public (in library only)

A collection of journals in the field of mechanical engineering. Includes journals on maritime, transport, medical, aerospace engineering and more.

ImechE Proceedings Archive, 1847 - 1996

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides direct access to over 200,000 pages of unique material, including technical papers, obituaries, meeting reports, technical drawings, and editorial comment, all covering some of the most influential and innovative years of engineering development. The IMechE Proceedings Archive 1847-1996 is a valuable resource for engineers, scientists, historians, social commentators, biographers and genealogists

Industrial Press eBooks

A collection of leading technical books for engineering, technology, manufacturing and education.

Knovel

Available to the public (in library only)

A collection of reference ebooks in science and engineering, many of which are embedded with Knovel's productivity tools that help users analyze and manipulate information into a more usable form. Fulltext is available in PDF format.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Electrical Engineering , Manufacturing Engineering , Mechanical Engineering , Medical Engineering .

Personalise content and save searches by creating a My Knovel personal login. More information......more...

Oxford Reference Online

Available to the public (in library only)

A good starting place for research, including a range of dictionaries and encyclopaedias. Limit search results to quick reference or include the full reference library.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses

Available to the public (in library only)

A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Conferences, Papers, Theses .

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

SAE Digital Library

The SAE Digital Library includes over 175,000 standards, papers, ebooks and related documents in mobility engineering, published in partnership with over 30 publishers. It includes full-text access to over 9,000 SAE standards, 90,000 SAE technical papers, and nearly 250 ebooks.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Automotive Engineering .

ScienceDirect

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

A cross-disciplinary academic database with significant content of interest to all QUT Faculties. Content includes journal titles in fulltext, online books, book series, handbooks and reference works.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

Users with Adobe X may not be able to download articles. Adobe X users are advised to use the Download multiple PDFs option from the results page....more...

SciFinder

First time users of this service must register for an individual SciFinder username and password using their QUT email address. Note that by licence agreement staff and students may only register for ONE login.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Manufacturing Engineering , Mechanical Engineering , Medical Engineering , Biological Sciences , Chemical Sciences , Geosciences , Physics .

First time users of this service must register for an individual SciFinder username and password using their QUT email address. Note that by licence agreement staff and students may only register for ONE login. To update details of your login (e.g. with changes to your QUT email address) please use the "My Account" options in the myCAS service, or email CAS SciFinder Customer Support....more...

Scirus

The world's largest science specific search engine, Scirus allows researchers to search for not only journal content but also scientists' homepages, courseware, pre-print server material, patents and institutional repository and website information.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Internet search tools .

To activate QUT Fulltext Finder links please follow the instructions linked below....more...

Scopus

Available to the public (in library only)

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

Register for a personal account:

After you have logged in you are able to register for a personal account that will allow you to personalize Scopus by creating Search Alerts, Document Citation Alerts and Saved Searches. If you already have a User Name and Password for ScienceDirect, you do not need to register here again. Your ScienceDirect Username and Password also enables you to login to Scopus.

Papers Configuration

Accessing Scopus from Papers requires the QUT Scopus Account ID.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Citation analysis and ranking tools , Automotive Engineering , Manufacturing Engineering , Mechanical Engineering , Medical Engineering , Chemical Sciences , Physics .

SIAM Journals Online

Available to the public (in library only)

SIAM Journals Online is the collection of online publications from the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics.

SIAM Online titles include:

  • Multiscale Modeling & Simulation;
  • SIAM Journal on Applied dynamical Systems;
  • SIAM Journal on Applied Mathematics;
  • SIAM Journal on Computing;
  • SIAM Journal on Control & Optimization;
  • SIAM Journal on Discrete Mathematics;
  • SIAM Journal on Imaging Sciences;
  • SIAM Journal on Mathematical Analysis;
  • SIAM Journal on Matrix Analysis and Applications;
  • SIAM Journal on Numerical Analysis;
  • SIAM Journal on Optimization;
  • SIAM Journal on Scientific Computing;
  • SIAM Review;
  • Theory of Probability and Its Applications.

LOCUS SIAM Online Journal Archive (1952 - 1996)

  • Journal of the Society for Industrial & Applied Mathematics (1953 - 1965);
  • Journal of the Society for Industrial & Applied Mathematics Series A: Control (1962 - 1965);
  • Journal of the Society for Industrial & Applied Mathematics Series B: Numerical Analysis (1964 - 1965);
  • SIAM Journal on Control (1966 - 1975);
  • SIAM Journal on Algebraic & Discrete Methods (1980 - 1987);
  • SIAM journal on Scientific & Statistical Computing ( 1980 - 1993).

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Mathematical Sciences .

SKF @ptitude Exchange

A web service providing information to professionals from maintenance technicians to top-level decision makers, enabling efficient and effective decision-making for improved reliability results. SKF @ptitude Exchange focuses on three key categories to support efforts to optimize asset efficiency:

  • Asset Management - Achieving the lowest total cost of ownership (TCO) of an asset with maximum availability, performance efficiency and product quality.
  • Reliability Engineering - Maintenance strategy, improvement programs, procedures, targets, planning, systems implementation and evaluation, stores and spare parts planning.
  • Mechanical Maintenance - Mechanical maintenance functions and tasks such as alignment, balancing, bearing installation, equipment history tracking and more.

SpringerLink

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

A database platform specialising in science, technology and medicine journals, book series, books and reference works.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Computer Science , Information Systems , Biomedical Sciences (anatomy, physiology, biomechanics) , Medical Sciences .

Sugar Industry Abstracts (via CAB Direct)

Sugar Industry Abstracts is a fully searchable abstracts database of internationally published research on the sugar industry. Sugar Industry Abstracts brings you the latest information on the sugar industry, from the agronomy of sugarcane and sugarbeet to economics, nutrition and health.

Trove : Australian Theses

Australian coverage

A search of digital copies of theses from Australian universities and other Australian research institutions. Trove includes the full back catalogue of the former Australian Digital Theses service and other research materials from the former Australian Research Online.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Conferences, Papers, Theses .

Web of Science (via Web of Knowledge)

Auto alerting

Citation databases:

  • Book Citation Index - Science (BKCI-S) --2005-present 2012 eTrial
  • Book Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities (BKCI-SSH) --2005-present 2012 eTrial
  • Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) --1980-present
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)--1980-present
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)--1980-present
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S)--1990-present
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) --1990-present

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

Wiley Online Library

Available to the public (in library only)

A multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Educational Counselling and Guidance .