Databases for Science and Engineering > Built Environment > Construction Management

Find databases and resources
Conditions of use
Provide database feedback
Stay up to date in your subject
About Quick Find
QUT Fulltext Finder help
Navigate : Science and Engineering Built Environment > Construction Management

Key resources

ABI/Inform Global (via ProQuest)

Available to the public (in library only)

Indexes approximately 1,300 business and marketing periodicals from around the world. It also contains the complete fulltext and/or page images of selected articles from over 700 major publications. Fulltext documents are available as plain text or PDF format. Some documents are available by fax only.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

ABI/Inform Trade and Industry (via ProQuest)

Available to the public (in library only)

Searches more than 750 business periodicals and newsletters with a trade or industry focus. Provides users with the latest industry news, product and competitive information, marketing trends, and a wide variety of other topics. Contains publications on every major industry, including finance, insurance, transportation, construction, and many more.

APA Fulltext - Australian Public Affairs (via Informit)

Australian coverage Available to the public (in library only)

Indexes current journals and newspapers in Australia and overseas for material on Australia's political, economic, legal, social and cultural affairs.

Provides over 200 core Australian journal titles in fulltext PDF. Selected fulltext only is available for some titles, in accordance with APAIS' indexing policy.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

ASCE Research Library

Available to the public (in library only)

Contains full-text articles and papers in all disciplines of civil engineering, published by the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE). A separate public search interface, the ASCE Civil Engineering Database, is also available.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Quantity Surveying , Civil Engineering (Construction / Structural / Geotechnical) .

BEDP Environment Design Guide

Australian coverage

The BEDP Environment Design Guide (EDG) contains a vast body of work with papers on key themes and topics relating to built environment sustainability and the impact of the built environment on the natural environment.

BRE Connect

BRE Connect Online is based on The Construction Information Service, a fully searchable and intelligently classified source of information for the construction industry and subscribers will be able to view the abstracts of 26,000 other documents from more than 475 other construction publishers (including BSI, TRL, CIBSE, CIRIA, etc). In addition, personalised browse and search facilities are built in.

To get to BRE Connect click the view product button underneath BRE - The Construction Information Service...more...

British Standards Online

New

An authoritative source of International (ISO) and British and European standards. QUT has access to the following modules:

  • GBM48 - Construction in General (contains all Eurocodes)
  • GBM51 - Civil Engineering

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Standards .

BUILD - Australian Building Construction and Engineering Database (via Informit)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Contains over 19,500 references covering all types of publications, including conference papers, journal articles, standards, regulations, technical papers, reports and books.

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

Compendex (via Engineering Village)

Compendex, the online version of Engineering Index, is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research available today, containing over nine million references and abstracts taken from over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

eBimap (available to Science and Engineering Faculty and School of Design students only)

Australian coverage

IMPORTANT: Using this product extensively will rapidly use up your free Internet Access Service (IAS) quota. Once this limit is reached students will have to pay for additional Internet access. For further information about your IAS quota and additional charges please refer to Features of IAS. If you are accessing this database from on-campus you will need to have your Internet Access Service (IAS) activated

eBimap is the Brisbane City Council's online mapping service. It is an online geographic information system (GIS) providing Brisbane land, property and assets information, produced by the Brisbane City Coucil. Use eBimap to find council information via geo-spatial mapping technology.

eBimap only provides the City Plan graphic layers not City Plan documentation. You need to use the Brisbane City Plan Profession for City Plan documentation. It is available at Gardens Point Campus, in the VLAB Desk on Level 2

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Mapping and aerial photography , Urban and Regional Planning , Urban Design .

Ecospecifier

A knowledge base of over 3500 eco-products, eco-materials, technologies and resources, the leading global source of sustainable development and life-cycle assessed green product information. Linking independent information with a powerful search interface, Ecospecifier delivers innovative sustainable product solutions with unique difference.

Emerald Management eJournals

Available to the public (in library only)

Emerald Management eJournals currently provides access to 200 journals from 22 management disciplines.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Property Economics , Quantity Surveying , Information Systems , Library Science & Information Management , Technology in Business and Industry , Adult and Vocational Education , Industrial and Organisational Psychology .

QUT Library also provides access to the Emerald Backfiles - 68,000 articles, over 120 journals from Volume 1, Issue 1....more...

ENGINE - Australian Engineering Database (via Informit)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

A bibliographic database produced by Engineers Australia that indexes and abstracts published and unpublished material on Australian engineering information. In particular, it covers information published by the Institution of Engineers, Australia - IEAust - since 1980.

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

Engineering Collection (via Informit)

Australian coverage Available to the public (in library only)

Covers all broad engineering fields, including Civil engineering, Engineering of railroads & roads, Mining & related operations, and Sanitary & municipal engineering as well as specialist engineering areas. The Engineering Collection provides access to full content from a range of journal articles, conference papers, working papers and other grey literature sourced from the Engineers Australia library collection and is produced in collaboration with Engineers Australia.

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

ICE Virtual Library

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to the largest repository of full text civil engineering papers in the world. From here you can search the ICE's archive of technical papers from 1836 to the present day, viewing papers on screen in fully printable form. The ICE Virtual Library contains every peer-reviewed paper produced by the Institution of Civil Engineers since its first meeting in 1836. Also available via ICE Virtual Library are a collection of all Thomas Telford Limited ebooks published up to end 2011.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Construction Management , Civil Engineering (Construction / Structural / Geotechnical) , Environmental Engineering .

National Construction Code (via NCC Online)

Australian coverage

Incorporates the BCA Volume One, BCA Volume Two and The Guide to the Building Code of Australia (BCA) plus the Plumbing Code of Australia (PCA, Volume Three).

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Standards .

This database may only be accessed by 15 people at the same time. When finished searching, please logout by using the green LOGOUT link in the top blue navigation bar. This will free up access for others. ...more...

National Construction Code : Building Code of Australia plus Referenced Standards Service

Australian coverage

Published by the Australian Building Codes Board (ABCB). Provides the complete Building Code of Australia, the Guide, and approximately 150 fulltext standards referred to in the Code. Also includes the Plumbing Code of Australia (PCA).

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Standards .

SAI Global - Standards On-Line Premium (formerly Standards Australia)

Australian coverage

SAI Global - Standards Online provides access to the complete collection of current Australian Standards, and recent Draft Standards and handbooks (excluding Standards and handbooks with joint copyright) in fulltext with graphics.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Standards , Architecture , Industrial Design , Interior Design , Landscape Architecture , Urban Design .

Now available: Alternative access for staff and postgraduate students (single user license).
Please ensure you logoutwhen you have finished to free up licences for other users....more...

ScienceDirect

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

A cross-disciplinary academic database with significant content of interest to all QUT Faculties. Content includes journal titles in fulltext, online books, book series, handbooks and reference works.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

Users with Adobe X may not be able to download articles. Adobe X users are advised to use the Download multiple PDFs option from the results page....more...

Taylor & Francis Online

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides fulltext access to peer-reviewed research journals covering multiple subject areas. QUT has access to the complete Taylor & Francis collection.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Construction Management , Property Economics , Quantity Surveying .

Workplace OHS

Australian coverage

A specialist database providing current Australian information on occupational health and safety matters.

Subject areas include:

  • roles and responsibilities;
  • law;
  • workplace agreements;
  • risk management;
  • workers compensation/imjury management;
  • policies and procedures;
  • training and safe systems;
  • consultation;
  • workplace culture
  • hazards;
  • first aid.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Occupational Health and Safety .