Databases for Science and Engineering > Built Environment

Find databases and resources
Conditions of use
Provide database feedback
Stay up to date in your subject
About Quick Find
QUT Fulltext Finder help
Navigate : Science and Engineering  > Built Environment

Key resources

ABI/Inform Dateline (via ProQuest)

Available to the public (in library only)

A unique resource focusing on hard-to-find local and regional business news coverage of large corporations, privately held companies, local start-ups, executive profiles, marketing, finance, and industry news. Provides access to business information not typically found in national news sources. Contains news and analysis, information on local markets, and more gathered from major business tabloids, magazines, daily newspapers, wire services, and city, state, and regional business publications

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Journalism and Media & Communication .

ABI/Inform Global (via ProQuest)

Available to the public (in library only)

Indexes approximately 1,300 business and marketing periodicals from around the world. It also contains the complete fulltext and/or page images of selected articles from over 700 major publications. Fulltext documents are available as plain text or PDF format. Some documents are available by fax only.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

ABI/Inform Trade and Industry (via ProQuest)

Available to the public (in library only)

Searches more than 750 business periodicals and newsletters with a trade or industry focus. Provides users with the latest industry news, product and competitive information, marketing trends, and a wide variety of other topics. Contains publications on every major industry, including finance, insurance, transportation, construction, and many more.

Academic Search Elite (via EBSCOhost)

Available to the public (in library only)

A cross-disciplinary database indexing over 5,000 journals from 1975 onwards, with over 2,000 in current fulltext. Includes more than 1,500 peer-reviewed publications. Offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

APA Fulltext - Australian Public Affairs (via Informit)

Australian coverage Available to the public (in library only)

Indexes current journals and newspapers in Australia and overseas for material on Australia's political, economic, legal, social and cultural affairs.

Provides over 200 core Australian journal titles in fulltext PDF. Selected fulltext only is available for some titles, in accordance with APAIS' indexing policy.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

ARCH - Australian Architecture Database (via Informit)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Includes records indexed from Australian and New Zealand architectural and building journals.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Urban and Regional Planning , Architecture , Interior Design , Landscape Architecture , Urban Design .

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

ASCE Research Library

Available to the public (in library only)

Contains full-text articles and papers in all disciplines of civil engineering, published by the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE). A separate public search interface, the ASCE Civil Engineering Database, is also available.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Quantity Surveying , Civil Engineering (Construction / Structural / Geotechnical) .

BEDP Environment Design Guide

Australian coverage

The BEDP Environment Design Guide (EDG) contains a vast body of work with papers on key themes and topics relating to built environment sustainability and the impact of the built environment on the natural environment.

Book Citation Index (on Web of Science)

Brings together scholarly book, journal, and conference proceedings literature within Web of Science, allowing researchers to analyse the citation network between books and the wider world of scholarly research.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Citation analysis and ranking tools , Biological Sciences , Geosciences , Mathematical Sciences , Medical Radiation , Medical Sciences , Creative Industries (General) , Justice .

BRE Connect

BRE Connect Online is based on The Construction Information Service, a fully searchable and intelligently classified source of information for the construction industry and subscribers will be able to view the abstracts of 26,000 other documents from more than 475 other construction publishers (including BSI, TRL, CIBSE, CIRIA, etc). In addition, personalised browse and search facilities are built in.

To get to BRE Connect click the view product button underneath BRE - The Construction Information Service...more...

British Standards Online

New

An authoritative source of International (ISO) and British and European standards. QUT has access to the following modules:

  • GBM48 - Construction in General (contains all Eurocodes)
  • GBM51 - Civil Engineering

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Standards .

BUILD - Australian Building Construction and Engineering Database (via Informit)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Contains over 19,500 references covering all types of publications, including conference papers, journal articles, standards, regulations, technical papers, reports and books.

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

Business Source Elite (via EBSCOhost)

Available to the public (in library only)

Contains full text articles for 800 journals as far back as 1990, and abstracts and indexing for 1,500 back as far as 1984.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Business (General) , Public Relations , International Business , Management , Marketing , Advertising .

Compendex (via Engineering Village)

Compendex, the online version of Engineering Index, is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research available today, containing over nine million references and abstracts taken from over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

eBimap (available to Science and Engineering Faculty and School of Design students only)

Australian coverage

IMPORTANT: Using this product extensively will rapidly use up your free Internet Access Service (IAS) quota. Once this limit is reached students will have to pay for additional Internet access. For further information about your IAS quota and additional charges please refer to Features of IAS. If you are accessing this database from on-campus you will need to have your Internet Access Service (IAS) activated

eBimap is the Brisbane City Council's online mapping service. It is an online geographic information system (GIS) providing Brisbane land, property and assets information, produced by the Brisbane City Coucil. Use eBimap to find council information via geo-spatial mapping technology.

eBimap only provides the City Plan graphic layers not City Plan documentation. You need to use the Brisbane City Plan Profession for City Plan documentation. It is available at Gardens Point Campus, in the VLAB Desk on Level 2

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Mapping and aerial photography , Urban and Regional Planning , Urban Design .

EBSCOhost

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to fulltext journal articles, newspapers and ebooks covering a variety of subject areas. A very good starting point for searching.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Multidisciplinary .

Ecospecifier

A knowledge base of over 3500 eco-products, eco-materials, technologies and resources, the leading global source of sustainable development and life-cycle assessed green product information. Linking independent information with a powerful search interface, Ecospecifier delivers innovative sustainable product solutions with unique difference.

EIU CountryData (via Bureau Van Dijk)

Produced by The Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU), publishers of The Economist, this service is an analytical database of worldwide economic indicators and forecasts. EIU CountryData gives you access to 317 series on 201 countries and 45 regional aggregates, running from 1980 and forecasting out five years.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Statistics , Economics , International Business , Statistical Information / Australian Bureau of Statistics .

Emerald

Available to the public (in library only)

A scholarly publisher of journals and books in business and management with a strong and growing presence in disciplines including library & information science, social sciences, engineering, linguistics and audiology.

QUT Library also provides access to the Emerald Backfiles - 68,000 articles, over 120 journals from Volume 1, Issue 1....more...

Emerald Management eJournals

Available to the public (in library only)

Emerald Management eJournals currently provides access to 200 journals from 22 management disciplines.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Property Economics , Quantity Surveying , Information Systems , Library Science & Information Management , Technology in Business and Industry , Adult and Vocational Education , Industrial and Organisational Psychology .

QUT Library also provides access to the Emerald Backfiles - 68,000 articles, over 120 journals from Volume 1, Issue 1....more...

ENGINE - Australian Engineering Database (via Informit)

Australian coverage Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

A bibliographic database produced by Engineers Australia that indexes and abstracts published and unpublished material on Australian engineering information. In particular, it covers information published by the Institution of Engineers, Australia - IEAust - since 1980.

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

Engineering Collection (via Informit)

Australian coverage Available to the public (in library only)

Covers all broad engineering fields, including Civil engineering, Engineering of railroads & roads, Mining & related operations, and Sanitary & municipal engineering as well as specialist engineering areas. The Engineering Collection provides access to full content from a range of journal articles, conference papers, working papers and other grey literature sourced from the Engineers Australia library collection and is produced in collaboration with Engineers Australia.

As Informit will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Note: Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

Engineering Village

Engineering Village 2 is the premier web-based research and discovery platform for the information needs of engineers and engineering researchers. The platform offers Easy, Quick, and Expert search interfaces. The platform utilises faceted search technology to assist users through the search and discovery process. The thesaurus lookup function allows searchers to identify controlled vocabulary subject terms. This improves search strategies by suggesting broader, related and narrower terms.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Aerospace Engineering , Electrical Engineering .

Factiva.com

Australian coverage

Looking for Australian newspapers? Try searching Aust/NZ Newspaper and Reference Centre - Unlike Factiva.com there is no limit to the number of users that can access this database at any one time, making it the perfect choice for finding fulltext Australian newspaper content

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Drama , Journalism and Media & Communication , Banking and Finance , Statistical Information / Australian Bureau of Statistics , Australian Studies , News and current affairs .

2013.05.21 Currently it is only possible to download, email, or print single articles from Factiva.com. If more than one item is ticked within search results, those options are greyed out (unavailable). QUT Library is investigating the matter urgently with the provider.

As Factiva will time-out after 10 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity.

Searching tips:
In the main Search tab, use the Group Lists within My Source Lists to search over major Queensland and Australian news sources, or key local and international business titles.

Keep up with the headlines from major Australian daily newspapers by browsing the News Pages.

...more...

GeoRef (via Engineering Village)

Covers worldwide 3500 journals, books and book chapters, conference papers, government publications, theses, dissertations, reports, maps, and meeting papers on geology and geophysics. GeoRef is produced by the American Geological Institute (AGI) and corresponds to the print publications: Bibliography and Index of North American Geology, Bibliography of Theses in Geology, Geophysical Abstracts, Bibliography and Index of Geology Exclusive of North America, and the Bibliography and Index of Geology. GeoRef also organizes and indexes papers from over 13,000 serials andother publications representative of the interests of the 29 professional geological and earth science societies that are members of the AGI.

GeoRef is international in coverage with about 40% of the indexed publications originating in the United States and the remainder from outside the U.S. Publications of international organizations represent about 7% of the file.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Spatial Science , Ecology and Environmental Sciences , Geosciences , Spatial Science .

Geoscape

Australian coverage

GeoScape is a reference set of scanned aerial photography images.

ICE Virtual Library

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to the largest repository of full text civil engineering papers in the world. From here you can search the ICE's archive of technical papers from 1836 to the present day, viewing papers on screen in fully printable form. The ICE Virtual Library contains every peer-reviewed paper produced by the Institution of Civil Engineers since its first meeting in 1836. Also available via ICE Virtual Library are a collection of all Thomas Telford Limited ebooks published up to end 2011.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Construction Management , Civil Engineering (Construction / Structural / Geotechnical) , Environmental Engineering .

Inspec (via Engineering Village)

Provides access to the world's scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering. There are now 12 million records in Inspec.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Spatial Science , Electrical Engineering , Computer Science , Physics , Spatial Science , Medical Radiation .

LegalTrac (via Gale PowerSearch)

Available to the public (in library only)

Indexes approximately 900 legal publications including all major U.S. law reviews, seven legal newspapers, law specialty publications, and barassociation journals. Also includes law related articles from more than 1,000 additional business and general interest periodicals. Over 100 law e-journals are provided in fulltext.

My Neighbourhood

Australian coverage

A new way to find out about Brisbane City Council via a GIS.

Layers include:
Contours
Aerial photography
Council facilities i.e. local libraries, parks, dog parks, and pools
Transport i.e bus stop locations etc car parking facilities
Search by suburbs and streets using the street directory or aerial maps. My Neighbourhood maps are printer friendly.

For more advanced functionality such as data queries you will require to use eBIMAP.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Mapping and aerial photography .

Resources available for free on the web are NOT necessarily copyright free so please check the terms of use.

User Agreement: Before you can begin to use My Neighbourhood interactive mapping system, you must accept the user agreement terms.

Privacy statement: Brisbane City Council's privacy statement is designed to protect your rights and govern the use of information on this website...more...

National Construction Code (via NCC Online)

Australian coverage

Incorporates the BCA Volume One, BCA Volume Two and The Guide to the Building Code of Australia (BCA) plus the Plumbing Code of Australia (PCA, Volume Three).

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Standards .

This database may only be accessed by 15 people at the same time. When finished searching, please logout by using the green LOGOUT link in the top blue navigation bar. This will free up access for others. ...more...

National Construction Code : Building Code of Australia plus Referenced Standards Service

Australian coverage

Published by the Australian Building Codes Board (ABCB). Provides the complete Building Code of Australia, the Guide, and approximately 150 fulltext standards referred to in the Code. Also includes the Plumbing Code of Australia (PCA).

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Standards .

NATMAP Raster Premium

Australian coverage

Exact digital copies of the Australian Government's NATMAP topographic maps. They cover the whole of Australia at 1:250 000 scale, and are current to December 2004.

Nearmap

New

High quality PhotoMaps over cities that are updated monthly. Changes over time can be seen using TimeView on the map page and locations can be seen from the side using the MultiView button on the map page when zooming in to building level detail.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Mapping and aerial photography , Mapping and Satellite Imagery , Urban and Regional Planning , Landscape Architecture , Urban Design .

OECD iLibrary

Provides access to all electronic publications of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), including themed studies, monographs, 24 ejournals and statistics databases on the economic status of nations of the world.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Economics , International Business , Statistical Information / Australian Bureau of Statistics .

PDOnline Interactive Mapping

Australian coverage

Find out about Brisbane City Council via a GIS.

Resources available for free on the web are NOT necessarily copyright free so please check the terms of use.

Before you can begin to use PDOnline, you must accept the user agreement terms....more...

ProQuest

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Provides access to a number of fulltext databases across a wide range of disciplines.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Multidisciplinary .

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

ProQuest Asian Business and Reference

Available to the public (in library only)

Focuses on business and financial news from the eastern hemisphere. It covers Asian business and financial information from key international publications.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: International Business .

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

ProQuest European Business

Available to the public (in library only)

Contains the latest European business and financial information. Includes quality resources such as The Economist, Fortune and European Business Journal.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: International Business .

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

ProQuest Research Library

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides one-stop access to several thousand periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

RP Data [Requires username and password - see alert below for details]

Provides property information services for Australia and New Zealand. Includes access to On The Market - this service contains details of addressed listings that are updated daily and fully integrated with the RP Data Information Service for a comprehensive overview of any property's history.

Login details: To login, select the 'RP Data Login' option from the Members drop-down menu in the navigation bar. Please note this resource is only available to staff and students of Property Economics whose course / research requires it. Students from other disciplines within the Faculty of Built Environment can also obtain access but there must be a specific course / research requirement and a supporting letter from a supervisor must be provided. (See alert for access contact details).

IMPORTANT: Using this product extensively will rapidly use up your free Internet Access Service (IAS) quota. Once this limit is reached students will have to pay for additional Internet access. For further information about your IAS quota and additional charges please refer to Features of IAS. If you are accessing this database from on-campus you will need to have your Internet Access Service (IAS) activated.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Property Economics .

Please apply for a login and password at Science and Engineering Faculty Student Services, Level 3 'O' Podium, GP campus....more...

RUDI - Resources for Urban Design Information

RUDI offers a one stop shop for anyone interested in urban design by bringing together high quality text content, directory information and reference sources on one web site.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Urban and Regional Planning , Urban Design .

SAI Global - Standards On-Line Premium (formerly Standards Australia)

Australian coverage

SAI Global - Standards Online provides access to the complete collection of current Australian Standards, and recent Draft Standards and handbooks (excluding Standards and handbooks with joint copyright) in fulltext with graphics.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Standards , Architecture , Industrial Design , Interior Design , Landscape Architecture , Urban Design .

Now available: Alternative access for staff and postgraduate students (single user license).
Please ensure you logoutwhen you have finished to free up licences for other users....more...

ScienceDirect

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

A cross-disciplinary academic database with significant content of interest to all QUT Faculties. Content includes journal titles in fulltext, online books, book series, handbooks and reference works.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

Users with Adobe X may not be able to download articles. Adobe X users are advised to use the Download multiple PDFs option from the results page....more...

Sociological Abstracts (via ProQuest)

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)

Includes the titles Sociological Abstracts and Social Planning/Policy and Development Abstracts as well as theses in the field of sociology. This service supercedes the Sociofile service.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Sport Sociology , Justice .

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity....more...

State Library of QLD Digital Map Collection

Australian coverage Available to the public (in library only)

The map collection at the State Library of Queensland provides cartographic coverage of the world, with a major emphasis on Queensland and Australia. The collection includes topographic, cadastral, hydrographic and orthophoto sheet maps, as well as a unique and extensive range of historic maps and early real estate maps. Atlases, globes and street directories from around the world are also collected. A zoom-able JPEG2000 feature is also available for a growing digital collection of historical Queensland Estate maps.

Sunmap Digital Maps

Australian coverage

Enables you to view more than 800 of Queensland's 1:25 000 scale topographic line and image maps. To see which areas of Queensland are covered on this resource, please view:

Taylor & Francis Online

Available to the public (in library only)

Provides fulltext access to peer-reviewed research journals covering multiple subject areas. QUT has access to the complete Taylor & Francis collection.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Construction Management , Property Economics , Quantity Surveying .

Web of Science (via Web of Knowledge)

Auto alerting

Citation databases:

  • Book Citation Index - Science (BKCI-S) --2005-present 2012 eTrial
  • Book Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities (BKCI-SSH) --2005-present 2012 eTrial
  • Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) --1980-present
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)--1980-present
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)--1980-present
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S)--1990-present
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) --1990-present

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in multiple disciplines. (Show)

Wiley Online Library

Available to the public (in library only)

A multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Educational Counselling and Guidance .

Workplace OHS

Australian coverage

A specialist database providing current Australian information on occupational health and safety matters.

Subject areas include:

  • roles and responsibilities;
  • law;
  • workplace agreements;
  • risk management;
  • workers compensation/imjury management;
  • policies and procedures;
  • training and safe systems;
  • consultation;
  • workplace culture
  • hazards;
  • first aid.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Occupational Health and Safety .