Databases for Resource type > Dictionaries

Find databases and resources
Conditions of use
Provide database feedback
Stay up to date in your subject
About Quick Find
QUT Fulltext Finder help
Navigate : Resource type  > Dictionaries

Key resources

E-Access Books (via IGI Global)

A collection of reference titles in the area of information science. Contains full-text articles and chapters regarding research, trends, technologies, and challenges in the fields of information science, technology and management.

Grove Music Online

Available to the public (in library only)

Grove Music Online comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition, edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell (London, 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, edited by Stanley Sadie (London, 1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition, edited by Barry Kernfeld (London, 2002).

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Music & Sound .

Please note that certain images, including some examples/figures of music notation, are not available for online use due to copyright reasons....more...

Macquarie Dictionary and Thesaurus Online

Australian coverage Available to the public (in library only)

The Macquarie Dictionary is constantly updated with new words as they enter our language. The online service gives you access to the Macquarie Dictionary Fourth Edition, as well as access to the Macquarie Thesaurus.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Dictionaries .

Oxford English Dictionary Online

Available to the public (in library only)

The complete OED online with over 600,000 words, and 2.4 million phrases.

Key Resource This database is a Key Resource in: Dictionaries .

Oxford Index BETA

New Available to the public (in library only)

A single search across all Oxford's academic offerings including reference works, handbooks and journals.

Oxford Music Online

Available to the public (in library only)

Contains music reference information from dictionaries and encyclopedias, including:

  • Grove Music Online
  • The Oxford Companion to Music
  • The Oxford Dictionary of Music

Oxford Reference Online

Available to the public (in library only)

A good starting place for research, including a range of dictionaries and encyclopaedias. Limit search results to quick reference or include the full reference library.

Visual Thesaurus

The Visual Thesaurus is an interactive dictionary and thesaurus that creates word maps that represent meanings and related words. Its innovative display encourages exploration and learning.

First time users of the service must register for an individual Visual Thesaurus username and password using their QUT email address. Register here...more...