- Database access and the QUT Internet Access Service (IAS)
- What databases will affect your Internet quota
Database access and the QUT Internet Access Service (IAS)
If you are accessing Library databases from on-campus (and are connecting via an EzProxy link i.e. the beginning of the web address for the database is http://gateway.library.qut.edu.au/login?url=......) then theoretically you do not need to have your Internet Access Service (IAS) activated as all connections to Library databases go through Ezproxy. As a result most database access will not affect your Internet quota.
However to ensure that you experience the fewest number of problems connecting to databases it is recommended that you activate your Internet Access Service (IAS) "Keep Alive" popup window. Refer to the official QUT Internet Access Service website for further information. This is because occasionally you can be redirected to a freely available website that does not go via Ezproxy and QUT Fulltext Finder works best if your Internet Access Service is activated. If you do not have your IAS activated and try and connect to a page that does not go via Ezproxy then you will recieve a page cannot be displayed error message. Also you will not be able to connect to websites external to QUT e.g. Google, if you do not have your IAS activated.
Please note: even though you have your IAS activated most database access will NOT reduce your Internet quota.
What databases will affect your Internet quota
- Passwords page: If you connect to a database via the Passwords
page this will reduce your Internet quota as these links do NOT connect via Ezproxy.
Some databases are only accessible via username and password however the Library
makes every attempt to make sure most of it's databases can be connected to via
Ezproxy.
.
