| Description: |
A digital collection of online reference works and educational resources in history, multicultural studies, and contemporary culture.
Academic Editions
- Issues: Controversy and Society: an online database aimed at helping students develop an in-depth understanding of how society shapes and is shaped by controversy, providing authoritative historical context, expert perspectives, and carefully selected primary and secondary sources on today's most important issues.
- Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas: a comprehensive and authoritative collection of information on popular culture in America and the world, both past and present.
- World at War: Conflict and Society: provides authoritative insights into the military conflicts that have defined our world from its beginning to today. Includes complete overviews of 27 wars, with timelines, causes and consequences, portraits of opponents, and links to supporting facts, figures, primary sources, and audiovisual content.
- World Geography: Understanding a Changing World: provides essential knowledge of the geographical, political, social, economic, and cultural forces that are increasingly important in our globalized world. Contains almost 200 overviews of countries around the world, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe, providing a portrait of each nation's location and people culture, recent and early political history, and economy, plus more than 500 maps, including political and topographical by country and world region.
- World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras: reference work covering Ancient and Medieval Eras of early human history around the globe from prehistoric times to the beginnings of the Renaissance. Contains nearly 8,500 primary and secondary sources, including selections from the Code of Hammurabi, the Edict of Milan, and Marcus Aurelius's The Meditations; and more than 1,500 biographies of important historical figures.
- World History: The Modern Era: electronic history reference materials covering a broad range of topics in depth from the evolution of modern Europe since the Renaissance; concurrent developments in Asia, Africa, and the Islamic world; the global impact of the Industrial Revolution; and the last 100 years of conflicts and international cooperation.
- Daily Life through History: this service explores ordinary life through time and across the globe; it supports courses in American history and literature and is a cross-disciplinary resource for researching historical topics such as food and cooking, celebrations, clothes, romance, work, religion, housing, language, and social customs.
- American Indian Experience: provides in-depth historical accounts and cultural information about the indigenous peoples of North America. Content includes hundreds of primary documents and media, including treaties, speeches, and captivity narratives as well as traditional storytelling, a wealth of maps, photographs, and video.
- World Religions: a comprehensive reference resource covering religion across the globe, encompassing matters of belief, practice, celebrations, and holidays; important individuals and events; significant and sacred places; and much more.
|