QUT Home
Library Home Find Subject Guides Learn Services About the Library  

Library databases - Full details

Find
Books and ebooks
Articles
Databases
  More database search options
  Conditions of use
  How to choose a database
  Help connecting to databases
  Alternative access
  Provide database feedback
Trial databases
Unit readings
Past exams
- - - - -
Citation analysis and journal ranking tools
Conference papers and proceedings
Data archives
Dictionaries and encyclopedias
ePrint and open archives
Images
Legal resources
Maps
Music and sound
News and current affairs
Patents
Standards
Statistics
Theses and dissertations
Video
Web search tools
- - - - -
Other library catalogues

Research Starters - Sociology (via EBSCOhost)

Full text coverage New On trial Available to the public (in library only)


Connect to:

Research Starters - Sociology (via EBSCOhost)

If you have trouble connecting to this service from the main link, alternative access is available (QUT-Access account required).

Alert:

On short term free trial for your evaluation, until 30 June 2010. Your feedback is welcome.

Access:

Current QUT staff and students: available on and off campus (QUT username and password required). Public: available in the library only.Available on and off campus (QUT username and password required).

Simultaneous User Limit:

Unlimited

Part of:

EBSCOhost

Description:

Research Starters - Sociology are study and research guides designed specifically for advanced high school students, college students and selected graduate students. They consist of comprehensive, yet concise topic summary articles of about 3,000 words in length written by researchers, scholars and other subject matter experts. Topics parallel course offerings at major colleges and universities in the subject areas covered. These articles are designed to be starting points for students, providing them with topic overviews, definitions of relevant terms and concepts, detailed bibliographies, and importantly, links to top articles from the relevant EP database(s). Research Starters supplements textbooks and other materials with current and focused topic overviews, assisting students in undertaking their assignments and research successfully.

Documentation & Help:

  1. Searching EBSCOhost - provides a brief (one page) overview of how to search EBSCOhost. Clicking on the navigation buttons at the top right of this page will take you through the topics of EBSCOhost help.
  2. EBSCOhost Web Resource Guide (PDF) - provides detailed information (25 pages) on searching EBSCOhost;
  3. Basic Searching for Academic Libraries - A Macromedia Flash Presentation.