Library databases - Full details

Find databases and resources
Conditions of use
Alternative access options
Provide database feedback
Stay up to date in your subject

Sociological Abstracts (via ProQuest)

Auto alerting Available to the public (in library only)


Connect to:

Sociological Abstracts (via ProQuest)

If you have trouble connecting to this service from the main link, alternative access is available (QUT-Access account required).

Alert:

As ProQuest will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity please save your results or issue any other command within that time period to avoid losing your research. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity.

Access:

Current QUT staff and students: available on and off campus (QUT username and password required). Public: available in the library only.

Simultaneous User Limit:

Unlimited.

Subject Guide:

Subject coverage in multiple disciplines. [show]

Part of:

ProQuest

Description:

Includes the titles Sociological Abstracts and Social Planning/Policy and Development Abstracts as well as theses in the field of sociology. This service supercedes the Sociofile service.

Sociological Abstracts provides access to the latest worldwide findings in theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and policy science. Produced by Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts features journal citations and abstracts; book, chapter, and association paper abstracts; and book, film, and software review citations. The database also contains major and minor descriptors. Entries coversociological aspects of twenty-nine broad topics, including anthropology, business, collective behavior,community development, disaster studies, education, environmental studies, gender studies, gerontology, law and penology, marriage and family studies, medicine and health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, sociological theory, stratification, substance abuse, urban studies, and violence. SociologicalAbstracts is fundamental for interdiciplinary research in social sciences issues and for practitioners seekingthe sociological perspective on various disciplines.

Subjects areas include:

  • Aging;
  • AIDS;
  • Alcohol Abuse;
  • Anthropology;
  • Counseling;
  • Crime;
  • Drugs;
  • Education;
  • Family Studies;
  • Gerontology;
  • Healthcare;
  • Law;
  • Political Science;
  • Psychiatry;
  • Psychology;
  • Public Administration;
  • Public Health;
  • Rehabilitation;
  • Social Development;
  • Social Issues;
  • Social Psychology;
  • Social Sciences;
  • Sociology;
  • and Welfare.

Over 500,000 records are available.

Coverage:

1963 -

Help guides: