Library databases - Full details

Find databases and resources
Conditions of use
Alternative access options
Provide database feedback
Stay up to date in your subject

Primary Search (via EBSCOhost)

Available to the public (in library only)


Connect to:

Primary Search (via EBSCOhost)

If you have trouble connecting to this service from the main link, alternative access is available (QUT-Access account required).

Access:

Current QUT staff and students: available on and off campus (QUT username and password required). Public: available in the library only.

Simultaneous User Limit:

Unlimited.

Subject Guide:
Education
Early Childhood Education
  • Education (General)
  • Language Education
  • Health
    Human Movement
  • Physical Education
  • Part of:

    EBSCOhost

    Description:

    Designed specifically for elementary school libraries, this service is useful to the Faculty of Education. It contains full text for more than 50 popular, elementary school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for over 100 student-appropriate pamphlets. Also includes Encyclopedia of Animals, Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia (providing students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids), American Heritage(r) Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin, and an Image Collection.

    For further information on this database, connect to the service, then click on the More Information link found underneath each brief database description on the Choose Databases screen.

    EbscoHost offers auto alerting features by which you can save your searches temporarily, permanently or as an alert to run your saved search(es) against daily/weekly/monthly updates and have EbscoHost email you the results.

    Kids Search

    Kids Search is an alternative interface for this database.

    Coverage:

    Varies with title

    Help guides:

    1. Searching EBSCOhost - provides a brief (one page) overview of how to search EBSCOhost. Clicking on the navigation buttons at the top right of this page will take you through the topics of EBSCOhost help.
    2. EBSCOhost Web Resource Guide (PDF) - provides detailed information (25 pages) on searching EBSCOhost;
    3. EBSCOhost : Saving Searches and Creating Alerts A webex multimedia demonstration. Note: Eudora users should select the "ASCII formatted email" option when setting up alerts.