QUT Home
Library Home Find Subject Guides Learn Services About the Library  

Library databases - Full details

Find
Books and ebooks
Articles
Databases
  More database search options
  Conditions of use
  How to choose a database
  Help connecting to databases
  Alternative access
  Provide database feedback
Trial databases
Unit readings
Past exams
- - - - -
Citation analysis and journal ranking tools
Conference papers and proceedings
Data archives
Dictionaries and encyclopedias
ePrint and open archives
Images
Legal resources
Maps
Music and sound
News and current affairs
Patents
Standards
Statistics
Theses and dissertations
Video
Web search tools
- - - - -
Other library catalogues

Macquarie Dictionary and Thesaurus Online

New Australian coverage Available to the public (in library only)


Connect to:

Macquarie Dictionary and Thesaurus Online

If you have trouble connecting to this service from the main link, alternative access is available (QUT-Access account required).

Access:

Current QUT staff and students: available on and off campus (QUT username and password required). Public: available in the library only.

Simultaneous User Limit:

Unlimited.

Subject Guide:

Resource type
Dictionaries

Description:

The Macquarie Dictionary is constantly updated with new words as they enter our language. The online service gives you access to the Macquarie Dictionary Fourth Edition, as well as access to the Macquarie Thesaurus.

Features include:

  • over 112,000 headwords covering English as it is used in Australia, from the colourfully colloquial to the highly technical.
  • etymologies for some of the more interesting phrases in English. Where does `save someone's bacon' come from? And what about 'on the wallaby'?
  • thousands of new words and senses. Words are constantly coming into use in Australian English, from many different sources. They are picked up through our extensive reading program and our consultant specialists.
  • illustrative material from Ozcorp, Macquarie's database of Australian writing, which is being increased and updated.
  • regionalisms from around Australia, many gathered from Australian Word Map, a joint online project of Macquarie and the ABC, which has called on the help of Australians all over the country to identify regionalisms from their area.

Coverage:

Updated annually.

Documentation & Help:

  • Please refer to the online help available with this service (at top, select the Search Help link)